Posted in Aging, Air, Change, Covid-19, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Heartfulness, Home, In these strange times, Inspiriting, Life, Love, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Simplicity, Spirit, Spiritual practices, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Wonder, Writing

Because

Me and my solar eclipse shadows.

A woman who cuts her hair is about to change her life.
― Coco Chanel

As the storm moved away.

(Note:  I did a thing yesterday and because I feel like writing, I’m here to tell the story.  I will need to start with some backstory, but I will try not so spend too much time on it. When I finish the writing part, maybe I’ll stick in a few photos to help move things along and for those of you who are here for the photography and not so much for the writing.)

A few months ago, maybe in December or January, I decided to let my hair grow.  It wasn’t that I wanted to grow it long and longer.  I was having trouble deciding what I wanted.  The only thing that came to mind was to shave it all off.  I didn’t have the nerve to do that so I avoided getting my hair cut for a while.  It grew, longer than I’ve let it grow since the first year of the pandemic when everything was shut down and I couldn’t get it cut.  Even after things opened, I still didn’t get it cut because I knew they weren’t requiring or wearing masks where I usually went to get my hair cut (and colored, when I was having fun with vibrant colors).  Strange times, as I’m sure you remember.

I listened to a podcast that featured Elizabeth Gilbert at some point during my hair growing process.  She had shaved her head.  Shaved it!  During the podcast, when asked about it, she talked about how freeing it was to be rid of her hair.  She didn’t have to worry about shampoo or blow drying or styling, or buying the products necessary to do those things.  She could just get up and go.  I nodded along as she talked, wondering what it might be like to feel that sort of freedom.  However, I was not ready to find out and my hair continued to grow.

Spring blossoms

Two weeks ago, I made an appointment to get my hair(s) cut.  I still did not know what I wanted to do.  I was tempted to tell T, the stylist, to get out the clippers and take it all off.  What I did instead was research.  I got on the internet, put in a search for “pixie cuts women over 60 with fine hair” and hit Go Fetch (so to speak).  Well.  If AI is running the search engines these days, AI is doing a pretty poor job of it.  I already knew that.  Eventually I did sort of get what I was looking for by just looking at images but even then, I had to wonder about the websites and search engines.  A lot of the haircuts that showed up were being modeled by women in their 20’s and 30’s, maybe 40’s at best.  That’s not what I wanted to see.  I wanted to see old ladies with short, short hair.

The beauty of the redbud

I’m done with “a woman of a certain age” or stupid ideas like “60 is the new 40.”  I am 65+ and considered elderly by our culture, by my doctor and the rest of the healthcare industry, and by any of those forms we have to fill out to get healthcare.  Let me be elderly or an elder.  Let me be an old crow (I happen to like crows and since crows are rather smart, I would assume that their elders are wiser as a result of ageing).  Or, as I’ve been joking around with a friend about, let me be an elderberry.  (Somehow I heard “elderberry” when someone was referring to “elderly” and I like it.  It covers the elder part and it makes me smile.)

Flowers on the blueberry (not elderberry) bush.

I didn’t want to see short haircuts on younger women.  What looks great on a 20-year-old (or 30-, 40-, and even 50-year old) is not going to look the same on a 60+ year old (or a 70-, 80-, or 90-year old).  I also did not want to see those short cuts on women with thick and/or curly hair.  My hair is baby fine, as they say.  Always has been, always will be (except when I damage it enough to make it frizzy and it appears thicker).

I found a few images of what I was looking for, printed them out, and then waited for my appointment with thoughts of just having T trim my hair back to what it was (a bob) and leave it at that.  When I arrived at the salon and sat in the chair, I pulled out the photo I’d printed of a woman with short, short hair and said, “How about that?”  T responded that it would look good on me and yes, she could do that with my hair.  And that, as they say, was that.  T started cutting and buzzing, cutting and buzzing, and I watched as long strands of hair fell to the floor.  T, like many who cut and style hair, is wise in the ways of these things.  She kept the chair turned so that I could not watch what was going on.  It would have been fascinating, but I’m not sure I would have appreciated that aspect at the time of the falling away of my hair.

Azalea in bloom.

There was a weird sense of liberation as I watched the hair leaving my head.  Still, I was a bit fearful of what I was going to look like because I knew T was cutting my hair shorter than it has ever been.  It’s one of those short pixie cuts with the sides and back undercut (buzzed with the clippers), leaving a little length on the top and in the front (bangs/fringe).  It isn’t Jamie Lee Curtis or Dame Judy Dench short, but it is approaching that realm.

Fiery.

It wasn’t until I washed and dried my hair today that I realized what the sense of liberation was about.  It wasn’t about getting rid of the hair.  It wasn’t even about the time and effort I’m going to save by not having to mess with my hair for ridiculous amounts of time every day.  What it was really about was this:  I have liberated myself from the fantasy of what I wanted my hair to be.  I was never, ever going to have long, luxurious locks of hair.  I was never going to have thick and/or curly hair.  My hair is not now nor was it ever any of those things no matter how many different haircuts, hair styles, or hair products I tried over my lifetime of pursuing an unrealistic goal.

I could write a long discourse on why many women do that to themselves (try to be or hope to be or wish to be what they are not).  Conditioning, culture, beauty standards, marketing, capitalism, etc., etc., ad nauseum.  But this essay is not about that so much as it is about how I did a big and scary (for me) thing yesterday.  First world privilege, yes.  I understand that.  I also understand that I had been attached to this fantasy for so long that I thought that was who I was.  All I had to do was find the right product or style or even food/vitamin, and my hair would miraculously be the shining glory that women’s hair is said to be (the Bible tells us so and there are Christian women out there writing blogs about how our hair is our authority, our covering, our power, and we should never ever cut it).

Pretty and feminine

Washing such short hair this morning was strange and different and just plain weird.  The little time it took to dry and style my short hair was amazing.  I took the time I would have spent fussing with my hair and used it to write this post.  There are many, many other ways I could have used that extra time.  There are many other ways I will likely use the extra time.  Time was the original excuse for wanting short hair.  I had no idea that what I really wanted to do was drop something that never really served me.  I see that in other areas of my life, too.  Right now it’s the fantasies that are falling away.

Ageing, they say, helps us shed what isn’t needed if we’re willing to go there.

Hidden goddesses (work in progress; acrylic paint on canvas).

I suppose that covers some of what is on my mind today.  Sorry, no photos of me or the hair.  Maybe someday.  I never really like putting my mug on the internet.  I’m not sure why.  Maybe I’ll figure that out eventually.

Thank you so much for stopping by and visiting with me today.  Let’s meet out at the Point for sunset.  It’s scheduled for 7:42 PM.  The weather is warm and breezy.  I’m not sure how cold the water is but you might even want to wade a bit or at least test the waters.

Please be safe, be well, and take a little time to just Be.  And to just be yourself.  Long hair, short hair, medium… whatever works for you.  ♥

Goodnight, Sun.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  3,321)  A little bit of becoming unstuck.  3,322)  Spring blossoms.  3,323)  Spring showers and storms, as long as the storms aren’t too scary or powerful.  3,324)  Yoga studies, and another look at The Brahmaviharas (which are Buddhist concepts but yoga has its version).  3,325)  Homemade sauerkraut.  We’ve been doing some fermenting around here.  Good stuff.

Slipping into darkness.

Author:

Robin is... too many things to list, but here is a start: an artist and writer; a photographer and saunterer; a daughter and sister and granddaughter; a friend, a partner, a wife, a mother, and a grandmother; a gardener, a great and imaginative cook, and the creator of wonderful sandwiches.

26 thoughts on “Because

  1. I am so with you on that feeling of liberation – in the past couple of months I’ve decided vanity needs to just go away. Since chemo, my hair has gone from very thick and easy to style to very thin and fine and unwilling to be styled. I finally gave up on attempting to control it, pulled out the clippers and the 3/4” attachment and let it roam freely over my head. Then to the 1/2” attachment for the back of my head and around the ears. Freedom! Another part of the battle is accepting my crepe paper skin – I’m 82, I’ve earned it – and bought some walking shorts and will wear my sleeveless tops with them in public. I mean really, who the heck do I think I’m trying to impress? Comfort is first.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love this, Carol. Thank you! I fuss with myself about wearing shorts and sleeveless tops in the summer. I’m going to join you and wear them freely in public. :)

      Like

  2. What a liberating essay, Robin. Elderberries – yes! I started cutting my own hair last year when I realized that I was always trying to “fix” what my hairdresser did. Sometimes it is an inch long all over, sometimes I let it grow out. I just have fun with it. Most days I don’t go anywhere in public so I don’t really care about clothes and hair and makeup, which has lead to emptying my closets and giving away all of the lovely clothes I will never wear again. So odd to not care and still be happy with myself 🙂 Thank you for so much food for thought.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome, and thank you so much, Lynn, for sharing your elderberry experiences. :) I’ve thought about cutting my own hair but after cutting my husband’s hair a few times and seeing what I did to him, I’m thinking it’s worth it to pay someone else to do it. lol! Poor guy. I nearly shaved part of his head. I’ve been emptying my closets, too, and makeup was something I never got the hang of although I’m thinking about learning how to give myself some eyebrows. It’s not a priority (so many better things to do).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I understand your reluctance, but I wish you’d included a Before and After photo of your do! Congrats on pulling the trigger and doing what’s best for you. We women grow up with all sorts of “shoulds” when it comes to our personal style and our image of beauty. Men don’t come packaged with that sort of baggage, the lucky dudes. I, too, have baby-soft, fine hair (and LOTS of it). I, too, let mine grow during the pandemic. Sadly, I look like a horse with short hair, so I’m keeping it shoulder length … for now. But oh, how expensive it’s become, going to a salon for upkeep!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Debbie. :) I’m lucky in that where I live, upkeep and salons are not too brutally expensive. $25 for a haircut. $18 if you’re a man (seems entirely unfair to me but I suppose I can see the reasoning). A half hour north of us and I’d be paying double or triple that. I don’t know how T manages it, but she does. I’m grateful and always tip well since I’m not paying a fortunate for the cut and style/blow dry.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a refreshing and spring-like post to read this morning, Robin! I’m so glad you chose liberating yourself from the ties of society re: age and beauty…I visit my salon twice a year and have chosen highlights to blend in with my greys as it hangs just below my shoulders, it’s very straight so I can blow dry it and go…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so glad you are happy with your new “do” and new freedom! I kind of went the other way post-Covid and striking out on my own. ”Teaching” remotely during that time kind of helped me realize that my appearance wasn’t so important – connections with people are! A”nd that was so very difficult during Covid. I, too, have a “do” created out of the need for freedom, but I went the other way: I haven’t had a haircut in over 2 years now. I just let it grow as it wishes. I admit to still being vain enough to use store-bought dye to brush away the gray I’m not willing to have as part of my identity just yet!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Karma. :) I am enjoying the freedom of wash-and-go for now. I’ve gone the other way, too, and there was ease in that when it got long enough to pull up. I use color in my hair but it’s usually pink or purple. :D I’m gathering some lovely white on my head and I’m hoping it will all be that color eventually.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ageing, they say, helps us shed what isn’t needed if we’re willing to go there. That’s a beautiful thought.

    What a fascinating topic for a blog post. My experience is the reverse of yours. During the pandemic I began to let my curly hair grow long. I’d always had short hair like a pixie or bob that required maintenance and effort and planning to keep it looking good. 

    Now 4 years later I’ve fallen in love with how easy it is to pull my hair back into a ponytail and I feel like rebel for not giving into the idea that I’m of a certain age so I can’t have long hair. I don’t know how long I’ll continue with my old-age rebellion, but at the moment I feel empowered.  

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you, Ally. :) I’m wondering about the maintenance aspect of short hair and we’ll see how it goes. Are there rules for how long or short our hair can be at a certain age? If so, then we should all be rebellious and go whatever way we want to. :D

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I am constantly changing my hair. Letting it grow, chopping it off. The last cut was particularly short and I love it. I need zero maintenance hair because I never have nor every will get a type of cut that requires me to spend more than one minute in front of the mirror!

    So. BOO! on not sharing your new ‘do but HURRAH! for you on going for it. It truly is liberating.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Look forward to seeing the hair. I am afraid I will miss asparagus season again this year. 😪

    Love the Hidden Goddesses artwork.

    love to you both. I will be in MJ on Saturday 5/25 for the Memorial Day parade. I plan to walk with the DAB to honor Leib. 💜

    Like

  9. Aww. I’m a bit disappointed. I was really hoping for some before and after pictures.
    I’ve been wanting to cut my hair, but at the same time I love having long hair and just can’t bring myself to cut it just yet (I haven’t had a real haircut since before covid and my hair is down to my waist now) even though it desperately needs it. I’ve just asked my daughter to trim the ends a bit to keep them looking even and less thin due to breakage. Maybe one day I’ll go through with it and chop it all off…

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.