Posted in Assateague Island, Beach, Chincoteague, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Health & Well-Being, Hiking, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Virginia, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Winter, Woods

If we were having coffee

On the Woodland Trail.  Chincoteague, VA.  (It's really Assateague Island, the southern portion, but it's easier just to call it Chincoteague.)
On the Woodland Trail. Chincoteague, VA. (It’s really Assateague Island, the southern portion, but it’s easier just to call it Chincoteague.)

The morning cup of coffee has an exhilaration about it which the cheering influence of the afternoon or evening cup of tea cannot be expected to reproduce.

~ Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., “Over the Teacups”

On the beach.
On the beach.

If we were having coffee, I would invite you out to the porch where the sun has been warming things up.  It’s quite pleasant out there, and I think you might enjoy watching the birds who have been flitting about.  I saw a flock of Cedar Waxwings today.  Or at least I think that’s what they are.  I got a few pictures but haven’t had a chance to look at them closely yet.

It’s great to see you again!  How are you?  How was your week?  Have you read any good books lately?  Watched any good films?  Gone anywhere worth a mention?

A good place for a picnic.
A good place for a picnic.

My week has been so-so, a mixture of the good, the not-so-good, and the okay.  Whatever was ailing me last week returned, and I ended up at an urgent care facility today.  I left there with a prescription for antibiotics and an instruction sheet on what not to eat for the next few days.  I don’t like taking medication, especially antibiotics, if I can avoid it.  Alas, I can’t avoid it.  Hopefully this will do the trick and I’ll be better in a day or two.  If not, well, there will be tests.  Fingers crossed that it doesn’t come to that.

Hoping to share my picnic lunch with me.
Hoping to share my picnic lunch with me.

M and I both managed to break our glasses today.  I broke my sunglasses, making it difficult to see on these bright, beautiful, sunny days.  M broke his reading glasses.  He has several pairs of reading glasses, most of them the cheap variety you can pick up at a drug store (or even some grocery stores).  The pair he broke happened to be his prescription glasses.  In both cases, his and mine, the glasses can be repaired.  We just need to get up to the mall to the eyeglass place to have it done.

It was a warm and windy day.
It was a warm and windy day.  (Wednesday.)

Now that the not-so-good news is out of the way, how about some good news?

Wednesday was a beach day for me.  The weather was warm.  Warmer than I thought it would be.  I got to the beach all layered and ready for the wind, but the wind was so warm that I was doing the same as the few others who were visiting the beach that day.  Stripping away the layers.  I would have gone all the way down to my tank top, but I didn’t have sunscreen on my arms and shoulders.  I can vouch for the fact that sunburn in mid-March is possible (and in my case, probable).

Looking out over the marsh.
Looking out over the marsh.

I had a wonderful time walking on the beach, and then hiking a few of the trails.  I finally walked the Lighthouse Trail up to the lighthouse.  I’ve seen the top of it poking up above the loblolly pines, but up until Wednesday, hadn’t walked up to get a full view.

The top that I'm familiar with.
The top that I’m familiar with.

The original Assateague Lighthouse, located on the Virginia portion of Assateague Island, was built in 1833, but a taller, brighter lighthouse was needed so additional work on it was started in 1860, delayed by the U.S. Civil War, and then resumed in 1867.

The front door.
The front door.

The lighthouse is open on weekends during the months of April, May, and November.  From June to October it is open daily.

Full view.
Full view.

Some of the week was spent finishing up work on the yoga room and the hall that runs from the guest room and office to the kitchen and living room.  I’ll show you some of that in a minute.  Let’s look at the lighthouse one more time.  Just because.

It's a beautiful lighthouse.
It’s a beautiful lighthouse.

Oh, and this marker:

Dedicated.
Dedicated.

The yoga room is finally finished in terms of painting and repairing walls and such.  I still have some unpacking and rearranging to do.  We can also start putting artwork on the walls.  It’s a matter of deciding what we want out there.  Much of what we brought will end up in the attic because this house is smaller than our last place.

There is still work to be done.  The lamp in left corner will be leaving the room.
There is still work to be done. The lamp in the left corner will be leaving the room and going elsewhere although I’m not sure where elsewhere is yet.

Then there is the hall.  We finished painting and M installed the new flooring.  There was a hitch along the way.  He started taking up the vinyl tiles that the original owners installed and it was easy going until he reached the living room.  Mr. B. (who built the house) must have switched glues, and decided on a superglue of some kind because after much hammering and crowbarring, all we got for our work were a bunch of small chips off the tiles.  We’ll never get that up in our lifetime so we’ll have to install the new flooring over the old flooring in the living room.  That means M had to come up with a clever threshold where the hall ends and the living room starts.

Work in progress.  The hall flooring is finished.  We'll start on the living room soon.
Work in progress. The hall flooring is finished. We’ll start on the living room soon.  (The colors are off in this image.  The walls in the hall are a light gray.  The walls beyond it are a brownish-peach color.  Not sure why they reversed.  Something about the light, I suppose.)

I think that’s about it.  For those who are curious about such things, I’m currently reading The Forest Unseen: A Year’s Watch in Nature.  I’m loving it so far, but that should come as no surprise to those who have followed my blog for a little while.  The author, biologist David George Haskell, spent a year observing a one-square-meter patch of land in an old-growth forest in Tennessee.  His descriptions are beautiful, and I’m learning a lot about what goes on in a forest.  Since I walk the same paths day after day, I know what it’s like to find those small bits of magic and miracle that occur each day.

Sunrise clouds.
Sunrise clouds.

Thank you so much for stopping by and joining me for coffee, tea, or some other beverage.  There are some more potent potables, if you’d prefer.  Wine, a nice IPA, and probably some rum.  I’m not partaking these days, but you’re welcome to.

Sunset is soon so I’d better get this posted and head out there.  You’re welcome to join me on the dock if you wish.

A bunny seen on today's walk.
A bunny seen on today’s walk.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

The periwinkles won the race.  They're blooming before the daffodils.
The periwinkles won the race. They’re blooming before the daffodils.  (Also from today’s walk.)

coffee2

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Grab a cuppa of whatever your preference is and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

 

 

 

Author:

Robin is... too many things to list, but here is a start: an artist and writer; a photographer and saunterer; a daughter and sister and granddaughter; a friend, a partner, a wife, a mother, and a grandmother; a gardener, a great and imaginative cook, and the creator of wonderful sandwiches.

24 thoughts on “If we were having coffee

  1. I love your coffee talks, Robin. Your beach walk, with the lighthouse viewing, looks marvelous for a nice spring day. I’m glad the weather’s improving on the East Coast. Is that supposed to be capitalized? Probably not but I see it done that way often. Your book sounds interesting. I’m still reading American Romantic, by Ward Just. I love it because it’s about a foreign service diplomat and his involvement in the Vietnam War (although the war is never called such in the book) and the story follows his career and life and loves. I’m really enjoying it, as I took the foreign service exam and failed it, so the only way I can enjoy a foreign service career now is vicariously. I did see Taken 3 in a Chinese movie theater last night; we only seem to get American action films here in China, none of the more subtle stuff which is more my cup of tea. Some of my students accompanied me, which was nice. Other than that, it’s a little gray and dreary and threatening rain, but I think that’s the way in Nanning. I’m having fun sorting through my photos from my travels, and reliving the journey while I do so. Nothing else is going on with me.

    I hope your health problem improves with the antibiotic. Take care and keep enjoying that fresh air there on the eastern shore. 🙂 (Should that be capitalized? 🙂 )

    Like

    1. East Coasters probably think it should be capitalized, Cathy. And the Eastern Shore folks think the same when it comes to Eastern Shore, but I’ve written it both ways (either way?). Thank you so much for getting me caught up with what’s going on with you. I am doing a terrible job of keeping up lately, but will be back over to your place soon to see more of your amazing images.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I guess I’ll just keep capitalizing, or not, depending on my mood and whether I feel like hitting the caps button or not! 🙂 Thanks for helping me mull this dilemma over.

        Like

  2. I just finished watching The Theory of Everything<. I made it to the gym again today and managed a mile and a half on the treadmill. I hurt AND I DID IT! In with the hurt, that would probably be there no matter what activity is a wee bit of muscle activation that is gooood good and a peaceful tired feeling in them. This helps my brain to focus and I am glad for less fog! I am also reading The Girl With Glass Feet. Making a baked yam now to have with a small steak. I hope that your medical issues end up, in some way, of benefit to you.

    Like

    1. I want to see that movie, Elisa. Did you like it? I know what you mean about the hurt that’s good because it’s from movement.

      Thank you. I like the way you put that about the medical issues being of benefit. It made me stop and think about it, and stop whining long enough to realize there has been a benefit.

      Like

      1. I, today, so far, am not having a good day. Of course then, I did not like reading my words—what crazy person would say such a stupid thing??!! I did really like the movie!!! I also liked Lucy. Let me see…the sun is sunny, the sky is a pale blue with wisps of clouds, I have water and tea to drink..the breathing meds are starting to work, it’s warm in the house–that’s the gratitude that I can muster. Hopefully, more will be revealed!

        Like

  3. Nice to Assateague again. (We visited there over 20 yrs. ago.) That lighthouse is iconic, isn’t it? So nice you got a good day for the beach. I miss that, too!
    I love how sunny your yoga room is! Is that the marsh out there? That’d be a soothing view. When I have my yoga class I always position my mat so I can look out the window & see the trees. 😉 I hope your health improves quickly. Don’t forget to take your probiotics opposite the antibiotics to keep your “good-guy” numbers up! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Eliza. 🙂 I picked up some kefir when I picked up the antibiotics. So far, so good.

      The lighthouse is beautiful, and in amazingly great shape. As for the view from the yoga room, it’s the front “yard” which consists of the lagoon, some marsh, and a big meadow. And some actual yard. Keeping it mowed keeps the snakes at a comfortable distance.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I do like having coffee with you! And your clouds were lovely. I just told someone that if I burn during the year, it usually happens in March! It’s warm, feels good and not that hot so of course it’s alright I don’t have sunscreen on…You were wise. I hope all is well soon. Thanks for the coffee!

    Like

  5. Oh Robin, despite how much I love our coffee talks and seeing your recent photos, I simply cannot be dressed and out of the house for sunrise! Can we make it a little later?

    Like

  6. Looks like we’re tackling similar stuff. I evicted some tenants near the beginning of the year and have been having to do a bunch of repair and cleaning. One of the bigger jobs was tearing out wall-to-wall carpeting in two rooms and replacing it with laminate flooring. Luckily, the carpet wasn’t glued down! 🙂 It’s been a lot of work. Can’t wait to finish up and put the house on the market and be done with it!

    Like

    1. I’m looking forward to finishing up too, Gunta, although in my case, I have to live in the chaos and mess of the renovations. I honestly thought we’d be finished within the first year, but we’re going on two years here and still have quite a bit of work to do.

      Like

    1. I was surprised to see them blooming already, Jane. I saw some daffodils blooming along a hillside on my way to town this morning. That means ours ought to open soon. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Such beautiful pictures!
    Have to admit, a bit jealous of your beach-day. .. I would love to be able to enjoy some time wandering by the water and hanging out around lighthouses — they always seem to spark my imagination!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Alli. 🙂 Lighthouses have that way about them. They spark my imagination, too. I often wonder about the stories they could tell.

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.