Posted in Air, Beach, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Friends, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Love, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Sky, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Walktober, Water, Weather, Wonder

A walk on the beach

Old friends, exploring the beach.

Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.

~ Anais Nin, The Diary of Anais Nin, Vol. 1: 1931-1934 

Clouds courtesy of Irma.

Some of the very outer bands of clouds from Irma are visiting with us today.  We might see rain from Irma eventually, but it won’t be Irma anymore.  She’ll be part of a trough that is coming through, her rains and winds merged and married to something considered post-tropical.  Irma is still holding together somewhat when you look at the radar, her bands stretched out from Louisiana to North Carolina, and up to Indiana and parts of southern Ohio.  I have a blog friend, who stopped blogging years ago but is regularly seen on Facebook, who lives in Florida, and who did not evacuate to accommodate Irma’s arrival.  She has not checked in yet, and my hope is that the reason behind it is lack of electrical power and/or internet/cellphone service.  Beda, I hope you’re okay.

Gulls in a row, obviously not heeding the signs.

How was your weekend?  Mine was wonderful.  I read something recently — I can’t remember where — that described some occasions as being “deep time,” and I think this weekend would qualify as deep time since it was spent with a dear friend, someone we’ve known for a long time, someone I would describe more as family than friend.  We laughed, we cried, we hugged a lot, and it was, for me at least, a nourishing time.

Waiting for the ferry so we can cross the Wicomico River.  The Whitehaven Ferry is believed to be the oldest continuously operating ferry in the U.S.  There has been a ferry here since 1688.  The large building you see is the Whitehaven Hotel which has been accommodating travelers since 1877.  According to a local legend, Edna Ferber wrote “Showboat” here, having been inspired by stories of the salesmen who traveled on the Wicomico River.

We hung out here on Saturday, the day our friend arrived.  On Sunday, we went out to Roaring Point.  I thought I’d told you all about Roaring Point, but a quick scan through my last few blog posts showed me the error of that thought.  M and I first visited the park over Labor Day weekend.  Perhaps I’ll tell you all about that another time.  Otherwise, this post will become much longer than my usual tomes.  To get to Roaring Point Park, we have to find a place to cross the Wicomico River, and the shortest route to do that is to take the Whitehaven Ferry.

The path to the beach.

Roaring Point Park is a relatively small park that is popular with the locals for fishing, crabbing, and swimming.  The beach is only .8 of a mile long, although I’m wondering if they measured that at high or low tide.  When M and I first visited Roaring Point, the tide was high and we were unable to walk out very far.  In fact, during our first visit, I didn’t realize there were so many tree trunks sitting on the beach because they were covered by the water.

Exposed at low tide.

The lower Nanticoke River and Tangier Sound (which opens out to the Chesapeake Bay) meet at Roaring Point.  Most of the beach is along the lower Nanticoke River.  It’s at the Point itself where you can look out towards Tangier Sound and the bay.

Still connected to the earth.

It was a beautiful morning for a walk on the beach.  There were a few other folks out there, some fishing and some walking their dogs.  Aside from being with people I love, some of the highlights of the walk for me were the tree trunks still hanging in there on the beach, the driftwood, and being able to walk out on the shoal/sandbar.

Shaped by the elements.

I thought some of the tree trunks resembled creatures who had landed on the beach, some walking, some sitting, and some just standing around waiting for the waves to come back in.

Boney legs.

Some of the trees were alive and appeared to be well.  With the erosion that’s going on, I’m not sure how long they will last.

Still standing.

And some of the creatures we encountered were not only alive and well, but scuttling across the beach.

Another beach walker.

After our walk on the beach, we made our way back to the ranch where we watched the Ravens win their (football) game, ate some delicious fish tacos, and spent the evening talking.  Jane left here yesterday after lunch.  It was, as I wrote earlier, a wonderful weekend and, if you’re reading Jane, thanks for coming down this way.  We really enjoyed your company.

Imitating the waves.

Circling back around to weather, we’re now keeping an eye on Hurricane Jose.  He is meandering around south and west of Bermuda, and it seems the weather folks are not quite sure what he’s going to do.  The spaghetti models, as they call them, are all over the place.  Some show Jose making landfall in Canada, some show him hitting the U.S. anywhere from Florida up to New England (one track even takes him clear up to Ohio and Michigan), and others show him turning east and heading back out to sea.  It’s a waiting game, as it always is with hurricanes and weather in general.  Mother Nature still has a few tricks up her sleeves when it comes to fooling us humans.

Walking out to the end of the point on the sandbar.

That’s enough from me on this cloudy and quite warm (in the 80’s) Tuesday.  Thanks for stopping by.  I don’t think it is likely we’ll see much of a sunset this evening but if it looks good, I’ll meet you at the Point.  Sunset is scheduled for 7:17 PM today.  I’ll be there early, as usual, so I can take a little walk along the beach.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂  And start thinking about Walktober if you’re going to participate.  It’s coming up fast.  I’ll be posting details about it soon.

A shared sunset at the Point on Saturday evening.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  276)  Deep and soul-nourishing time with loved ones.  277)  Shared walks and sunsets.  278)  Mother Nature’s artwork.  279)  A rich, delicious ratatouille made with some of the last of summer’s vegetables.  280)  Cooler days and cooler nights allowing us to open up the window and let in the fresh air.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

11 thoughts on “A walk on the beach

  1. Times to savor, for sure. The tree studded beach had me wondering if that is a new or old thing. I always wonder how much of our human activity is accountable. I loved that old hotel, not many of them around any more. Ferrying since 1688, wow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love it too, Eliza. I hope to get inside and explore soon. I wonder that, too. There are parts of the beach that are studded with tree roots. They looking like miniature forests. My attempts to capture that look were not successful. I think you have to be there to see it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you had such a nourishing time with your friend!
    Didn’t you almost get stuck on a beach once? Such wonderful photos–I liked that bony-kneed creature, and I laughed at the gulls with the sign. 🙂 It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend, Robin.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. At least multiple good times here – your time with your friend, your beach walk, and your words and photos that took us along. Unbelievably, I saw the creature in the stump with the roots – definitely a stump crab. Hoping for the best with your friend in Florida.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I had a WONDERFUL time. In addition to special times together this weekend, Robin is a phenomenal cook and we ate REALLY well! So grateful to be a part of the “family”. At my husband’s memorial service last year, M declared him to be the “brother I chose.” Love you both!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

