Posted in A bit of history, Assateague Island, Beach, Chincoteague, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Friends, Gifts, Health & Well-Being, Life, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Play, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, WeekendCoffeeShare, Wonder

If we were having coffee: Heatwave

Little Doe (who is not so little anymore) with her two fawns.

“What do you call yourself?” the Fawn said at last. Such a soft sweet voice it had!
“I wish I knew!” thought poor Alice. She answered, rather sadly, “Nothing, just now.”
“Think again,” it said: “that won’t do.”
Alice thought, but nothing came of it. “Please, would you tell me what you call yourself?” she said timidly, “I think that might help a little.”
“I’ll tell you, if you’ll come a little further on,” the Fawn said. “I can’t remember here.”
So they walked on together through the wood, Alice with her arms clasped lovingly round the soft neck of the Fawn, till they came out into another open field, and here the Fawn gave a sudden bound into the air, and shook itself free from Alice’s arms. “I’m a Fawn!” it cried out in a voice of delight. “And dear me, you’re a human child!” A sudden look of alarm came into its beautiful brown eyes, and in another moment it had darted away at full speed.”

~ Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

Looking around.

If we were having coffee, I would be delighted to see you again.  Welcome back to the Wabi-Sabi Ranch!  Hugs if you’re amenable to them.  Come on in out of the heat.  It’s awful out there, isn’t it?  Bleh!!  The current heat index is 119°F.  The weather prognosticators claim there is a cool front coming on Monday or Tuesday, and we’ll cool off a bit then.  Not much.  Mid to upper 80’s instead of the mid to upper 90’s.

Let’s have a seat in the living room today.  It’s shady and, between the air conditioning and the ceiling fan, it’s the coolest place to be right now.  Even the pool isn’t all that refreshing today.  More like a hot tub than a place to cool off.  As for beverages, we have the usual assortments of coffee, teas, and sparkling water.  There might also be some mint-infused water in the fridge.  I’ll have to look.  (And make a note to myself to make some more mint- or fruit-infused water later on.)  If you’re feeling peckish, we have guacamole, hummus, tortilla chips, and pita.  There are also peaches.  Lots of freshly picked, juicy, delicious peaches.  They are soooo good this year!  Oh, and there’s peach cobbler!  I almost forgot about that.  M made it this morning.

Still life with peaches.  (Edited to give it a painting-like effect.)

How are you?  What have you been up to lately?  I apologize for not keeping up with you.  It’s been a busy week.  I’ll tell you all about it in a bit.  In the meantime, have you traveled anywhere or seen any new sights?  Have you taken any good walks or hikes?  How’s the weather in your neck of the woods?  Are you experiencing this extreme heat, too?  Have you read any good books or seen any good films?

One of the fawns wondering if Crow would like to be friends.

I am still reading (and almost finished with) All Our Waves Are Water: Stumbling Toward Enlightenment and the Perfect Ride.  My review of the book will be posted on July 27th so I’ll tell you all about it then.  As for films, M and I watched Kingsman: The Secret Service earlier in the week.  Last night we watched Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children.  Both films were entertaining, but I enjoyed Kingsman more in spite of the violence.  Tonight we’ll be watching Hidden Figures.  I’m looking forward to it.

Apparently not.

If we were having coffee, tea, or something else to drink, I would tell you that my niece was here for a visit this week.  She arrived on Monday and left on Friday.  It was a lovely visit, and she helped us out with a chore that needed doing.  We had some wood chopped and drying in the cemetery area, and K moved it to the wood pile for us.  Even though it is summer, we are thinking ahead to winter and getting ready to fuel the wood stove.  It’s too bad there isn’t some way to bottle this heatwave and save it for when the weather turns cold.

Fish Cleanin’

While K was here we went on a boat tour of Assateague Island which was wonderful.  It was hot that day, but the breeze was coming off the water.  The ocean water is still a little chilly, and that helped bring the temperature down into the mid-80’s (rather than the mid-90’s we were experiencing at home).  We decided to go with MR Ducks Assateague Adventure tour, something we hope to do with our grandchildren someday.  The Duckaneer Pirate Ship looks like a lot of fun, too.  Maybe we’ll do that next time.

Past the fishing boats in the West Ocean City Harbor.

The tour took us through the Ocean City inlet, past the fishing boats and the West Ocean City Harbor, and over to the bay side of Assateague Island where we pulled up on the beach to walk around for a little while.  The southern most tip of the island is the only place where boats are allowed to pull up on the beach.  Quite a few people were taking advantage of that, with their boats anchored on the beach while they were swimming in the water.

Traveling in the bay along the southernmost portion of Assateague Island.

Ocean City, we were told on the tour, wasn’t much back in the old days.  The Native Americans might have disagreed with that statement, but who knows?  History has it recorded that the land where Ocean City now resides was obtained by an Englishman, Thomas Fenwick, from the Native Americans as a land grant from Lord Baltimore.  Whether the Native Americans approved of that land grant or not, I don’t know.  The land had been used for centuries by the Algonquian tribes in the area before Fenwick acquired it.  Wikipedia states that prior to 1870, the area that is now Ocean City was known as “The Ladies Resort to the Ocean.”

Dunes.

If we were having coffee, I would not bother you with too much more of Ocean City’s history.  I don’t want to bore you to tears.  If you really want to know, I’m sure you can find plenty of information online.  I will tell you, though, that in 1933 there was a major hurricane (they didn’t have names back in those days) that created the inlet between Assateague Island and Ocean City.  That same storm brought down the railroad bridge that went across the Sinepuxent Bay to the island.  In an effort to save the bridge, the local folks thought it might help if they weighed it down with two train cars.  Well, it didn’t.  The bridge and the cars are now under water in the inlet and marked with buoys.

The Army Corps of Engineers, by the way, decided to take advantage of the hurricane’s creation of the inlet and make it permanent.  This offered easier access to the fishing grounds in the Atlantic Ocean off of Ocean City, Maryland.

Gulls in flight.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that while K was here we also spent a lot of time chatting, swimming around in the pool to cool off (it’s been hot all week), kayaking, riding our bicycles, cooking and eating healthy, delicious food, and we took a trip down to Chincoteague where we swam in the ocean, had a picnic dinner of sandwiches from the Sea Star Cafe (they make some great vegetarian and vegan sandwiches!), and stopped off at the Island Creamery for some ice cream (because you can’t visit Chincoteague as a tourist and NOT have ice cream at Island Creamery).

An osprey landing in the water.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that my 365 challenge has been going well.  It’s day 20.  I haven’t yet completely eliminated dairy from my diet, but there are days I have none at all and on the days that I do, I usually limit it.  The one-scoop ice cream cone at Island Creamery was an exception rather than the rule.  Life is too short not to have the occasional exception, don’t you think?

I’ve lost 7 lbs. and other numbers are also on their way down.  I am in the midst of a 30-day yoga challenge that has been, well, challenging me.  I’ve been doing Kundalini yoga for a while, and it was time to add back in something a little more athletic (not sure that’s the word I truly want, but it will do).  A friend turned me on to Kino‘s 30-day beginners challenge, and I practiced along with the day 17 video today.  Kino does Ashtanga yoga, something that is maybe too athletic for me, but I’ve been modifying where I need to and it’s been going really well.  Each of Kino’s beginner videos builds up to the next.  I am now able to do a fine chaturanga dandasana (a yoga push-up of sorts).  If you’re interested, the videos are available (free) on YouTube here.

Maybe s/he needed to cool off, too.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that M and I were supposed to go to Annapolis tomorrow for a good friend’s pool party, but the heat is just too much for me.  I was out mowing for a little while this morning and I ended up feeling ill even though I hydrate like a crazy woman.  I’ve never been good in the heat, and that gets worse as I get older.  M and I are sorry to be missing the party, but hope to get together with our friend in the fall when she plans to make her way down to the ranch.  We might even get a chance to see her before that if the timing works out.

Wild horses on the hill.

If we were having coffee, it would be time for me to turn this over to you.  Thank you so much for stopping by for another coffee chat.  I’m going to spend the rest of the afternoon in the coolness of the house, and try to get caught up with y’all.  You’re welcome to stay if you like, maybe go for a swim in the pool.  I don’t know if I’ll brave the heat to go see the sunset or not.  I’m more of a sunrise gal these days.  Of course you can always make your own way out to the dock or to the Point if you’d like to watch the evening show.  It’s scheduled for 8:21 PM.

I will be back this week with more from my summer vacation series.  Until the cool front moves through, I’ll be spending a lot of time in the house and that will be a good time to get caught up.

Sliding down the hill.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  And take a little time to pause during your day and Just Be.  🙂

One more look at the horses before we leave the island.

This post is in response to #WeekendCoffeeShare which is now once again residing at its original home with Diana at Part-Time Monster.  Thank you to Nerd In The Brain for taking on the job of hosting it while Diana took a break.  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

31 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Heatwave

  1. The heat makes me feel ill often. I tried summering this year again — going out, usually not in the mid-day heat, but this heatwave is just too much for me (not that far from you, you know). So it’s me and the a/c and books and blogs. Looking forward to August… and to Autumn.

    Thanks for the peaches. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. At least with August, the weather should be more bearable. I will wish the last 2 weeks of July go by quickly. I’ll keep doing what I do and using every minute to do so, but boy, I wish I could do that without being sweaty or so tired feeling! 🙂

        Autumn is always welcome to come early. Maybe since we both hope, it will be so.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hot here too…89 and so humid. Too hot to even camp. Today we finally got rain, pretty much all day, so that’s been lovely. The garden says thank you. Us watering just isn’t the same as an all day sock. So far we’ve got 1/2 an inch of rain. Still hot outside though, so Katie and I are staying in. Of course too much time inside is making me a little stir crazy. I don’t want to do any of the inside projects…cleaning the basement, emptying closets, mopping the floor. No appeal there at all. But maybe I’d feel better after one of these projects is done. Or not. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Our garden is sighing in relief and gratitude today, Dawn, after last night’s storms. We got about 1.5 inches of rain with a lot of lightning and thunder. Indoor projects don’t appeal much to me, either, so I have to push myself to get up and do something every now and then. 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ve seen all three of your mentioned movies – I think I enjoyed Hidden Figures the most, though the other two were a good watch, I too preferred Kingsman. Miss Peregrine’s was a bit of a disappointment…. We’ve had flooding here Robin, so while you fry, we drown. Climate change, what climate change? !!! I wanted to tell you the Ted Andrews book arrived and is being read in small bites. It’s a lovely compendium of gathered information all in one place and I can see it becoming a real asset, so thank you for thinking to mention it to me! Have a good week, stay cool and hydrated 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought Miss Peregrine’s was a bit of a disappointment too, Pauline. I read the book a few months ago. I don’t expect the movie to be as good as the book, of course, but I was expecting something better than it was. We didn’t get to Hidden Figures last night. M wanted to watch Arrival instead. It liked it, especially the concept concerning time (being circular rather than linear). We’ll probably watch Hidden Figures tonight unless something else comes up.
      I’m sorry to hear about the flooding there. I wish we could take some of your rain away. We’re in the usual summer drought situation although we were fortunate enough to get some rain last night.
      Glad you’re enjoying the book. I like that it has so much information in one place, too. 🙂

      Like

  4. It has been so hot. Yesterday, we walked around Philadelphia a bit after seeing a play–and getting some ice cream. It wasn’t too bad when we were sitting in the shade and there was a breeze, but after walking a bit, we were both dripping and couldn’t wait to get back into the a/c.
    It sounds like you had a fun week, despite the heat. I love the photos. The water looks so blue and refreshing. I love the horses on the hill and the deer and the crow. (That sounds like the title of a fable. 🙂 ) Have a great week, Robin!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Merril. 🙂 I don’t know how you managed walking around in the city in that heat! I think it was hotter there than here, and I could barely walk make the walk from the garden to the house (which isn’t too far) without feeling as if I were melting. The water is very refreshing right now. A little on the chilly side, but it doesn’t take long to acclimate to it in this heat.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sudipto. 🙂 I didn’t realize how playful and curious fawns are until given the opportunity to watch these two. I guess I should have known. They are, after all, children. 😀

      Like

    1. Thank you, Barbara. 🙂 I wonder that, too. They do take a dip in the pond from time to time, and I’m guessing they enjoyed last night’s rain. Still, it’s hot again today and quite humid.

      Like

  5. I’ve done Kundalini yoga especially during weeks when I am stressed and I’ve been glued to my desk all week. It’s relaxing and a nice break from the fast paced exercises I usually do.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The peaches are beautiful. Seasonal produce is in full swing. We had strawberries the last two weeks and now blueberries. Bought new potatoes and little zucchini at our farmers market this morning. Life is good!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Boy, that’s HOT! It must be impossible to get anything done outside, except at dawn. Summer is when I’m really glad I live where it rarely gets above upper 80s. Winter I envy you, but not in summer! Hope this week gives you a break!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

