Posted in Air, Beach, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Health & Well-Being, Home, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Wonder

A weekend stroll

On the beach at the Point.

It is only when people begin to shake loose from their preconceptions, from the ideas that have dominated them, that we begin to receive a sense of opening, a sense of vision…That is the sort of time we live in now.  We…live in an epoch in which the solid ground of our preconceived ideas shakes daily under our uncertain feet.

~ Barbara Ward

Radiance.

Happy Sunday!  I hope your weekend has been going well.  I am not going to join the Weekend Coffee Share this week because it doesn’t seem right to join the link-up and then not follow through with visits to the other bloggers who join in.  Things are ripening in the garden and in the local farm fields, and that means it’s the beginning of harvest season.  Harvest season means I don’t have a lot of time to blog and visit other blogs because I’m busy prepping and preserving said harvest.

Pausing for a moment.

Sundays, as you might recall, are now my day of rest.  Unfortunately, the ripening tomatoes and peppers are not familiar with the idea of taking a sabbath so the best I can do is take the occasional short pause today in between the prepping and preserving of vegetables.  I used some of those pauses to get outside since the heatwave finally broke and the weather this morning was gorgeous and much, much cooler.  Boy, did we get some rain on Friday and Saturday!  About 4.25 inches of rain.

Lightning strikes the loblolly.  (Classic vertical stripping.)

The rain storms we’ve had lately have been accompanied by a lot of lightning, some of which struck a few of the loblolly pines in the cemetery.  I had the long lens on the camera this morning and was unable to get a good picture of the gouges that go all the way up (and down) the trees.  Four of our biggest (and tallest) loblollies were struck.

The stripping is not in focus, but you can see it coming down the tree. Vertical stripping can occur in a straight line or, as was the case with this tree, it can curve around the trunk.

I heard and felt the nearby strikes.  In fact, at first I thought the house had been hit since the loud boom of the thunder occurred at pretty much the same time as the incredible flash of lightning, and the whole house was a’shakin’ and a’rattlin’.  Luckily for the house and for us, it was not.  It wasn’t until this morning that I was able to get out and have a look at the trees.  I was looking for downed trees (usually a lot of rain will oversaturate the ground and cause some trees to tip over).  I’ve never seen vertical stripping before, and always assumed that if a tree was struck by lightning, it would blow apart.  After a few minutes on the internet, I learned that’s not the case.  Blowing apart can (and does happen), but there are times when the lightning causes vertical stripping and times when the damage is internal and you won’t know it was struck by lightning until the tree dies.

A closer look.

Trees that are struck by lightning are, naturally, stressed after the event.  It can take up to six months to determine if the tree will survive the strike.  The recommendation is to keep them well watered and fertilized in hopes that it will help bring them back from the stress of the strike.  On the plus side right now, summer is waning (even if we do have at least two more months of it) and this is the time of year the rain returns after the dryness of June and July.  Hopefully Mother Nature will keep the trees well watered and not too stressed out.

Fishing. Or crabbing? I can’t tell what he managed to grab.

I walked out to the dock while I was meandering this morning.  The tide was high and the laughing gulls were gliding in to check for breakfast.  I caught one as he or she caught something.  I can’t tell what it is.  A crab maybe.

Taking his/her catch for a ride.

It’s the first time in a while I’ve spent any time in the woods or on the dock.  The cooler temps and the breeze kept the bugs away, and it was nice to ramble on the Woodland Trail once again.

Food prep (washing it off) and ingestion.

Today is Day 28 of my Healthy Living Journey (for lack of a better title for it).  I’ve stalled a bit on the yoga and exercise front due to an injury to my right shoulder and arm.  I could blame it on the yoga but honestly, I had this tiny voice in my head whispering, “Are you sure you want to do that?” when I attempted something I shouldn’t have attempted.  It’s not a bad injury.  Two days of rest and I’m almost as good as new.  Or as good as I used to be (which some might consider old rather than new).

Take off!

Well, it’s about time I get back to chopping up peppers.  I got a great deal on a 1/2 bushel of peppers from a local farmer.  I don’t know if you’ve seen a half bushel of peppers, but it’s quite a few.  I chop them up and freeze them so we have plenty of peppers for soups, stews, and stir-fries throughout the winter months.

Looking for more food. (The gull’s head is turned to the side so s/he can look at the water.)

Thank you so much for stopping by.  I’m thinking about going to the Point for sunset this evening.  Join me on the beach if  you like.  Sunset is scheduled for 8:14 PM.  I’ll be there early so I can enjoy the beach and this lovely weather for a little while.

Heading off to do more fishing.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

A Red-spotted Purple in a wild cherry tree.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  236)  The remarkable way the body heals when given the chance.  237)  This amazing day!  238)  Red-spotted Purples.  I saw quite a few of them out and about this morning.  239)  Wild cherry trees.  240)  Seeing the moon come up behind the pond while I was outside doing some chores this afternoon.

One more image — because these were glorious this morning.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

9 thoughts on “A weekend stroll

    1. Hi, Elisa. 🙂 I chop them up, put them on a baking sheet in a single layer (not too crowded), and put them in the freezer for about 40 minutes to an hour. When they are well on their way to being frozen, I put them in a freezer bag. They don’t get mushy if they are frozen in a single layer, and I can fill a quart sized bag full if I’ve pre-frozen them on the baking sheet before crowding them into a bag. (Does that make sense? Sounds confusing to me. lol!) No blanching required for chopped or sliced peppers (I do it the same way for chopped and sliced peppers).

      Like

  1. I’ve enjoyed our cool respite from summer temps, too. I’d read that your area had a lot of rain and flooding, the lightning must have been scary. How were the kitties? My dog would have hid in the closet. Hope your trees recover. We had an exploding tree once in the woods – I was glad I was nowhere near it, as it would have killed anything the pieces hit as they flew.
    Our food preserving time is just a few weeks away, can’t wait for the tomatoes!

    Like

  2. You got some fabulous shots in here, Robin. I love those photos of the gull. We were supposed to get the storms you got, but thankfully we did not–just some rain Friday and Saturday morning. Then it was beautiful here Saturday night and Sunday. I hope your trees are OK.
    Good luck with the harvesting and preserving!

    Like

  3. Really enjoyed your blog today AND really enjoying this weather. So great to see you guys Thursday. Thanks again for lunch! ❤

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

