Posted in Air, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Friends, Garden, Gifts, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Water, WeekendCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee: Salmagundi edition

Crisfield dock.
If you’ve got something to crab about, cross the line and do it there.  I’ll be happy to join you.  The view is amazing, and usually the only crabbing I do around that sort of view involves dropping a line in the water and throwing back whatever I catch.

Run mad as often as you choose, but do not faint!

~ Jane Austen, Love and Friendship

Another sunset from the Hide Away Grill.
Another sunset from the Hide Away Grill.

If we were having coffee, I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  Hugs if you’re amenable to them.  Come on in, grab a beverage of some kind, and let’s have a seat on the porch where we can watch the hummingbirds flit and dance around the feeder.

How are you?  What have you been up to lately?  Have you traveled anywhere?  Gone on vacation/holiday?  Celebrated anything?  How about books and movies?  What you have you been reading or watching?

Dinner with friends.
Dinner with friends.

I just finished reading The Samurai’s Garden: A Novel.  It takes place in the late 1930s, during the time when Japan was invading China.  Stephen, the main character, is a young Chinese painter who is sent to his family’s summer home in a coastal village of Japan where he meets Matsu, the caretaker and master gardener.  Over a period of about a year, we get to know Matsu and others through Stephen’s contact with them.  It is a wonderful book.  There is something almost Zen-like and soothing about the author’s prose, even during the more heartbreaking parts of the stories that are told throughout this short novel.  I highly recommend it.

As for films and television, M and I haven’t watched much lately.  We are still slowly making our way through season 3 of House of Cards.  We do have two movies here to watch, but it might be another week before we get to them.  This time of year is so busy.  Even when we are home, we’re usually reading something rather than watching television or movies.

Cardinal Flower (lobelia cardinalis) growing wild at Pocomoke River State Park.
Cardinal Flower (lobelia cardinalis) growing wild at Pocomoke River State Park.  I’d love to have some of this in my garden next year.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that this week has rushed by quickly.  It’s strange how time is so elastic.  There have been days, even weeks, throughout this summer that felt as if they stretched on forever, and there have been days, even weeks, when I could barely keep up with what day it was because it flew by so fast.

It’s hard to believe that we are at the end of August, a time I thought might never get here when I was suffering in the heat and humidity.  I’ve noticed a lot of subtle changes over the past few weeks, signs of the autumn to come.  The blackbirds began flocking a few weeks ago, and we don’t hear the Red-Winged Blackbird’s chit-chit-chit or conk-la-ree! anymore.  I’m not sure if they’ve moved on or if they are part of the larger flocks that are forming.  The leaves on the cherry trees are turning yellow as the cherries ripen.  Nights are a little bit cooler which makes the warm days easier to bear.  The large butterflies have been showing up in the gardens, and laundry hung out takes a little longer to dry.  I’m not sure why.  Perhaps it is the angle of the sun.

Country road.
Country road.

If we were having coffee, I would remind you about Karma’s latest photo hunt:  Want to Play?  The deadline is September 5.  I am hoping to put something together soon, but it’s been the kind of month where I might have to really take advantage of Karma’s loosy-goosy style rules.

Remember the Trail of Change? Last time I walked it, it was in the fall and the leaves were colorful. (Pocomoke River State Park)
Remember the Trail of Change? Last time I walked it, it was in the fall and the leaves were colorful. (Pocomoke River State Park)  We hiked it with our friends after we had to abandon a boating idea.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I decided to keep the appointment with the gastroenterologist.  The last time I mentioned the referral, I said I might not go, but M came up with some good reasons why I should.  I’m glad I did.  Not only was this doctor a very likable person, he was extremely smart and up to date on the latest in GI stuff.  Had I seen him when all this mess started, it probably wouldn’t have dragged out as long as it did.  Stressing over the situation made things worse, and stress, as it turns out, is a major contributor to what Dr. D says I have.  A mild case of IBS.  His prescription:  yoga, meditation, and continue on a vegetarian (vegan as often as possible) diet.

I like that kind of prescription.  Even better, he said, “No follow-up necessary.”

Luminosity.
Soft morning light.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I start my term of jury duty on September 1.  I’m not sure what that will mean in terms of walks and blogging and practicing my art of photography.  It might not mean anything if I don’t have to actually report.  I was looking over the summons and realized I could have a problem as soon as I show up.  The summons states that proper attire is required.  By that they mean no jeans, no shorts, no t-shirts, and a list of other no’s.  When I quit working outside of the home, I got rid of all proper attire having decided that I’d rather be comfortable than properly attired.  I am a jeans and t-shirt gal.  Or shorts and t-shirt in the summer.  I do have one dress, but it is not appropriate for court.  It’s too glittery and much more appropriate for a nighttime event.  I also have leggings that I wear around the ranch.  They are not proper attire, either.

I refuse to shop and pay money for clothing I’ll wear for less than one month.  Borrowing is not an option.  I don’t know anyone here, and anyone I know elsewhere is not my size or shape or shortness of height.

What’s a non-proper attire girl to do?  Be in contempt of court, I suppose.  We’ll see.

Dragonfly at the Point.
Dragonfly at the Point.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have really enjoyed your company today.  Thank you so much for visiting.  I am going to have to get moving.  Feel free to stay on the porch and relax for a while, if you like.

I will have to introduce you to our housesitter, Marsha, as she’ll be taking over for me.  M and I are going to Pennsylvania to help out with a family matter.  Nothing serious.  Just a little back-up support.  We’ll be back soon.  In the meantime, I’m sure you’ll get along with Marsha just fine.  She’s very nice, and does a good job of taking care of the kitties and the house when we travel.  I bet she’ll take good care of you, too.

Also, one of my brothers is currently in the hospital and, if you’re so inclined, could use some good energy, vibes, or prayers sent his way.  Thank you.

Reaching out.
Reaching out.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Tip-toeing through the flowers.
Tip-toeing through the flowers.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

A little ragged.
A little ragged.

Note:  Salmagundi is a general collection or a miscellaneous mixture.  It’s also a mixture of chopped meat, eggs, anchovies, onion, and seasonings, but this is a blog post so we’ll go with general collection or miscellaneous mixture.  The images are a hodgepodge of photos taken over the past week.

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

15 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Salmagundi edition

  1. I hope all goes well with your trip. Proper attire. Such a strange concept. I don’t think I’ve heard of anyone being turned away because they were in jeans and a t shirt, as long as there was no inappropriate pictures or writting on the clothing. You’ll have to let us know what happens!

    Like

    1. As it turns out, at least so far, nothing has happened, Corina. I call the juror’s line every evening and get a recording that tells me no jurors will be needed. I did buy a nice blouse to wear with a pair of capris I scrounged up from the bottom of a dresser drawer, thinking that at least I won’t be wearing jeans. The blouse was on sale ($5.39). I’m sure I’ll get some other use for it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. If we were having coffee, I would tell you I’m happy you have some answers to your health issues, and wish you continued improvement. I would tell you I’ve been fine, but I’ve done nothing to talk about. This laziness that’s overtaken me is going on far too long, and the spread of my girth over this summer is quite distressing. I intend to work on both during the month of September.
    I would tell you the winds came in last night, blowing the smokey air away and bringing clearer skies, albeit cloudy, than we’ve had in awhile. I fear they might also be fanning the flames of the many wildfires in this northwest quadrant. They’ve brought with them cooler temperatures which are to stay around for awhile – my idea of perfect weather with temps in the 70s. Much more conducive to actually being productive around here.
    I would share with you that I was called to jury duty only once since we’ve been here. Actually, I was called twice, but this most recent time my age excused me. There are some, but not many, benefits to this getting older. I am not aware of any dress restrictions here – I am certain I wore jeans when I went in with no negative repercussions. I was called for a trial, which lasted less than two hours, and we went into deliberation long enough to have our lunch orders taken, but not long enough to actually get that lunch. It was a very clear cut case, we all thought.
    I would thank you for the coffee and your company, but take my leave now. I think I have chewed your ear off for long enough, and my furry girls do not like being left for very long.

    Like

    1. I am sorry about the wildfires, Carol, and hope Mother Nature does something to help with them very soon. We had a blood red sunset last night and sunrise this morning due to smoke from the wildfires in Canada (or so our weather guy said). The air is very hazy and smoky even though we are so far away from the fires.

      Everyone should have a lazy summer every now and then. 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ve never thought of “proper attire” being required for jury duty, but I guess when you see jurors in movies, they don’t look all disheveled and sloppy! I wouldn’t want to buy anything special for this either; I hate wasting money on clothing for places or events I don’t really care to attend.

    I went to see a GI soon after I returned home. This was to see about the cause of all my stomach problems from China which mysteriously (!!) disappeared once I returned home to the USA. Now I’m just fine and the doctor wondered why on earth I had come in to see him. Stress and poor eating habits do seem to be connected to IBS, it seems. I like your doctor’s recommendations.

    Thanks for the visit, Robin. We’ll make it to the fall yet. I’m counting the days! 🙂

    Like

    1. Me too, Cathy! Fall can’t get here fast enough. I know I shouldn’t be wishing my days away like this, but I’ve had enough of the heat and humidity. They say it’s going to cool off after today.

      I’m so glad to hear that your stomach problems have resolved themselves. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jury duty seems to be in the blogging air this week! Not me, but others I read are preparing or have been. As it is quite unusual, it seems to me, to be actually chosen for a jury surely as long as you are clean and tidy it does not matter what you wear? I should ask for a clothing allowance if it is so required! What about the poor people?

    I’m so pleased to hear you have found a doctor with ability and common sense! IBS is very connected with worriers and people who build up stress. What a wonderful opportunity to practise letting things go and letting things be. 🙂

    We have signs of the gentle approach of spring here. She is about three weeks late by my reckoning. Today is grey and wet but it is the gentle grey and wet that comes in spring, not the heavy, harsh, cold one we have been enduring since April. I’ll take this with a smile. I am spring cleaning. Opening up my spaces for movement and space and light. I close everything down in Autumn and quite enjoy making it cosy, but am always relieved when opening up time comes again. Swings and roundabouts I suppose! I don’t think I would like to live somewhere where the seasons are flat liners.

    Like

  5. I hope your brother is OK–and the family matter, too (if it’s something else.)

    I feel like I could have coffee with you. Yesterday, a friend I haven’t seen all summer and I got together–with coffee–and met at a local park. We talked about our families, books we’re reading, and life in general. It was such a beautiful day. August here has been mostly really delightful. The a/c is back on though now. The dawn comes later and the daylight ends earlier, so fall is on its way.

    The photos are beautiful. I love the sunset on the water. We went to the shore on Thursday and visited with family. I got lots of fun girl talk in–and later that night, we saw a beautiful moon over the ocean.

    Like

  6. Hope your trip goes well and am sending blessings to your brother.
    Glad to hear about your prognosis – no worries, mon! 😉
    You had me LOL about the crabbing “step over this line…” and being in contempt of court. Hard to believe they still have those rules. So you going for your best jeans and maybe a button down? Wear big jewelry, maybe that’ll throw them off! 😉
    The moon must be beautiful down there over the water. Doubly sweet – one side sunset and the other, moonrise.

    Like

  7. Two things on IBS, in case they’re helpful, from the “been there, done that, bought the uncomfortable t-shirt” department: two natural remedies that can help immensely are activated charcoal capsules, and slippery elm tablets/lozenges…you’ll often find slippery elm as a lozenge because it’s great for the throat, but it’s also a wonder drug for the gut. If you can find a compound that also has licorice in it, the combination is really helpful. The activated charcoal, which is very safe, is wonderful for pain relief…it absorbs byproducts of things fermenting in the GI tract. I’ve cured three IBS-suffering cats and two humans with this combination, all five of whom were bad enough to have been told they needed intensive steroid treatment.

    Like

  8. Best wishes to you and your family. I hope all is as well as can be.
    I’m so surprised on the no-no’s for jury duty. I don’t believe we have such an extensive list in Massachusetts but I could be wrong, its been a while since I’ve been called. (Shouldn’t say that – watch me get a summons next week, lol) I say go with your leggings and and a long-ish top if you have one. That should do! 🙂

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

