Posted in Change, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Health & Well-Being, Home, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Weather

A Wednesday ramble

Inner workings.

The same stream of life that runs through my veins night and day runs through the world and dances in rhythmic measures. It is the same life that shoots in joy through the dust of the earth in numberless blades of grass and breaks into tumultuous waves of leaves and flowers.

~ Rabindranath Tagore

Partridge Peas.

Storms moved through just after midnight last night.  The lightning was impressive, a disco strobe light effect dancing across the sky and landscape.  The thunder was equally impressive with its accompanying chorus of rumbling, cracking, crackling, booming, crashing, and rolling.  Wind and rain lashed at the house, and sleep was hard to come by with all the ruckus going on outside.

Another doe and her fawn.  These two come around when it is nearly dark, making it difficult to get a good photo of them.

This is the time of year when we really need to keep an eye on the weather.  Hurricane Irma, currently being described by the National Hurricane Center as a “potentially catastrophic category 5 hurricane,” is churning around in the Atlantic.  Tropical storms Jose and Katia are whirling around out there, too.  Jose is slated to achieve hurricane status soon.  Katia is highly unlikely to have an effect on us here on the Eastern Shore.  It remains to be seen what will happen with Irma and Jose.

Looking around at dusk.

I have friends in Florida who are currently planning to ride out the storm.  I honestly don’t know how people can do it.  I don’t have the courage to do such a thing.  I saw an interview with a man from Port Arthur, Texas, who described Harvey as “three hours of hell, followed by an hour of calm, followed by three hours of hell.”  I would imagine that those six hours of hell felt a lot longer than six hours.

First sunrise of September 2017.

On the other hand, there is the issue of pets.  Abandoning them during a storm must be a heart-wrenching decision.  M and I have been talking about what we will do with Izzy and Bella, our furry family members (cats), if we should decide to evacuate.  They were so traumatized by the move from Ohio to Maryland that I am not sure they would respond well to even a temporary change of shelter.  Izzy, especially, would not take it well.  She stopped eating and drinking when we moved here, and it took a lot of enticing to keep her from committing slow suicide.  Bella’s response to the move was delayed, but she eventually weirded out on us, too.

The twins in the early morning.

Another decision, non-weather related, we have to make is about the meadows and the conservation agreement we have that covers those areas of the property.  It is up for renewal this year and the U.S. department that handles such things has changed the rules a bit.  We’re now being asked to do more extensive work on the meadows, essentially clearing them and replanting with grasses.  I think  large grass-filled meadows are beautiful, but I’m not sure it will work here.  Their reasoning is that this will create a buffer to help keep the Chesapeake Bay cleaner.  Grasslands also provide good habitats for some of the critters that either live here year-round or temporarily.  M and I will have to decide what we wish to do with the area, and we’ve only been given a week to make that decision.  We could agree to do all the work and renew the contract, or we might look into letting it turn into forest.  The trees, you see, are the problem.  If we wish to renew the contract, all woody plants (trees and myrtles) would have to go.  Even after mowing the meadows bare, the trees insist on coming back.  The sweet gum trees, in particular, are prolific.  So are the loblolly pines and myrtles.  If we allowed Mother Nature to take over, it would be a forest in no time.

The goldenrod is blooming in the meadows.

If I happened to be a religious person, the kind who believed in the End Times, I might well wonder if that’s where we are now.  Between the fires in the western U.S. and the hurricanes in the south, ICBM’s with nuclear warheads being bandied about as a form of saber rattling, and a man who seems well suited to play the role of the Antichrist sitting in the highest seat in this land, it sure does seem like things might either be going to hell or getting ready to call it quits.  I read a horoscope the other day — a generalized one not directed towards any particular sign — that mentioned the negativity in the news with a reminder that this is not our reality.  Well, I thought, whose reality is it?  And why am I living in it?

Cascading Queen Anne’s Lace.

Just like with a hurricane, I am sheltering in place lately.  Hunkering down, remembering what is important, and placing my energy there.  I’ve been writing some variation on this theme almost every week since the last election, and nothing has really changed.  I am, like many people, struggling with balance.  I may be wrong but it appears to me that there is too much information in the world, and much of it is skewed towards the negative.  That is not a new observation, either.

Even in the shadows, there is beauty.

After the Women’s March in January of this year, they had A Day Without A Woman (on March 8th which is International Women’s Day).  What I would like to see is A Day Without the Internet, a time in which everyone throughout the world shut off all of their devices and found something else to do, something uplifting, positive, helpful.  It doesn’t have to be a grand gesture.  It could be something as simple as a positive, uplifting, and helpful day of self-care for those who already give of themselves.  Maybe after that, we’d all take a day each month, or perhaps each week, to unplug.  Instead of using social media, we’d actually talk with each other, or write letters or cards of thanks for friendship, for love, for support, to say hello, or create something beautiful, or start a movement geared towards peace, or read a book, listen to music, dance, sing, learn a new language, visit a museum, or get outside and see how amazing and wondrous nature can be.

Green glow. I am not sure what these are. They grow near the ditches that run the lengths of the meadows. They are quite tall and bushy.

That is my dream of the moment.  What is yours?

Diversity.

In other news…  A dear friend is coming to visit this weekend.  I am very much looking forward to spending time with her.  As of this writing, the weather is looking good.  We have storms moving through later this evening that will usher in some cool and dry air so it should be quite pleasant.  Hopefully the weekend won’t be overshadowed by Irma and decisions about whether to stay or go.

Wheat in the meadow.

That’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch and from me on this crazy-weather Wednesday.  Thank you so much for visiting and rambling around the ranch with me.  As you might have noticed, signs of autumn are showing up here and there and just about everywhere.  I don’t think we’ll see much of a sunset this evening (because of the storms), but in case it looks like we’ll get a peek at it, I’ll meet you at the Point.  Sunset is scheduled for 7:27 PM.  I’ll be there early, as usual, unless (of course) it’s storming already.  Even so, I might show up just to watch the waves.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂  And for my friends in Florida — please stay safe.

Last night’s moon.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  271)  It is deer central around here, and I’m enjoying watching the antics of the young ones as they chase rabbits and scare themselves silly when they almost run into a bush or a clump of grass.  272)  Morning dew shimmering in the early morning sunlight.  273)  A walk in the woods early this morning.  274)  The sound of woodpeckers knocking on the trees.  275)  The tree (a dead loblolly pine) that fell down in the woods during last night’s storm did not fall on the dock, but on the path.

The family that plays together.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

22 thoughts on “A Wednesday ramble

  1. I confess to wondering if there’s a message in the disasters that seem to be striking every which way this year. We’re in the path of the smoke from many of the wildfires in the northwest, desperate for moisture, and the south is drowning. Not to mention the disaster of our political scene – whoops! I just did mention it, didn’t I? Feels a lot like we’re not on a list of favorites.
    On a lighter note, I love your deer!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wonder that, too, Carol. I think, sometimes, that Mother Nature is telling us to straighten up and fly right soon because if she takes matters into her own hands, we might not survive it. As for the political scene, I’m ignoring it at the moment. I know I can’t do that forever, but breaks are a must if I want to get through this mentally and physically healthy. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Peaceful as always. Even your times of uneasiness was calm. Irma is bothersome …. suggest to your friends they get out of there! If it turns to go up Florida as predicting now, who knows (at this point) the direction it will go. Bottom line – it will go whatever way it wants.

    Stay calm …. and I’m thinking about Walktober! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t that the truth, Frank? Hurricanes have a will of their own and it’s best not to be in their way. Unfortunately, my friends stayed. Have not heard from one of them yet. I hope she’s okay.
      Thank you for the reminder about Walktober. It might have gotten lost in the shuffle this year which would be a darn shame because I love the Walktober event. I’ll be getting details out soon but as you know, you can make up your own rules to play along. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So much to think about here, Robin.
    My husband’s aunt and uncle live outside of Houston. They had to evacuate, but were fortunate that friends sheltered them and their house was not flooded–they’re back there now. I have family and friends in Florida. And then there’s the DACA decision. So many awful things–but the deer family frolicking! That is the image I’m going to think of.
    Oh–good luck with whatever you decide about the meadow. I’m not certain I quite understand.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Merril. 🙂 So glad to hear your husband’s aunt and uncle had no more trouble with Harvey other than the inconvenience of evacuating. Of all the terrible things coming out of Washington, I think the DACA decision is one of the worst.
      I’m not sure I quite understand about the meadow, either. lol! The government has odd ways of seeing things and going about them, and this conservation agreement is as confusing as they want it to be. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Again, you echo most of my thinking these days. All I can control is my own vibe, so I work on that.
    Those fawns are looking well fed, lots to glean in the forest and meadows, I expect.
    I’m wondering what the original land cover was in your area 300 years ago? Is that what they are trying to aim for? I expect there are many non-natives that have naturalized there. Our area has a lot of honeysuckle, knotweed, bittersweet and multiflora rose, as well as privet and buckthorn. Pretty impossible to control once they naturalize. Can you just brush hog the meadow annually or do you have to root out everything? Around here, we brush hog – elimination is a Sisyphean task. One has to trust that nature is in control and while we’ve messed things up, she’ll adjust the balance, however ugly that ultimately may be for us as a species.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know what the original land cover was here, Eliza, but I think it was forest and wetlands from what I’ve read. I know that the cypress swamps once went as far north as parts of southern Delaware. I need to sit down and do some research someday. A quick search doesn’t turn up much about the immediate area.
      We did brush hog the meadows, but apparently they want them sprayed to eliminate the woody growth (trees and shrubs) which came back with a vengeance after we brush hogged. Therein lies my dilemma as I hate the idea of using herbicides. Unfortunately, they are not giving us any other option if we want to continue under the conservation agreement (which, essentially, pays our property taxes). We are looking into forest management as an alternative. It might end up being moot since the local Dept. of Agriculture folks are lazy about getting back to us and a decision has to be made this week. They might be delaying as a way to get us off the conservation agreement. Who knows?

      Like

        1. I don’t get it either, Eliza, and spraying shouldn’t be an option here since the meadows are surrounded on at least one or two sides by wetlands/marshes. They changed the rules on us when it came up for renewal. Part of me thinks they don’t want to renew the contract. I’m not sure we will, but we’re still weighing our options and waiting for the forest management guy to come out and give us an idea of what we have to do to put the land in that program.

          Like

            1. The local folks say it’s federal (USDA). I’m always suspicious, too. Maybe a little too suspicious as I wonder if it’s something that has changed with the new administration.

              Like

  5. Love the deer in morning…with their little heads together. I wish you well with the storm. It’s truly frightening. I have many friends in FL, at least one family is going to our lake house to be safe, if the tracking of the storm is accurate. Perhaps another person and his two dogs will go there as well. I have so many more people I care about there, I hope they are all getting out. I’m having a hard time watching the news. It seems the world is turning upside down.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope all of your family remained safe and sound throughout Irma, Dawn. I agree with you about the world turning upside down. I suppose that’s the way of things — swinging back and forth.

      Like

  6. I like the idea of a day without internet, or better yet, a week without internet. It would be hard but then at least we would be forced to spend our time in real interactions. I agree with your worries about the negativity in the world. It’s a scary place right now, but we’ve had a lot of scary things happening throughout the world our whole lives. I guess the worst part now is that the dangers seem to be lurking within our borders; maybe we’ve all felt a bit insulated in the past. Good luck making your decision about your meadows. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

