Posted in Autumn, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Gifts, Gratitude, Home, Life, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather

20. Gray Monday

Yesterday.  (A composite.)
Through the looking glass. (A composite.)

We are born at a given moment, in a given place and, like vintage years of wine, we have the qualities of the year and of the season of which we are born.

~ Carl Jung

Birthday self-portrait.
Birthday self-portrait.

As you may have already guessed, yesterday was my birthday.  I am now 56 years of age.  Sometimes I wonder how I got here so fast.

Silver ribbon
Silver ribbon against a gold background.

It was a lovely day.  My granddaughters telephoned in the morning to sing “Happy Birthday” which was one of the best gifts I received.  I talked with both of my sons (I almost wrote “children” but they aren’t children anymore).  M treated me like a queen, cooking breakfast, lunch, and dinner for me, and taking care of the usual daily chores except for a few that I didn’t think it was fair to pass on to him since he was already doing so much.

Watching the waves and ripples.
Watching the waves and ripples.

The weather was cold, but sunny.  Having a sunny day was truly a gift.  We are back under cloud cover once again, with rain in the forecast for tonight and tomorrow.  Dreary, dreary, dreary.  But!  By Wednesday the sun will return and stick around for a while.  Maybe that will put an end to the December Drearies.

Silky blue.
Silky blue.

I received a few material gifts.  A CD (Wildewoman) and a LensPen from M.  I told him not to get me anything so it was nice of him to go ahead and get me a couple of small items from my wish list just so I’d have some gifts to unwrap.  Even the wrapping paper he picked was a gift because it had penguins on it, and we all know I like penguins.

M the Younger sent me the book of poems, I Could Pee on This: And Other Poems by Cats.  Hilarious!  But only if you have or have had cats because it takes someone who has lived with a cat to truly get it.

Izzy and Bella, back in the day.  (2007, shortly after they first came to live with us.)
Izzy and Bella, back in the day. (2007, shortly after they first came to live with us.)

Sometimes when I lie on your warm chest
And hear your every happy sigh
I gaze into your two kind eyes
And wonder, “Who is that?”

~ Francesco Marciuliano, from I Could Pee on This and Other Poems by Cats

Sw
Sweet potatoes and red onions, the start of a delicious Sweet Potato, Black Bean, and Chipotle Chili

There was birthday cake too, with plenty of vegetables at lunch and dinner to balance it out.  M made some sweet potato biscuits that are The Best Biscuits in the World.  I’m sure of it.  How am I sure of it?  I don’t like biscuits, and I am generally very critical about them, so these must be the greatest biscuits ever on the whole planet if I like them and want to eat them with every meal.

We still have a bounty of orange vegetables from the CSA even though CSA season is finished for now.  I think we’ll be eating sweet potatoes and winter squashes until spring.

Afternoon tea.
Afternoon tea.

I reckon that’s it from the Wabi Sabi Ranch for today.  Thank you for stopping by.  Did you have a good weekend?  Did you do anything exciting, or not so exciting but worth a mention?  Do tell.  I’d love to hear about it.

Leaves and cones.
Leaves and cones.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Hanging out with the loblollies in the woods on my birthday.
Hanging out with the loblollies in the woods on my birthday.

Today’s joys:  Morning meditation; a pot of tea; mist in the meadows; watching the Great Blue Heron fly in and land in the lagoon; giggles, snorts, and full-out laughter.

Author:

Robin is... too many things to list, but here is a start: an artist and writer; a photographer and saunterer; a daughter and sister and granddaughter; a friend, a partner, a wife, a mother, and a grandmother; a gardener, a great and imaginative cook, and the creator of wonderful sandwiches.

16 thoughts on “20. Gray Monday

  1. I am happy you had a good birthday. Not to put a damper on things, but I have found each year goes faster than the one before, so hold each day tightly and squeeze everything you can out of it.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you had such a good birthday and that it was sunny, just for you! It’s those little things that make our day and I’m glad they made yours!

    Like

  3. Congrats on your birthday. Always remember, she who has the most birthdays lives the longest. —there is a feeling of triumph for you! 🙂 Here’s hoping this is the first of many more happy happy birthdays yet to come!

    Like

  4. It’s great to hear that your birthday was a very enjoyable day, and so sweet of M to spoil you the way he did…..and I’m loving these selfies you have be adding! Is it getting any easier for you to see yourself in photos?…..And to add them to your blog?

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.