Posted in Blogging Break, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Lovingkindness, Meditation, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Play, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Wonder

A not at all wordless Wednesday

Now blooming.

For fast-acting relief, try slowing down.

~Lily Tomlin

Relaxation means releasing all concern and tension and letting the natural order of life flow through one’s being.

~Donald Curtis

Blooming soon.

I have been sitting here trying to think of a way to start this post without jumping right into the heart of the matter, and then I thought, “What’s wrong with going right to the heart?”  Nothing.  Nothing at all.  It’s in and through the heart that we find some of the best gifts in life.  Don’t worry.  It’s nothing serious.

Out on the water. First paddle of the season.

I am signing off from my blog for the rest of the month.  I am going to spend the rest of June living fully, so to speak, with a little less thinking and writing and a lot more doing.  I am signed up for a couple of classes, and have made plans for a few adventures.

It was a beautiful morning. The water was a bit choppy so there was a lot of up and down on the waves.

That’s summer for you.  Outgoing, adventurous, and a celebration of light.  It’s time to get out and about and enjoy all that life has to offer.  One could argue that any time is a time to enjoy life and all it has to offer, and one would be right.

Back on shore.

There will be time for rest and relaxation, too.  Time for reading books, writing poetry (something I’ve been trying my hand at again lately — here’s the latest attempt I’ve been willing to post), metta (lovingkindness) and meditation practices, yoga, slow walks through the woods and meadows or at the shore, swimming, sitting on the beach, admiring the flowers and winged creatures in the garden, and time for healing.

Meanwhile, back in the garden — the yucca is blooming.

I injured my left eye yesterday.  I was mowing, the wind was blowing, dust and grit and grass were flying.  Something got in my eye and rubbed it the wrong way.  A small scratch on the conjunctiva that evolved into intense tearing, redness, and pain.  I never knew an eye could hurt so much.  There’s a little swelling around the eye, but the scientist in the house tells me that’s to be expected since the eye is connected to the sinus cavities just as “the shin bone connected to the knee bone” and “the knee bone connected to the thigh bone” (from the song “Dry Bones” or “Dem Bones” which has been running through my head) and any drainage from the eye creates that puffy (and not-too-fashionable) look.  I did end up at an urgent care facility last night where I had the eye flushed, dyed, thoroughly examined, and flushed again.  I have antibiotic drops to put in the eye to prevent infection.  This morning I woke to find the pain had lessened to something resembling soreness and as the day goes on, there is less redness and less swelling.

Droplets.

So, mowing won’t be on my agenda for a little while.  I might look into acquiring some goggles or something to keep the dust and dirt and grass and grit out.  This is not the first time I’ve gotten something in my eyes while mowing, but it is the first time it didn’t resolve itself with the tears that usually well up and flush it out.  I do wear my glasses when I mow (otherwise, I wouldn’t be able to see what I’m doing!).  Obviously they are not good at keeping out the flying debris.

Behind the greenhouse, where the day lilies bloom.

Other than that, there’s not much else happening here at the ranch.  Just summer getting on with summer things.  Flowers blooming, birds sitting on their eggs or teaching their young to fly, wild turkeys using the driveway as one of their paths from here to there, rabbits multiplying like crazy, cats shedding their winter and coolish spring coats, and the little doe (who continues to be somewhat smallish) coming around every evening to say hello.  Last night M and I resigned ourselves to having an almost-pet deer.  As long as she stays at the edge of the meadow and the pond, we’re fine with that.  If she starts venturing closer to the house and gardens, we’ll have to shoo her off.

Leaning forward.

I reckon that’s about it from me and from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this cool and overcast Wednesday.  Thank you so much for visiting, and don’t be surprised if I pop in on you every now and then just to see how you’re doing and what you’re up to.  Enjoy the rest of June and I’ll be back here in July.

One more for the road.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

In the shadows.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  211)  The luxury of slowing down.  212)  The miracle of the body and the way it heals.  213)  My eyesight which is something I ought to be grateful for every single day.  214)  Basic human kindness which I’m certain there is more of than we see in the news these days.  215)  Fresh vegetables from the farm market.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

11 thoughts on “A not at all wordless Wednesday

  1. So sorry about your eye, Robin. (Another reason for me not to mow. ) 🙂 The treatment sounds exactly what I went through when I hurt my eye several months ago by accidentally putting contact lens cleaning solution in one. Yes, also never knew how much it could hurt!
    Enjoy your break!

    Like

  2. Love your list of gratitudes – eyesight is something we often take for granted, yet it is a precious thing. Our daylilies bloom the first of July, so you’re a month ahead of us. It’s nice to see a preview of coming attractions. 😉
    I’m going to miss your posts with lovely pics and conversation, but I hope you enjoy your time off, you’re doing the right thing! ❤

    Like

  3. Wow ~ you definitely need goggles if you do any more mowing. My son scratched his cornea when he was in grade school and had to spend two nights in the hospital. Another child had thrown a stick at him. I’m glad your eye is on the mend!

    Enjoy your summer blog vacation!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

