Posted in Air, Autumn, Beginnings, Change, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Gifts, Gratitude, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather

Getting ready

Simple
Simple

Expressing gratitude ignites the light within us and is a sure path to joy.  Gratitude is one of the highest vibrations of energy we can create, it’s free, and anyone can give it.  It can be as simple as being thankful for soup, being thankful one can see, walk, wiggle a finger, or tap to a beat.  One can be grateful for happy children, good neighbors, good luck, and simply being alive… Part of the journey toward joy involves not waiting around for trouble, but being continuously aware of our blessings.

~ Charlotte David Kasl

Seagull in flight.  (Processed in Pixlr.)
Seagull in flight. (Processed in Pixlr.)

Happy first day of Autumn!  It feels like autumn here.  There’s a slight chill in the air.  Rain is coming.  Lots of rain.  Unless it somehow misses us, which sometimes happens.  There’s another low spinning its way up the coast, and they’re saying we’ll get up to two inches of rain from it.

A wider view of Saturday's sunset.
A wider view of Friday’s sunset.  (You might recognize the bird from my Silent Sunday post.)

I’ve been busy around the house, getting ready for our company.  They will all be arriving on Thursday.  One couple will be staying here at the ranch, and the other couple will be staying at a Bed & Breakfast nearby.

September 2014K 019a

It will be a fun gathering, and a great way to kick off the new season.

Catching the last of the sun's rays.
Catching the last of the sun’s rays.

I have also been busy mow, mow, mowing the lawn.  It’s a time consuming task.  It’s also great exercise.  I had hoped to leave the mowing another day or two, but that’s not possible with all that rain on the way.

Standing guard
Standing guard

The sunset photos are from the weekend.  M and I went to our new favorite local place, The Hideaway Grill, for dinner and sunset last Friday.  It was a lovely evening to sit outdoors and enjoy the view.

At The Hideaway Grill
At The Hideaway Grill

Well, as much as I’d love to stay all day and chat, I should get back to the mowing and other work.  The to-do list is long, but I’m not worrying about it.  Usually everything somehow manages to get done.

Pink on the water
The sky is painting the water

Thank you for dropping in today.  We’ve had a heavy cloud cover all day so I don’t think we’ll see much at sunset, but you never know.  I’ll keep an eye out, and if it looks good, I’ll meet you on the dock.  Sunset is at 6:58 PM.  You might need a light jacket or sweater.  The temperature is perfect for me (upper 60’s), but some of you might find that a wee bit chilly.

One last look before we leave.
One last look before we leave.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.

Today’s joys:  Cooler temperatures; enough to keep me busy during the day; hearing a friend’s voice on the phone; anticipation; lunch with M.

Marianne over at Miracle Mama is starting her 100 Days of Gratitude today.  You can read about it here and here.  I’ll be joining her.  “Today’s joys” at the end of my posts are a few of things I’m grateful for throughout the day.  Engaging in the challenge will help me focus more on the wonders and gifts of life moment by moment.  Please join us if you can.  No obligations.  Just gratitude.

Author:

Robin is... too many things to list, but here is a start: an artist and writer; a photographer and saunterer; a daughter and sister and granddaughter; a friend, a partner, a wife, a mother, and a grandmother; a gardener, a great and imaginative cook, and the creator of wonderful sandwiches.

18 thoughts on “Getting ready

  1. I tried to comment on this early this morning from my phone but that didn’t work. Anyway, I’m here. I’m enjoying your wisdom and your beautiful photography. I always leave your blog with a sense of peace and calmness. That’s a good thing!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.