Posted in Air, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Wonder

August light

A sunrise.

Today is your big moment. Moments, really. The life you’ve been waiting for is happening all around you. The scene unfolding right outside your window is worth more than the most beautiful painting, and the crackers and peanut butter that you’re having for lunch on the coffee table are as profound, in their own way, as the Last Supper. This is it. This is life in all its glory, swirling and unfolding around us, disguised as pedantic, pedestrian non-events. But pull off the mask and you will find your life, waiting to be made, chosen, woven, crafted.

~ Shauna Niequist

Sky spirits dancing in the blue of morning.

I don’t know where to start, what to write.  In this time of “lock and load,” what should the focus of a blog post be?  Other subjects that have become part of the usual news continue to float by via television, radio, email alerts, and social media.  Healthcare, net neutrality, the latest tweets, under-the-radar cuts in funding to programs that help prevent teen pregnancies, immigration, the drug crisis that we’re overlooking (one in eight Americans are alcoholics) as well as the one everyone is talking about (opiates), climate change, and a hundred or more other things.  On a local level, they’ve repaired Salisbury University’s carillon bells, lots of local folks donated to Rising Tide’s school supply drive, a Blue Zones Project could be coming to our area, and today is the final day of the White Marlin Open in Ocean City.  Life goes on, doesn’t it?

Fading tracks.

Outside, the sky is blue.  Clouds drift by on the horizon.  Trees sway in the wind.  Rabbits have taken over the ranch, reproducing like mad this year.  At dawn and dusk you’ll spot as many as 20-30 rabbits across the front lawn and driveway.  Little Doe and her twins usually visit in the mid-morning hours, and sometimes again just at or after sunset.  We saw our first possum the other night.  I hope s/he was eating a lot of ticks while out and about and exploring our front lawn.

Dew drops and pink blush.

The new hydrangea we planted in the spring is blooming, the flowers going from white to pink.  The zinnias are hardy and numerous.  The sunflowers never did come up.  Or if they did, someone (a bunny, most likely) ate them.  The knock-out roses recovered from the beetle invasion.  They are thriving and blooming, and being visited on occasion by hummingbirds.  That reminds me that I need to make more food for the hummingbird feeders.  The recipe is one part sugar to four parts water.  No dyes.  Just sugar and water.

A slight blush.

Inside, the computer mouse is driving me a little crazy lately with its clicking frenzy (acting as if I double and triple clicked on things).  I’ll replace it soon.  I should be working on a photo book to organize and save some of my photos.  That was the plan for this afternoon, and the coupon for the book expires at midnight tonight.  I’m procrastinating, wondering if it is worth the bother.  Will anyone in the family want the pictures/book?

On a semi-related note, I have been sorting through photographs (prints) I picked up from my father, photos he decided to get rid of when he moved a few months ago.  A lot of them are photos taken while on cruises with my mother, and I am reminded of when we went through photos and assorted other things that belonged to my mother-in-law when she was moved to a nursing home and after she died.  So many photos ended up in a box in the attic.  What do I do with the photos my father gave me, the photos my mother saved?  It doesn’t seem right to throw them away.  It doesn’t seem right to keep them in the attic where someday my own children might discover them and have to decide what to do with them.  Passing on the decision with the photographs might be an unfair thing to do.

August Light, a self-portrait.

I have been thinking a lot about death lately.  Not because of anything in the news, mind you.  Two friends are in the midst of possibly losing their mothers (cancer) and it’s brought back feelings about my own mother’s death.  Renewed the mourning, perhaps, although not with the strength of when it was recent.  I wonder, sometimes, what our conversations might have been like if we’d been able to have conversations during her final days.  She was kept sedated (unconscious) during her last days because of the pain.  I still talk to her from time to time.  And sometimes, in my heart, I hear her responses.  Still, it would have been nice to be able to say a few I love yous and goodbyes.  We had good conversations before Mom reached that stage and I love yous were said, so maybe I’m being greedy in the wanting of more of them.

Say hello to the twins.

M and I have been talking about our own deaths although not death itself.  We need to redo our wills.  We did them so long ago and far away, when our youngest son would have needed a guardian.  At the age of 32, he’s well past that need now (some might argue with that…lol!).  A lot has changed since then.

We’re thinking of naming the twins. This one has a lighter nose than the other.

Also inside, my healthier lifestyle is going well.  I’ve improved some numbers and will have to wait a while to see what’s going on with the rest.  Physically, I’m feeling better than I have in a long time.  It must be all the summer fruits and vegetables I’ve been eating.  The yoga, meditation, and exercise are contributors to that feeling of well-being, too.  I’m on the last day of a fast-mimicking diet.  I read this great article about intermittent fasting and decided to give it a try.  This was a test run.  It’s something I’d like to do during the change of seasons, perhaps.  The fast-mimicking diet is easier than full out fasting, and may be the best way for me to go about it.

Mom (Little Doe) with one of the twins after they spotted me with the camera.

I think that’s about it from me and from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this lovely Friday.  They say we might have thunderstorms this evening.  The clouds have been thickening throughout the afternoon.  We might still see a good sunset.  Let’s meet at the Point to find out.  Sunset this evening is at 8:01 PM.  I’ll be there early, as usual, just to see what’s going on.  Even if it’s too cloudy for a sunset, it will be nice to visit the beach.

A little frolicking.

Thank you for stopping by.  Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

In the passing lane.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  246)  Buttermint tea.  I just discovered it at the store the other day.  It’s a mint and vanilla tea, and there is something buttery about it (no, there is no butter in it).  247)  The incredible magic and beauty of the ordinary.  248)  A desire to pick up the camera again.  I’d lost it for a while.  249)  Fully present most of the time, which might be the same as saying/writing “fully alive.”  250)  Fog stretched out across the meadows in the early morning hours.  It’s one of those subtle and early signs of a waning summer.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

9 thoughts on “August light

  1. Loved the quote, so right on.
    Cute twins, one has its mama’s nose. 🙂
    I’ve noticed the subtle shift in the season, sliding towards autumn. Inevitable! But for now, the hummingbirds chase each other, squeaking noisily, and the flowers delight us both.

    Like

  2. First off, yes your family would like a photo book of your times together this summer. I have done a few, and noticed them out on coffee tables when I visit. Maybe they are put there just for me but I doubt it. It’s an easy way to flip back through the memories.

    Second…at least you HAVE a will. We haven’t done one at all and we need to, even though we don’t have kids, we have stuff and we need to figure out what to do with the stuff, mostly the money stuff. Who gets what. And there’s Katie…what happens to her if something happens to both of us? I need to at least TALK to my family about who would be willing to take her. If none, then there are any number of friends here who would likely give her a good home. (Maybe one where she gets more treats than she gets around here she says.)

    Third…hmmm…I forgot what third was going to be. But it might have been that I’m glad your numbers are going in the right direction. And I’m going to go check out that fast mimic thing.

    Like

  3. Yes, life goes on and dying too. I too have been thinking about death – the stuff that has to be done when someone dies and how we typically leave that to the family to deal with because, well, we either think we are immortal or don’t want to admit it will happen to us too. I’m okay with dying, I always have been, well since about age four and a near death experience. I’ve been slowly but surely culling all the excess stuff around me, so my kids don’t have to do too much of that. And I’ve often thought I must organise my own departure ceremony, but never quite gotten around to doing it…. it’s that immortality thing I think. 🙂 I don’t want my family and friends to have to organise disposing of my body or choosing who, what, how, where for the send off, when all they want to do is sit around and reminisce or howl – or both. So I must get on and get it prepared, because one day it will be needed. Thanks for the push Robin 🙂
    PS Well done on the improved health and well-being. One of my daughters practises intermittent fasting, it works well for her.

    Like

  4. I am glad to hear you’re feeling better, as I try to get myself out of my couch potato rut. We’ve had electrical storms the last few evenings – not a good thing given the abundance of overly dry grasses and scrub. Last night’s storms brought a very strong scent with them, which I associate with electricity.

    Like

  5. So much here, again, Robin. 🙂 Yeah–lock and load. Every day wondering if the war is coming.
    But yes, meanwhile, life goes on, the mundane and the extraordinary, which together make up our worlds.
    Your photos are splendid–that sky! Those deer twins! Glorious!

    Like

  6. As I sit and read this, I feel a reconnection to nature and it’s rhythm. The week’s bombast and the weekend’s activities in my former home, in Charlottesville, have made me weary. Thank you for the beauty and reflections that you offered here, Robin.

    Like

  7. Love the seeming contrast between your words and these adorable images but there is the subtle rush of time beneath it all – as Dylan says “Time is a jet plane, it moves too fast”. Good luck with the mini fasting and living well

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

