Posted in Beginnings, Books, Change, Exploring, Love, Spirit, The Body Beautiful, TLC Book Tour

The Beauty Experiment

The Beauty Experiment

… Along both sides of the escalator were also hundreds of billboard advertisements, many for cosmetics, jeweled watches, designer clothing, spa services, and beauty salons.  Commerce was a big game in Hong Kong, and women’s luxury commerce often seemed to be the biggest game of all.

I let my eyes skip over the ads, feeling them push me toward the usual attitudes of improvement and correction.  This manipulation had never bothered me before, but today it felt aggressive, violent even.  It made me want to crumple and hide, but also hit back.

“I don’t have to play,” I thought.  A years-long frustration took a sudden, surprising, shape.  I could stop.  I try and try, and it never works; I never become beautiful.  So why not give up?  What would happen if I simply stopped buying all those new clothes, new shoes, accessories, and hair products I think I need?  What if I stopped using concealer, enhancer, and wrinkle corrector, and what if I stopped hoping that they would work?  How would I feel then?  How would I look?  Would doing that silence the nasty inner Voice?  Would I start to feel a beauty apart from all the unattainable femaleness around me… or not?

~ Phoebe Hyde Baker, The Beauty Experiment

tlc logo

Back in December, on my birthday in fact, I received an intriguing email from Trish of TLC Book Tours asking if I’d be interested in doing another book review, but not in the usual way.  Instead, those of us willing to do so would participate in our choice of an activity, a little beauty experiment of our own, and write a response to the experience rather than write a typical book review.  This happened to coincide with my own thoughts about the cost of beauty (although I labeled it Vanity when I decided to post about it), and so I picked the first activity on the list:

1.  Identify your major cosmetic crutch and go without it for two weeks, noticing any changes.  I think it takes about two weeks to really start feeling positive results, whereas negative ones start in one week!

If you read my Vanity post, a post written with this book review in mind, you know that I decided to stop having my hair professionally colored so that I could save the money for something I feel passionate about: photography.  I felt ready to upgrade to a “big girl” camera (a DSLR), and realized that the money I spend on my hair in one year would almost buy the camera I had in mind.

I would like to say I have been altruistic , and used the money to help make the world a better place by donating it to charity (although I’m hoping that by making me a better person — a woman in joy with what she does — it will generate good vibes out in the world).  I like the idea of using the money for beauty products on something that will help others, and will probably do so in the future.  If you’re interested in changing the world in this way, you can find out just what those beauty products and procedures could provide by visiting The Price Chart at Baker Hyde’s website.

Phoebe Baker Hyde
Phoebe Baker Hyde

Multi-dimensional hair coloring usually costs over $100 a pop (that’s a conservative estimate based on country rates; you city folks probably pay a lot more).  At-home hair coloring ranges somewhere between $7 and $15 for the color kit.  I was having my hair professionally colored about four times a year, and with tip, the total cost for a year was approximately $500.  My last professional coloring was done in July of 2013, and I was going to have it done again in December when we went back to Ohio for Christmas until I made the decision to save the money for a camera.  About the time I was ready to color my hair on my own at home, The Beauty Experiment email arrived and I realized that coloring my hair had become my major cosmetic crutch, and it was time to see if I could live with my natural color (or colors, as I can see now that there are many).

This experiment requires more long-term investment than a week or two because it takes longer for hair to grow in.  It has been long enough now (my last at-home coloring was in October) that I am just passing through the negative phase.  My inner Voice, the Negative Nelly, has not approved at all of the appearance of whites, grays, and silvers, or even the mixture of browns, reds, and blondes (she’s never satisfied, it seems).  Reading The Beauty Experiment has helped me learn to listen to Ms. Negativity rather than get upset and try to tune her out.  Negative Nelly has the usual fears of aging, of feeling irrelevant in a society that worships youth, and of her own mortality.  She has a few other issues as well, but those are personal and not ready to be discussed out loud (or in writing).

I tell myself that I want to age gracefully and naturally, but the inner Voice seldom agrees and sometimes takes on the voice of a loved one who, a few years ago, asked, “When are you going to color your hair?  The gray makes you look old.”  (No, not M.  Love is blind, don’tcha’ know?  I don’t think he even sees the grays, whites, and silvers unless I point them out.)  The remark came from a young one who hadn’t yet learned the value of tact or age, and he was immediately excused and forgiven due to lack of experience and age.  I am happy to report he knows better than to say something like that now.

Yesterday, while the sun was pouring in through the bathroom window, I stood in front of the mirror and watched as the light played through all the different colors of my hair.  For a moment, it was a beautiful sight.  The silvers sparkle like tinsel, the whites create wonderful highlights, and the grays, browns, and reds are the lowlights.  It was an ah-ha! moment.  All this time I have been paying for multi-dimensional hair color when I already have multi-dimensional hair color!  What an eye-opener!  I’m not sure I would have taken the time to notice if I hadn’t chosen to conduct this little experiment.

Ms. Baker Hyde’s book is described in the press release I received as “an honest exploration of womanhood and femininity.  It’s not a platform for extreme makeover before and after shots, but a journey to reassess what’s important, to find and embrace that elusive inner beauty.”  It is a confessional of sorts, and there are a number of things she brings up that I think a lot of women in this society of ours can relate to.  She hit a nerve with me on a number of occasions as I read the book, and has me rethinking what is important to me, what is not important, and how those things make me feel (or not feel, as sometimes happens).

Will I color my hair again?  And if so, will I have it professionally colored once I’ve completed my obligation not to color it for a year?  I don’t know.  It will take another hair cut or two, now that my hair is short, to experience my hair in its totally natural state.  This experiment has taught me to look at why I want to color my hair, why I buy clothes I’m never satisfied with, and why I am not satisfied with the clothing, my hair, or even myself at times.

Thank you to Trish at TLC Book Tours for inviting me to read the book.  Thank you to Ms. Baker Hyde for the gift of honesty in her words and in her book, and in the questions she’s provoked me to ask myself.  And thank you all for stopping by and reading.  As always, I appreciate your visits, your comments, and your likes.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Note:  This is a debate that I thought would be over long before this time, but it seems questions of beauty, and what makes a woman look and feel beautiful, will be around for a very long time.  If you’d like to continue the conversation, leave a comment and let’s see where it goes.

Related links:

Author:

Robin is... too many things to list, but here is a start: an artist and writer; a photographer and saunterer; a daughter and sister and granddaughter; a friend, a partner, a wife, a mother, and a grandmother; a gardener, a great and imaginative cook, and the creator of wonderful sandwiches.

21 thoughts on “The Beauty Experiment

  1. That’s an interesting idea, to acknowledge negative thoughts rather than always trying to banish them. That’s not really a new idea to me, though it is a new idea in regards to my appearance, which my opinion of seems to be in large part voiced by my own Negative Nelly. I think I’ll try doing that and seeing if I can’t be a bit kinder to myself.

    Thanks for sharing all these thoughts! You’ve given me a lot to think about since I color my hair as well. 🙂 I’m thrilled you were on this tour!

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, Trish. Thanks for inviting me. It was a very interesting experiment, and a great way to be a part of the book I was reading and reviewing. Gave me a lot to think about before I even started reading. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Robin, thanks for taking the time to read the Beauty Experiment, take the challenge, and find something of use for yourself. I recently decided to go for a big-girl camera myself in an effort to witness–in a concrete way– all the beauty around us that we can miss when that inner voice starts carping. Joy, Peace and Health to you in 2014!
    Phoebe Baker Hyde, author of The Beauty Experiment

    Like

      1. Hi Robin and Phoebe,
        Capturing the beauty of life (rather than the masks we think we need to present) is such a gift to the world. Diamond-Cut Life talks about this same sort of shift, to be rich in what matters. We are also doing a book giveaway of The Beauty Experiment! I can practically picture your multi-dimensional hair, Robin and it sounds lovely.
        Ursala at Diamond-Cut Life

        Like

        1. Hi Ursala. 🙂 Thank you for dropping in on the conversation. I’ve just been by your blog, and love it. I think we’re on the same page when it comes to wanting to age gracefully, and be, as you put it, rich in what matters. Thanks again for visiting. I’ll let people know about your giveaway of the book when I post tomorrow.

          Like

  3. There are always those “I could be better if. . .” when looking in a mirror, aren’t there? For me for years it was hair color – that seems to be universal – and the dark shadows under my eyes. Then came chemo – hair has never really come back to be more that thin and fine – and eyebrows are almost non-existent. So I no longer fuss about hair – but eyebrows are an issue. Dark circles are there – but I’ve minimized the use of makeup, going with mineral powders now instead of layered liquid or cream foundation, a few strokes to create eyebrows, a dab of mascara – all-day lipstick. Now I focus on the muffin-top that comes with age and try to convince myself, the tops in haters of exercises, that I really need to do some. Today. Uh huh.

    Like

  4. I don’t know when or how I decided…. but apparently it was at a very young age. I never ever ever got in to makeup. Maybe I thought I was fine as I was (there is NO truth in that statement!). It was likely more realistic, I didn’t know a think about makeup, was too shy to ask, didn’t really care, and am ever so glad I did not ever start. 🙂

    Like

    1. I never got into make-up either, CM. I’ve worn it for a few special occasions (my sons’ weddings), and had someone else apply it for me. Then I freaked out, thinking I looked like a clown. When I was young my father gave me a short speech about make-up that stuck with me, my mother rarely wore make-up (a little lipstick from time to time, but that’s about it), and like you, I never learned how to put it on properly. Hair color, on the other hand, was something I learned about early. I colored my hair for the first time in the 8th grade so I could be a blonde instead of a redhead. It’s funny now that I think about it because when I did start getting my hair colored professionally, my stylist insisted on including reds in the mix and I was almost right back where I started. 🙂

      Like

      1. Hahahahahaha! That silly old hair stylist! I am so glad I never got in to makeup. OR hair coloring. I love the silver high lights in my hair. I love the burst of it against the darkness of my hair. How can I beat that???? 😉

        Like

  5. As you probably already know from our time spent together, I’ve never gone overboard on products, be it makeup or haircare, and lately I’ve been trying to simplify. However, I do have a couple of crutches and if asked flat out to remove them for two weeks, I’d probably squeal and hide. And be ashamed of my squealing and hiding because I always advocate going the natural route. It never occurred to me to listen to the negativity, tune in it to, and see what it told me. Just pondering that has already brought about a mini-epiphany.

    After all, the “truth” that underscores all the marketing that buzzes around the beauty industry is that wherever we are right now, it’s not good enough.

    And now, I’m curious to see your hair in its natural state 🙂

    Like

    1. You look quite beautiful going the natural route, J. Make-up would be too much. As for seeing my hair in its natural state, I thought about putting up before and after pics, but I don’t like plastering my mug on the blog very often (once every 5 years or so, maybe). I’ll wait until you come down for a visit to color it so you can see me all old and gray. 😀

      That is such a sad message we’re given by the advertising industry. I understand the why’s of it (to sell products), but I think it might be a better world if it wasn’t being beamed out to all of us. Perhaps the truth is to stop paying attention to the message that we’re not good enough just as we are.

      Like

  6. I went through my makeup phase in junior high and have been totally out of it for a long time now (since the mid-90s). Same with hair colour– when I had super short hair in high school and university, I would dye it all the time (at home), but since I decided to grow my hair long again (ten years ago– omg!), I’ve been a natural brunette once more.

    However. That doesn’t make me immune to beauty crutches. My big one is eyebrow threading. Since it is basically impossible to thread your own eyebrows (well), I have to get it done at a salon every 3-4 weeks. When I went on a road trip last winter and had to go back to tweezing for 3 months, I was NOT HAPPY ABOUT IT. The whole time, I was trying to remind myself what a silly ‘problem’ this was, but it didn’t make me any more excited about my tweezers. (And don’t even get me started on just ‘growing them out’. It’s not going to happen. Eyebrow maintenance of some sort will be a lifelong crutch, it seems!)

    Like

    1. I have never heard of eyebrow threading, Dana. I looked it up, afraid it might be a beauty crutch I’d take on to replace the hair coloring, but thank goodness, it’s not. I have almost non-existent eyebrows. If I knew how to draw them on without looking ridiculous, I’d probably do it. The author of The Beauty Experiment kept tweezing strays as part of her maintenance during her year of experimenting without a lot of beauty crutches.

      Like

      1. If I had ‘strays’, it might not be so bad. However, my natural eyebrows sort of look like Bert’s from Sesame Street in their unibrow glory. It’s practically a duty to call in the heavy artillery! 😉 (And of course, I married a blond…)

        Like

  7. I’ve just recently started getting my hair done professionally Robin, and feel better for it as my hair tends to be a handful. (More than a handful in actuality, as in I’ve not just got a handful of hair on my head type of thing. 😉 ) and other than powder and a bit of eyeliner I tend to just make do. (I do so hate to see those women in the make-up stores, coloured up to the nines, makes me shiver!!) The older I get , it seems the less bothered I am by others opinions on how I look , I answer to my inner self. ( and if I can afford it too!!) happy trails xPenx

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.