Posted in Air, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Wonder

Morning in the scrounger’s garden

This is one of the many reasons I am not getting my chores done lately.
This is one of the many reasons I am not getting my chores done lately.

… Isn’t it splendid to think of all the things there are to find out about?  It just makes me feel glad to be alive — it’s such an interesting world.  It wouldn’t be half so interesting if we knew all about everything, would it?  There’d be no scope for imagination then, would there?

~ L. M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

Wonderful.
Wonderful.

The scrounger’s garden is a delightful place to be lately.  Mornings are particularly nice because they are growing cooler as the days become shorter (or the nights become longer, depending on how you wish to view it).

Another view of the butterfly I posted an image of yesterday.
Another view of the butterfly I posted an image of yesterday.

The butterflies, hummingbirds, and hummingbird moths gather for breakfast in the garden.  Because the mornings are cool, the butterflies are sometimes a little sluggish, a good thing for someone trying to photograph them.

Isn't she lovely?
Isn’t she lovely?

I went out to the garden for a few minutes, and the next thing I knew, an hour or so has gone by.

Stepping lightly.
Stepping lightly.

A few Eastern Swallowtail butterflies have been visiting the garden.  I haven’t seen any Monarchs yet.

Dancing on the head of a zinnia.
Dancing on the head of a zinnia.

M and I are celebrating our 39th wedding anniversary today.  He surprised me with a gift this morning.  We never exchange gifts on our anniversary (or Valentine’s Day).  Well, I guess I can’t say “never” anymore.  M gave me an Android tablet.  I’ve been wanting a tablet of some kind to use when we travel.  I would also like to check out Instagram, something you can’t do with a PC.

The gift was in his best interest, too.  I won’t have to use M’s laptop anymore when we travel.  I hope.  It depends on what I need or want to do.

Another reason to like zinnias. The Goldfinches were out there this morning. I caught the female with my camera, but the prettier, yellower, male was "on guard" and didn't allow me to capture his image.
Another reason to like zinnias. The Goldfinches were out there this morning. I caught the female with my camera, but the prettier, yellower, male was “on guard” and didn’t allow me to capture his image.

I played around with the tablet a little bit this afternoon.  I suspect it is going to take me months, if not years, to figure it out.  I’m not used to touch screens, and I find the symbols confusing.  I have never been good with symbols.  They usually make no sense at all to me.

M and I have resisted the trend towards smart phones and still use what I call dumb phones that basically assist in making phone calls and text messages.  Because we live in the Middle of Nowhere, our cell phone coverage is spotty at best.  We use the land line when we want to talk with people on the phone.  Otherwise, the call gets dropped or everything is garbled.

There is one orange zinnia in the garden. All the rest are pink, red, or magenta.
There is one orange zinnia in the garden. All the rest are pink, red, or magenta.

I’d better get moving.  I got behind on my chores today and although most of it is stuff that can wait, there are a few things that need to be taken care of today.

Fascination.
Fascination.

Thank you for stopping by today and joining me in the garden.  Feel free to stay awhile.  Sorry there is no place to sit just yet.  I’m going to move the bench by the pond over to the scrounger’s garden soon.

Blue and pink.
Blue and pink.

I might go out to the dock for sunset this evening.  It depends on what the clouds do.  It has been overcast most of the day, just a few small breaks in the clouds here and there.  Sunset is at 7:40 PM if you’d like to join me.  Be there about twenty minutes early if you don’t want to miss the early show.

Hello!
Hello!

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Nestled.
Nestled.

Today’s joys:  Morning in the garden; a lovely walk around the ranch; butterflies and hummingbirds; butterfly bushes and zinnias; 39 years with my beloved and best friend.

Open heart.
Open heart.

To be fully seen by somebody, then, and be loved anyhow — this is a human offering that can border on miraculous.

~ Elizabeth Gilbert

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

10 thoughts on “Morning in the scrounger’s garden

  1. Happy Anniversary! 🙂
    I wanted to just look at your photos forever – sooo very beautiful. I’m amazed that you can capture hummers in flight. Your camera must be set at 1/2000 of a second!

    Like

  2. Happy anniversary and very best wishes. I can never catch a butterfly. They always flit off–and a hummer, well, I haven’t tried, but they’re much faster. So thanks for sharing your pic’s!

    Like

  3. You’ve captured beauty around the flowers very well … then again, I know that will happen. More importantly, Happy Anniversary with hopes of many more. I don’t have a tribute to 39 because that’s two years away for us. 😉

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

