Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Home, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Summer, Travel, Up North, Weather, Wonder

On the road to Vermont

Heading towards Bolton Landing, New York.

Given that we can live only a small part of what there is in us — what happens with the rest?

~ Pascal Mercier, Night Trail to Lisbon

Our first encounter with a Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream shop. (Bolton Landing, New York)

Bolton Landing is on Lake George in the Adirondacks in upstate New York.  I could tell you about Lake George, things I’ve found on the internet, but I never got a very good look at Lake George so it hardly seems pertinent to my summer vacation story.  M and I have plans to go back to the Lake George region sometime in the future.  Maybe next year.  Maybe not.  One thing we learned on this trip is that the Adirondacks are not as far from here as we thought they were.

A few of many in the Lake George area.

The only reason I bring up Lake George at all is because Bolton Landing happened to be a stop on our way to Vermont.  We randomly picked it as a place to have lunch, the thinking being that we might have the opportunity to sit by Lake George at a waterfront restaurant and maybe get in a little walk after we refueled our bodies.  I’m sure there are restaurants where we could have gotten a look at Lake George, but the one we originally picked turned out to be little more than a take-out shack on the water that served things like hot dogs, hamburgers, and grilled cheese.  All of which are good if that’s what you like to eat.  Plus, and this may be more than you want to know, I passed on a rest area since we were so close to Lake George and I was in need of a loo.  The little take-out shack did not have a restroom.

So, we drove through the main drag again, looking for a place that would satisfy all of our needs.  We ended up at The Huddle Kitchen + Bar where we were able to sit outdoors and enjoy the lovely weather.  As often happens when traveling with M, it turned out to be a great place to eat.  He seems to have an instinct for honing in on restaurants that serve wonderful food.  Some of the places we’ve eaten have looked unassuming or like dives, but they more than made up for the ambiance with their food.  The Huddle, by the way, had good ambiance to go with great food.  M and shared a small plate of broccoli rabe and an entree of Mac N Cheese.  The two dishes went together so well I would like to try replicating it at home sometime.

A glimpse of the lake on our way out of town.  (We turned around so I could get this shot so it really would have been on the way back into town had we been heading that way.)

The motorcycles pictured somewhere above were part of the Americade Motorcycle Touring Rally.  You can be sure that if and when M and I visit the Lake George region again, we will be sure to confirm that we will not be there during Americade.  I have nothing against motorcycles in general.  I have family members who ride Harleys, and who would probably love the Americade event.  However, it was fairly crowded with all those folks on their bikes and there was the issue of those who prefer to ride big bikes that make BIG noise.  Lunch was less than peaceful with all that BIG noise riding past us.

Going north.

As for the loo, if I remember correctly, The Huddle was the place where there was a sign that stated something along the lines of:

Men’s toilet to the left
Women’s to the right
Because women are always right

Of course.  (Actually, I know better, but did think it was cute.)

Somewhere in the Adirondacks.

After filling up with tasty food, we walked across the street to have some of Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream.  Because… why not?  It was there, we were there, and who can resist?  I probably had something with caramel in it.  M probably had something with chocolate or raspberries.  It doesn’t matter.  It’s all good.

Approaching a mountain.

The drive through the Adirondacks was beautiful.  I loved the landscape and all the greenery.  One thing you might notice from the pictures I took out the car window is that there is little to no traffic.  After making our way through the Newark (New Jersey) and New York City areas the day before, it was a relief to have so much space on the road.

Seeing the rocks through the trees.

I had no cell phone coverage in the Adirondacks.  If we had been dependent on GPS to help us find our way, we would have gotten lost eventually.  Or wound up on the Canadian border.  Speaking of which, we meant to bring our passports just in case we wanted to visit Canada while we were so close, but we forgot and left them at home.  We did see the U.S. Border Patrol checkpoint on the opposite side of the highway as we got closer to the border.  They had the road blocked and were checking vehicles.  I suppose if we’d come back that way we might have had a chance to say hello and have our vehicle checked.

Clouds and mountains.

We did have maps and a TripTik from the AAA.  We’re old fashioned that way.  Sometimes it pays to be a luddite.  We printed out our own TripTik now that the AAA has an online function for that, but I do have to mention that I miss the old TripTiks.  I enjoyed flipping the pages and reading the descriptions of towns and sights to see on the back of each page.  As we passed towns mentioned in the TripTik, I’d read the information about them as part of the in-car entertainment.  (In case you are too young to know what I’m talking about, there is a great blog post, complete with pictures, about TripTiks here.)

Off the highway and on to country roads.

We were making our way towards the Essex Ferry, having decided the ferry was the best way for us to cross over to Vermont.  The ferry crosses Lake Champlain, from Essex, New York to Charlotte, Vermont.  Our final destination for this leg of the trip was Burlington, Vermont.

Barn and road.

I think the ride to the ferry on the back country roads was one of my favorite parts of the trip.  It’s a gorgeous area.  It made me wish I could paint landscapes.  If I could, that’s where I’d go to do it.  I’d even paint the roads because they have so much character.

A road with character.

The day, as you can see, was lovely, but it was also if-y.  There were occasional spatters of rain on the windshield as random and occasional dark clouds moved overhead.

Getting closer.

I hope I’m not boring you too much with the driving part of the trip.  I know most folks get where they’re going and show you that part of the trip.  I find the journey just as fascinating as the destination and spend a lot of time looking around and enjoying the scenery.  If you get too bored, we can play a game or sing songs.

We’re almost there. I promise.

But there might not be time for games or songs since we are almost at the ferry.

We’re here!

Thank you for riding along with me today.  We’ll board the ferry another time and cross Lake Champlain.  As you might expect (and are getting a glimpse of in the above image), it’s a delightful trip (in good weather, of course) with some stunning views.

I’d invite you to the dock or the Point to watch the sunset this evening, but I think I’m going to skip it.  We’re in the midst of a terrible heatwave (currently it feels like 119°F) and they’re saying we might have a record high by the hottest part of the day.  Sunset is scheduled for 8:26 PM, and we could watch from the comfort of the air conditioned house or the pool.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  And take a little time out of your day to pause and Just Be.  🙂

A view from the ferry taken just after we boarded.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  230)  A glimpse of cooler days during these dog days of summer.  231)  Reestablishing my morning routine.  It feels good to be exercising and meditating and practicing yoga again.  232)  All the ways we have of cooling off on these hot days.  I don’t take these things for granted because I know that not everyone is this fortunate (and have suffered southern summers without air conditioning in the past when we were less fortunate).  233)  Mint-infused water.  234)  Fresh peppers from the garden.  235)  You, your visits, and your comments.  Thank you.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

9 thoughts on “On the road to Vermont

  1. Robin, you made me laugh with your comment about we could play a game or sing songs if we’re getting bored with the drive. I love how you take such pleasure in each moment of the trip, and even your photos of the roads are wonderful. Broccoli rabe and mac and cheese sounds delicious! And Ben and Jerry’s, too, of course. 🙂
    We used to always use Triptiks, too. I didn’t realize they even still had them–but that’s a good point about if there’s no reception.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Merril. 🙂 You should give the combination (broccoli rabe and Mac N Cheese) a try. They seem to be made for each other (although as separate dishes, I think, which is how we had them).
      The new Triptiks are not nearly as much fun as the old ones. They basically look like the directions you get from Google Maps or Mapquest.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such beautiful roads to travel- a far cry form Newark and the NJ Turnpike. Pity that NJ gets such a bad rap when people only see that part- as someone who has lived in NJ my entire life there is much beauty, as you also know first hand!! I remember trip tiks- I was always so excited to go to AAA and pick mine up, with wonderful black or orange marker marking the route!

    Like

  3. I love rural areas of New York and New England – I’d be a happy camper driving those roads, too! AAA has many benefits and I used to like the TripTiks. Computers do everything now, what is left for humans to do? It may sound silly, but that was some person’s job that is no more. I worry about this! But I digress.
    Harlies are not my favorite form of transportation (mufflers, hello?) and why must they travel in groups? There is also a fall trip in the White Mountains of NH that I once unfortunately overlapped. I just try to tell myself, ‘At least they are getting out in nature!’ 😉
    Lovely photos and hope your heat wave has abated. Tomorrow is supposed to be rainy and in the 60s here – is it summer???

    Like

  4. Oh I loved this. Getting there is ALWAYS more fun for me that actually being there. Always. And I loved the roads you were on, and of course the barns. Especially the barns. We were in Upstate NY a couple years ago, maybe 2014…and saw Lake George and I think Lake Champlaign too. Beautiful beautiful country and I told Bruce that I wanted to go back when we had more time; we were only there for one day. Way too much to see for just one day!

    Like

  5. Beautiful photos again! Can’t wait to hear about the ferry and see Lake Champlain. Was curious how long a ferry ride it was. I want to go back up there one of these days. Love upstate NY and New England.
    CU soon!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

