Posted in Food, Garden, Home, Life, Love, Mindfulness, Photography, Quotes, Recipes, Souper Sunday, Spirit, Winter

Souper Sunday: Minestrone

Minestrone Soup
Minestrone Soup

Whatever I’m doing, I’m in that moment and I’m doing it.  The rest of the world’s lost.  If I’m cooking some food or making soup, I want it to be lovely.  If not, what’s the point of doing it?

~ Sade Adu

I have to warn you before you continue that if you don’t care for salty language, you will not want to read the recipe for this soup.  It’s been adjusted (censored) somewhat, but there’s no doubt about the words being used.

february-2017c-062a

Now that I’ve got the disclaimer out of the way…  For this week’s soup, I used a recipe from The Thug Kitchen cookbook.  It’s one of my favorite vegan cookbooks because, frankly, the salty language peppered throughout makes me laugh.  I’m childish that way.  The recipes are fantastic, too.  Everything I’ve made from Thug Kitchen has been delicious.

Today I made their Warm The F*ck Up Minestrone.  Normally I would not follow a recipe for minestrone soup.  It is a clean-out-the-fridge type of soup that I intuitively make based on what is available and what needs to be cooked.  However, one of the purposes of this exercise in Sunday soup making is to use the recipes I have on hand.  The Thug Kitchen minestrone is seasoned differently than mine and I have to tell ya, it’s wonderful.  I used fresh rosemary from my garden, and frozen basil from last year’s vegetable garden.  The recipe calls for cabbage or kale.  I had both and they needed to be cooked so in the pot they went.  I also added a sweet potato which is not on the list of ingredients.  It’s minestrone.  There are no rules.

If you’d like to try your hand and soup pot at this recipe, you can find it here.  If you do try it, let me know what you think.