Posted in Autumn, Beginnings, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Goals, Gratitude, Life, Love, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, The Body Beautiful, The Joy of Exercise, Walking & Wandering, Water

1. The 55-Day Challenge

Floating to the top.
Floating to the top.

The best six doctors anywhere
And no one can deny it
Are sunshine, water, rest, and air
Exercise and diet.
These six will gladly you attend
If only you are willing
Your mind they’ll ease
Your will they’ll mend
And charge you not a shilling.

~ Nursery rhyme quoted by Wayne Fields, What the River Knows, 1990

Drifting with the tide.
Drifting with the tide.

I spent a good part of yesterday afternoon juggling.  Not literally, of course, because I am not a very good juggler of objects.  I always drop something when I try to multitask.  What I was juggling were schedules and appointments.  There are several medical hoops I must jump through before the small* procedure I’m having in January, and that entails making appointments and making sure I have access to the car and/or my driver (the talented M).  It was challenging, but I think I’ve managed to get everything lined up.

*(An aside:  You may have noticed I went with “small” procedure.  You see, it was growing in my mind because my mind latched on to the things that can go wrong rather than the things that can go right.  It’s not a good way to think, or to go through life.  After talking with those in the know about such things, I am much more reassured and much more inclined to think of it as something “small.”)

Out in the cold.
Out in the cold.

While I was on hold waiting for answers or appointments, I got to thinking about previous challenges I’ve undertaken in the past, particularly the challenges that involved blogging about whatever challenge I was involved in.  If you’ve been visiting me at my various blogs for a while, you might remember the 365 Life in the Bogs Get Outdoors Challenge which was followed by two more year-long challenges.

Out to the dock.
Out to the dock.

Accountability goes a long way when it comes to succeeding at making some changes in my life.  Blogging, of course, gives me that accountability once I’ve announced that I am setting off on yet another challenge or quest.  Reporting in, on a daily or almost daily basis, will keep the momentum going, along with the accountability.

Following a deer path.
Following a deer path.

As you might have already figured out, I am here today to announce my latest challenge.  I am calling it the 55-Day Be Well Challenge.  The object of this challenge is radical or extreme self-care with the objective of continued healing.  My plan, such as it is, really won’t deviate that much from some of the things I’ve been doing for the past few weeks, and every part of this plan is made with the intention of showering my body, and my Self, with love and good health.

On the Woodland Trail.
On the Woodland Trail.

Meditation, yoga, exercise, and getting outside and immersing myself in nature are things I’ve been doing already on a fairly regular basis, and I’m committing now to continuing those practices on a daily basis.  No more lazy-day excuses to skip a day here and a day there because that often leads to three or more days (weeks?) going by before I get back into the routine of it.

Sparkling and cold.
Sparkling and cold.

Eating foods that nourish and aid the healing process have also been on my agenda lately, but it’s time to ramp that up a bit by saying goodbye to dairy.  Because the holidays are coming up, I’m going to allow myself one cheat per week.  I may not even need it.  Having a cheat available is helpful because it prevents binges.  It’s never good to say never, even to foods that aren’t particularly good for me.  Nothing is forbidden, and if I do indulge, I will do so mindfully.  Might as well thoroughly enjoy the experience, right?  (That’s something I plan to apply to life in general, by the way.)

Pretty day.
Pretty day.

I will be chopping wood and carrying water (doing the chores) as usual, and taking at least one rest and/or play day each week.  I’m sure I’ll play or rest in between, but I think it’s good to dedicate one day to rest and play.  Play often feels like rest to me so combining the two is not out of the question.

Held.
Held.

There are other plans and possibilities.  I’ll let you know about them as they come up.

Gathering in the pine needles.
One red leaf among the browns and golds.

Thank you for stopping by on this very chilly Wednesday.  I don’t think the temperature has gone above freezing.  The sky is a beautiful, crystal clear shade of blue, and the sun has been lighting up the ranch, but producing very little heat.  Tomorrow will be a small improvement with highs in the 40’s rather than the low 30’s.

I have no idea how this little one is surviving the cold.
I have no idea how this little one is surviving the cold.

I’m going to the Point to watch the sunset.  Feel free to join me.  Bundle up as it’s going to be cold and windy out there.  Sunset is now at 4:48 PM.  As usual, I’ll be going early because sometimes all the good stuff happens early.  And sometimes it happens late.  You never know.

Another little survivor.
Another little survivor.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

November 2014K 008a
Another angle.

Today’s joys:  Sunshine!; crystal clear blue skies; indoor heat to keep us warm; clothing to layer so we don’t have to run the heat constantly; hot soup to warm from the inside out; little butterflies still dancing around the meadows.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

25 thoughts on “1. The 55-Day Challenge

  1. You sound good! That makes me happy! I think you’ve got a very positive attitude about this whole thing and taking care of yourself has to be the top priority! I’m glad you’re making it such.

    Like

  2. All will be well, because we all say so. Your spirit and determination will make it so. I would join you for the sunset, but it is raining here and I prefer not to try to enjoy your sunset in the cold as I turn into an icicle. Rain check, or should I say above-freezing-and-dry check?

    Like

  3. Robin I seriously appreciate your challenge. Whenever I knew I was having a “procedure” I tried very hard to be in as good a shape as possible BEFORE hand. It truly helps with recovery. Here’s to your BE WELL !!!! Challenge. I know you can do that. Easy PEasy.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, CM. 🙂 That’s the idea — be in the best shape possible ahead of time so I can recover quickly and smoothly, and then continue on with my health journey.

      Like

  4. You have a wonderful view of life, and I’m confident that you will meet you challenge. BTW – the first pic with the butterfly (third up from the bottom) is my fav.

    Off topic … My current post (Connections) is a collaboration with a photographer friend. Do you think this is something we would like to try? Just a thought.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Frank. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the butterfly. I was surprised to see them out there. I don’t know how they manage in the cold.

      I would love to collaborate. It sounds like fun! 😀

      Like

  5. Robin, good for you, keeping it in proper perspective. I’ve noticed how easy this is for me when I speak with friends about their procedures. My perspective maintenance is usually much more of a challenge when the doctors and nurses are coming for me with their instruments!

    Like

  6. Sounds like a great plan. And cheat days really are good for you – both psychologically and physically. Love the photos of the butterflies, so surprising to see them still around!

    Like

    1. Day 55 is the day before I have the D&C and whatever follows that, Cathy. The plan is to keep going once I reach that point, but I thought it might be good to divide the challenge up into smaller chunks. I’d like to (once and for all!) get myself down to a healthy weight, and be in good enough shape to take long (8-10 miles) walks.

      Like

      1. Oh, good to know what your day countdown is, Robin. It’s a great goal to get in shape and to eat healthy and exercise. I’d like to join in your goal, but I’m not sure I could stick with it as busy as I am with work. Maybe I should dive in and make it a priority myself. After having been sick for the last week, I need to do something to take care of myself. 🙂

        Like

  7. Good luck with the challenge, Robin! (And, more specifically, good luck with outing dairy from your diet. In January, I will be 5 years without dairy. The first 3 months were definitely the most challenging, but after that, I didn’t miss it at all. I thought FOR SURE I would, but there you have it!)

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

