Posted in Air, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Home, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Play, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, WeekendCoffeeShare, Wonder

If we were having coffee: Out, about, and in the garden edition

Enjoying the lavender.
Enjoying the lavender.

Anthropocentric as [the gardener] may be, he recognizes that he is dependent for his health and survival on many other forms of life, so he is careful to take their interests into account in whatever he does. He is in fact a wilderness advocate of a certain kind. It is when he respects and nurtures the wilderness of his soil and his plants that his garden seems to flourish most. Wildness, he has found, resides not only out there, but right here: in his soil, in his plants, even in himself…
But wildness is more a quality than a place, and though humans can’t manufacture it, they can nourish and husband it…
The gardener cultivates wildness, but he does so carefully and respectfully, in full recognition of its mystery.

~ Michael Pollan, Second Nature: A Gardener’s Education

On the street in Salisbury.
On the street in Salisbury.

If we were having coffee, tea, lemonade, water, or some other beverage, I would be pleased to see you again.  Come on in!  Let’s go to the kitchen, grab something to eat and drink, and head out to the deck by the pool where we can settle in for a nice chat.  The weather is lovely today, isn’t it?  Clear, sunny, and warm, but not too warm.  The rain that came through on Thursday night and Friday morning cleared out the heat and humidity temporarily.  Summer, of course, will return soon.  We should enjoy this beautiful weather while we can.

Scenes from Salisbury on 3rd Friday.
Scenes from Salisbury on 3rd Friday (yesterday evening).

How are you?  What have you been up to since our last chat?  Are you well into summer activities yet or is it still spring where you are?  Have you traveled anywhere?  Taken any good hikes or walks?  Tried anything new?  Have you read any good books or seen any good films?

Love.
Love.

I’m still making my way through Asimov’s Nemesis, and honestly, I’m not sure I’ll finish it.  It’s not a bad book, but it isn’t grabbing my interest.  I don’t care about the characters, and if I don’t care about the characters, I usually don’t care about the story or the book.

The piebald deer. It's a buck and we saw him on our way home from Salisbury yesterday. The only camera I had was my phone so I took this using the lens of the binoculars to zoom in.
The piebald deer. It’s a buck and we saw him on our way home from Salisbury yesterday. The only camera I had was my phone so I took this using the lens of the binoculars to zoom in.

I did get two books from the library, and started on one of them yesterday.  Lisa, over at Arlingwords, recently posted about what she has been reading, and I’m always looking for new (to me) authors to read so I checked online and was able to get Life Class and Toby’s Room (both by Pat Barker) through an interlibrary loan.

One with the flowers, my latest double exposure self-portrait.
One with the flowers, my latest double exposure self-portrait.

As for films, M and I recently watched The Revenant.  We’d both read the book, and we both thought it was quite a good read.  I thought the movie was good, too.  Violent, but that was expected.  DiCaprio’s performance was amazing.

The sage continues to bloom.
The sage continues to bloom.

If we were having coffee, tea, or something else to drink, I would tell you that M and I went to Salisbury for 3rd Friday yesterday evening.  We had dinner first at one of our favorite Salisbury restaurants, Roadie Joe’s.  Maybe it’s too early to call it a favorite since this was only our third visit, but their food and service have been consistently good.  I’m looking forward to working my way through their menu although that’s going to be tough since they usually have tempting specials.  It’s not an extensive menu, but if I keep ordering a special instead of something off the menu, it could take me a while.

More sage. Just because.
More sage. Just because.

We were able to sit out on the patio and listen to the live music while we enjoyed our dinner.  The weather was perfect for it.  Warm, with a lovely breeze.  This month’s 3rd Friday theme was Paw Prints, and there were lots of dogs out and about with their people.  I enjoyed walking around the plaza after dinner looking at all the art displayed (and for sale) by local artists.  It was fun meeting and greeting some of the dogs, too.

Bloomin' onion.
Bloomin’ onion.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that the growing season is in full swing around here.  We stopped off at a local farm market yesterday and the first of the blueberries are in just as the last of the strawberries are on their way out.  There were locally grown tomatoes, radishes, and summer squashes to be had, too.

A fan of iris leaves.
A fan of iris leaves.

In our own gardens, the eggplant, beans, tomatoes, and cucumbers have flowered, there is broccoli ready to be picked (in spite of the rabbits who tried to chew it all down), a bumper crop of Swiss chard, and it won’t be long before I’m picking banana peppers.  There are already a few on the plants that look just about ready to be plucked.

The second zinnia.
The second zinnia.

The scrounger’s garden is a riot of blooms.  The lavender and sage continue to flower like gangbusters, the daylilies are almost finished, the butterfly bushes are crowded with blooms, the roses are practically bent over from the weight of all the flowers, and the zinnias are just beginning to open.  I saw my first Monarch butterfly near the flower garden early this morning.

The first Monarch of the season in the scrounger's garden.
The first Monarch of the season in the scrounger’s garden.

If we were having coffee, I would ask if you’d like to take a walk.  We could go out to the meadows to see what’s blooming out that way.  It has been a while since I’ve taken a stroll on the meadow paths.  I’ve seen Queen Anne’s Lace blooming near the pond so I bet there is plenty of that to be found in the meadows.  I wonder if the Black-Eyed Susans are flowering yet?  Let’s go see.

First zinnia.
First zinnia.

If we were having coffee, tea, lemonade, or something else to drink, I would thank you for visiting.  I always enjoy our coffee chats, and hope you do too.  After our walk, please feel free to stay a while.  You can go for a swim if you like.  I need to get back out to the garden.  The weeds grow faster than I can pull them.  I have challenged myself to work in the flower garden every day for a minimum of twenty minutes. The challenge helps because it gets me out there and once out there, my work time usually stretches into an hour or two.  Even so, I can’t keep up.  You’re welcome to lend a hand if you’re in the mood for a little work.

Queen Anne's Lace by the pond.
Queen Anne’s Lace by the pond.

We have had some lovely sunsets lately.  After some work, a swim, and dinner, let’s head down to the Point to see what kind of show Mother Nature is putting on for us tonight.  Sunset is at 8:28 PM.  We should watch for the moonrise while we’re at it.  The moon is nearly full.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Beautiful sunset this week.
Beautiful sunset this week.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Thank you to Diana for hosting it.  Also, a big congratulations for the #WeekendCoffeeShare being featured on WordPress’s Daily Post.  So glad to see it being shared among the rest of the community!  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

 

Author:

Robin is... too many things to list, but here is a start: an artist and writer; a photographer and saunterer; a daughter and sister and granddaughter; a friend, a partner, a wife, a mother, and a grandmother; a gardener, a great and imaginative cook, and the creator of wonderful sandwiches.

29 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Out, about, and in the garden edition

    1. This will be our fourth summer here, Dawn, and it still amazes me how fast summer and the growing season come on. During our first spring and summer, I was afraid there would be nothing left to bloom or grow by July and August since everything I associated with summer was pretty much either blooming or fruiting. lol!

      Like

  1. Your gardens are so far ahead of mine – it’s like a peek into the future. While our May was, for the most part, unusually warm, our June has been chilly. The plants seem to be wondering whether the should bloom or not. Tomorrow, then say, will bring temps more normal and I will be grateful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It fascinates me how the seasons move along at different paces, Carol, depending on where you are and what year it is. Our spring was rainy and chilly, but the plants kept growing through it all (especially the grass which I’ve been mowing since early March!). I think it might have been the mild winter that helped things along this year.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Robin, If we were having coffee I would tell you how I’m always surprised (in a good way) at how similar the timing seems to be on so many of our flowers and plants, and our weather similarities, despite there being most of a continent’s width between us. Our sage looks just like yours, and our strawberries are almost finished – blueberries coming on strong, and raspberries starting to ripen up. It’s been raining for the past day here too – we are experiencing “Juneuary” here on the coast – though mercifully warmer than January! My daylilies aren’t quite ready – though they’re close – and my peppers are way behind yours, but our broccoli sounds pretty similar. It’s looking like a great year here in terms of production for most of our crops, including the apple and plum trees. Tons of bees in our garden, which gives me much-needed hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All of your photos are gorgeous, as usual–but some different types and scenes this week (the city walls and the double exposure is very cool) along with the exquisite nature photos. It sounds like your Friday night was a lot of fun.

    We haven’t seen The Revenant. We kept seeing the trailers when we went to the movies, but somehow, even though the cinematography is beautiful, I just kept saying to myself “I don’t care.” 🙂 We watched Cloud Atlas last night. Somehow I had missed that one in the theaters. We must have been very busy. I haven’t read the book, but I did read one of his others, The Bone Clock.

    I remember reading Asimov many years ago, and thinking he wasn’t much for character. It was much more science.

    We’re having beautiful weather here. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Merril. 🙂 I have Cloud Atlas in my Netflix queue, and the book on my reading list. Now that you’ve mentioned both, I think I’ll move them up. So many good books and movies. So little time. As for The Revenant, I enjoyed the book more than the film (which is usually the way of things). Looks like the story of Hugh Glass has been told many times although there’s some question as to how much of it is true.

      I think you may be right about Asimov. My husband tells me to abandon the book, that Asimov has written better.

      Have a great week! And stay cool. I hear summer’s heat will be turned on us this week.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks so much, Robin.
        Part way through the movie, I said to my husband that I don’t even care if it doesn’t make sense at the end because I was enjoying it so much. 🙂

        It’s already very hot here today. You stay cool, too!

        Like

  4. How much I would love to take a walk in person with you at this time of year – from your pictures and words, I’m very sure I would be in my glory surrounded by beautiful sights and scents.
    In addition, I also have to say I’m just loving your creativity from the flower self-portrait to the great idea to use binoculars with your phone! Very cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a wonderful stroll through your garden, Robin. A perfect post, actually, because this week is National Pollinator Week to encourage people to grow gardens that support our pollinators. You’ve got lots of happy characters in yours 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It seems such a beautiful place where you live–or your eyes are finding the beauty that is there. Are you settling into being there after all this time, learning to like it as well as the Bogs? Thinking about Queen Anne’s Lace and how lovely that is when it comes out. Haven’t seen any yet, although the daisies came out last week. Also wondering how often you swim in the pool? What a delight to have one…if the water stays warm enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe a little of both, Kathy, in terms of the beauty and finding it. M said my photos make it look more beautiful than it is, but I think it has to be there or I wouldn’t be able to capture it.

      I am sort of settled in here. I’m not sure this will ever really feel like home to me. We don’t plan to stay once M retires. We want to sell this place and go back to Ohio. That’s something that surprises me since I’m not originally from Ohio. But I do still miss it, and the Bogs really did feel like home.

      As for the pool and swimming, I swim nearly every day once we open the pool. We have a solar cover so it stays warm enough. We probably won’t need the cover this week since it will be hot. I like to to jump in after I’ve been doing outdoor work. It’s refreshing. 🙂

      Like

  7. You had a monarch visit!! I was noting that our milkweed is budded up and ready to bloom and held out the hope in my heart that we will have visitors this year. The past couple years have been dismal. I heard they overwintered well so I will hope!
    That window of sunset glow is wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Eliza. 🙂 That’s good news about the monarchs (overwintering well). I have a hard time capturing the bigger butterflies around here. For some reason, they don’t usually visit the flowers in the flower garden. Maybe because there are so many other wild blooms out in the meadows.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. It always looks like you’re enjoying your property on the water to the max! I’m glad to know all is well with you. Since I see you visited my cocktail hour, I won’t go into what I’ve been up to, but I did look up the books you borrowed from the library and have now added them to my list. That Third Friday in Salisbury sounds fun. Maybe I should arrange a visit to my sister in Salisbury on a 3rd Friday so I can experience it. How nice to have all those fresh vegetables coming from your garden. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I try to, Cathy. I might as well enjoy my time here since it will be stretching out at least another seven years or so. I had hoped to acclimate to the heat by now, but I suspect that’s never going to happen. Third Friday in Salisbury is fun. It’s small compared to similar events in bigger cities, but that’s one of the things I like about it. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.