Posted in Beach, Digital Art, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Home, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photo Challenge/Assignment, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Water, Wonder

Bits and pieces of June

Clockwise from top left:  Me (introduce yourself); first thing (a bird at sunrise); natural light (on the creek grasses); half (of two doors); line (of clouds) ; ice cream (or where the ice cream originates).
Clockwise from top left: Me (introduce yourself); first thing (a bird at sunrise); natural light (on the creek grasses); half (of two doors); line (of clouds) ; ice cream (or where the ice cream comes from if it was plastic ice cream, which it’s not, but I think you know what I’m going for here).

On the first of June, Karma invited us to join the #iHeartFaces photo challenge for the month of June.  Thank you, Karma, for another fun project!

Top to bottom, left to right:  Clashing colors (not really, but I don't really understand this one as it seems to me all colors go together well, especially when they clash); small detail (raindrops on a rose); mirror (reflection of clouds on glass); silhouette (of trees at sunset).
Top to bottom, left to right: Clashing colors (not really, but I don’t really understand this one as it seems to me all colors go together well, especially when they clash); small detail (raindrops on a rose); mirror (reflection of clouds on glass); silhouette (of trees at sunset).

I wasn’t quite sure how I would approach this challenge.  I thought of several different ways to go about it, but then decided to keep it simple and follow the list the way a normal person would.  Well, sort of.  You see, I didn’t take the photos in the order listed or, sometimes, on the day listed.  This morning I rushed around filling in some of the gaps.  You might recognize some of the images from previous blogs posts throughout the month.

Empty (chairs); beverage (sign); from above (a shadow on a boardwalk); bubbles; handwriting and reminder combined (a reminder on a white board to buy hooks for the closet).
Empty (chairs); beverage (sign); from above (a shadow on a boardwalk); bubbles; handwriting and reminder combined (a reminder on a white board to buy hooks for the closet).

In June as many as a dozen species may burst their buds on a single day.  No man can heed all of these anniversaries; no man can ignore all of them.

~ Aldo Leopold

Clockwise from top left:  Clouds; hat (on Prince Owlbert's head); flower; in progress (getting ready to paint Bedroom 3); fresh (tomatoes); bokeh.
Clockwise from top left: Clouds; hat (on Prince Owlbert’s head); flower; in progress (getting ready to paint Bedroom 3); fresh (tomatoes); bokeh.

Green was the silence, wet was the light,
the month of June trembled like a butterfly.

~ Pablo Neruda

Water; pajamas; summertime (Black-Eyed Susans dancing in the grasses always mean summertime to me); laugh (did the best I could with this one since no one I know cares to be on the blog, even while laughing).
Water; pajamas; summertime (Black-Eyed Susans dancing in the grasses always mean summertime to me); laugh (did the best I could with this one since no one I know cares to be on the blog, even while laughing).

I wonder what it would be like to live in a world where it was always June.

~ L. M. Montgomery

Teeny-tiny (fungus); grass (by the creek); my weekend (spent painting); hug (dragonfly hugging grass seed head).
Teeny-tiny (fungus); grass (by the creek); my weekend (spent painting); hug (dragonfly hugging grass seed head).

And so ends the photo challenge for the month of June.  You still have until tomorrow if you’d like to join in some way.  Karma is always pretty loosey-goosey with the rules and deadlines for her challenges so if you need more time, let her know.

Today's view from the dock.
Today’s view from the dock.

Thank you so much for stopping by.  I hope you had a good weekend, filled with fun and play and relaxation and whatever you needed most.

I could have used this photo for "fresh" or for "summertime" as it represents both.  We have a bumper crop of black raspberries and they are delicious!
I could have used this photo for “fresh” or for “summertime” as it represents both. We have a bumper crop of black raspberries and they are delicious!

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Author:

Robin is... too many things to list, but here is a start: an artist and writer; a photographer and saunterer; a daughter and sister and granddaughter; a friend, a partner, a wife, a mother, and a grandmother; a gardener, a great and imaginative cook, and the creator of wonderful sandwiches.

19 thoughts on “Bits and pieces of June

  1. Wow Robin – beautiful as always! I love the way you represented each prompt. Kudos to you for getting them all! If I couldn’t think of an interesting subject for one, I skipped it. I think what you did with laugh was super creative. We had a few of the same thoughts for some of the prompts! And thank you for turning me on to PicMonkey – it worked out nicely.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Karma. And thanks for the challenge. It was fun. I’m heading over to see what you did soon. So glad PicMonkey worked out for you. 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you, Mike. 🙂 I can understand that. Even with the simpler programs (Picasa or PicMonkey), collages can be time consuming. This wasn’t too bad, as collage projects go, because I’d put the image I wanted to use in a file as I went along so they were already gathered together. I usually try to do something like that with Karma’s photo hunts/challenges.

      Like

      1. You might want to check out wordpress photo gallery … they have new options for slideshows … they can start out as a collage and enlarge for slideshow viewing (without any work on your part). I just started playing with them this summer and have found them fun for displaying many pictures.

        Like

  2. fantastic imagery Robin, and imaginative too, (good to catch sight of Prince Owlbert) Just imagining myself standing on the dock, taking in a deep breath, and out, and relax!! Lovely!!
    Hope your colds finally ‘done a bunk’ (British for Gone and not before time!!) hugs to you and Happy New Trails. xPenx

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.