Posted in Air, Beach, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Life, Love, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water, WeekendCoffeeShare, Wonder

If we were having coffee: Sharing a sunset

Yesterday’s sunset.

Awe enables us to see in the world intimations of the divine, to sense in small things the beginning of infinite significance, to sense the ultimate in the common and the simple, to feel in the rush of the passing the stillness of the eternal.

~Abraham Joshua Heschel

Fishing at high tide.

If we were having coffee, I’d be delighted to see you again.  Come on in!  It’s a beautiful day, isn’t it?  A little warm, but a good kind of warm.  There is such a nice breeze and the humidity is low.  It is a wonderful day to sit out on the deck or the porch.  Your choice.  The advantage of the porch is some shade and the screens keep out the insects which are not too bad today.  The breeze keeps them away.

As for beverages, we have the usual assortment of tea and coffee plus some fruit infused water.  This week’s water is infused with mint from the garden and lemons.  I highly recommend it.  It’s quite refreshing.

Gentle rolls of water coming to shore.

How are you?  What have you been up to lately?  I hope life has been treating you well.  Have you been on any adventures?  Traveled anywhere?  Or seen or done anything new?  Have you read any good books or seen any good movies?

Clouds swooping in.

I am still reading Black Chalk by Christopher J. Yates, and will probably finish it soon.  It’s gotten to the point where I don’t want to put it down.  M wants to read it next so I’ll be saving it for him.  It’s a good summer read.  Fast paced and, so far, it has kept me wondering and guessing.

As for films, M and I haven’t watched any lately.  We just finished the last available (on DVD) season of Orphan Black, and have started the newest available (on DVD) season of Orange is the New Black.  Hmmm… looks like we have a slight pattern there in picking things with “black” in the title.

It was a beautiful evening.

If we were having coffee, tea, or something else to drink, I would tell you that M and I went out to the Point on Thursday evening to watch the sunset.  It was a time to relax, take a few deep breaths, maybe go for a walk on the beach, and tune out for a little while.  As it turned out, there wasn’t much beach to walk on since the tide was high.  We have had a lot of higher-than-usual tides lately, sometimes due to wind (usually associated with a low spinning around somewhere nearby) and sometimes due to the moon phase.  I do wonder, though, about the tides and sea level changes.  In the four years we’ve been here, the tides seem to have risen somewhat and this year appears to have brought more super high tides.

Swoosh.

I’ve noticed that there are more trees in the woods dying lately, too.  We expected it with the loblolly pines.  Pine bark beetles have been chomping on the pines all over the Eastern Shore, and that has been going on for at least the past two years.  We first noticed it during our occasional visits to Chincoteague where they have cut down some of the trees to avoid problems with them falling over onto people’s cars or heads.  Mother Jones has an interesting article about the pine bark beetles out west (in the U.S.).  The entomologist they interview suggests that the pine bark beetles might “be on the forest’s side” when it comes to climate change (a suggestion that perhaps Mother Nature knows what she’s doing).  The article can be found here.

The light was beautiful on Thursday evening.

In addition to the die-off of the loblollies, the magnolias and American holly trees are losing their leaves and dying.  I don’t know if that’s due to too much rain over the past few months or if it is associated with the super high tides that flood the woods.  The water that comes in is brackish.  How salty it is, I don’t know.  Up until this year, it appeared that the trees didn’t mind the brackish water.  The hardwoods (oaks and maples) are doing just fine so maybe it has nothing to do with the rain or the high tides.  As M pointed out to me the other day, we may end up with a hardwood forest for a while.

We have also lost quite a few large cedars.  No mystery to solve there.  They tumble over when the ground is over saturated.

Following the sun.

If we were having coffee, I would have to cut this short today which might be just as well since I’ve rambled a bit this week.  I need to go do something about dinner.  I’m not sure what we’re having.  Pierogies, maybe, with sauerkraut.

A fisherman in his kayak on his way to shore.

Thank you so much for stopping by for another coffee chat.  Please feel free to stay if you like.  You can take a walk out to the garden or the dock, and join us for dinner (whatever it turns out to be).  I’d like to go sit out on the dock and watch the sunset this evening.  It’s scheduled for 8:21 PM.  I’ll probably go out around 7:45 or so.  I think there’s enough of a breeze to keep the biting insects away, but we can take what my granddaughter calls a smoke stick with us.  It’s really a stick of incense but I like the term smoke stick.

I’ve run out of captions. Want to caption this one for me?

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Fading light.

This post is in response to #WeekendCoffeeShare which now has a new home.  Thank you to Nerd In The Brain for taking on the job of hosting it, and to Diana for starting it. Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

10 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Sharing a sunset

  1. I haven’t seen any movies lately. Or for a long time really. I see trailers sometimes that make me think I’d like to see the movie, but it just seems like too much work and money to go. We never do netflicks either…I guess we’re truly old fuddy duddies! It’s been beautiful here for the past few days. I slept out in the backyard in my tent last night. Temps got down to 50 and I woke at 5 this morning cold, but it was still nice. I packed up though, this afternoon, as it’s going to rain and I’d rather put the stuff away dry. I’ll be out there again soon though, as soon as it stays in the 60’s or higher for the nights! 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve been gardening a lot, for myself and 2 clients, in between rainy days. Completed a new garden bed for a client today… I feel proud of it. Hopefully, it will be pleasing to the client!
    Finished the Lisa See book and am now reading a book on Mosses, which are fascinating. Miniatures forests!
    Your sky shots are fabulous per usual, you get such great sunsets!

    Like

  3. What a lovely post, just what I needed to read on this sad morning in the UK. Beautiful sunsets and I love the term “smoke sticks”. Wish we’d taken incense with us to Venice – so many mosquitoes! But that was OK, because Venice was magical, even with all the tourists. We’ve had one of the best holidays ever. I’ve come back feeling relaxed, which is good because on Tuesday I will be teaching again after 14 years and quite frankly I’m terrified! It’s only for a few weeks until a colleague recovers from surgery, and I’m still doing two days as teaching assistant in reception (kindergarten) which I love. That’s most of my news. Sending love to you and your family. Keep safe. xxxxx

    Like

  4. Such stunning photos, Robin! I can’t decide which I like the best.
    Yesterday was beautiful. I wrote all morning, just so could go to a wine festival in the afternoon.
    We’re looking forward to seeing the next season –the last one, I think–of Orphan Black. And we still need to watch the newest season of House of Cards, but I’ve been too busy with my book to get started. We’re watching the new Twin Peaks–crazy stuff! 🙂

    Like

  5. I end up watching the same movies over and over again, that way I am not disappointed. This past week I watched Dirty Dancing. The week before I watched all three of the Godfather movies (in one day, no less!).

    The sunset photos are gorgeous, as usual!

    Like

  6. Something about daylight savings time gives us more sunsets – or maybe we just longer to get out and enjoy them. They are very soothing and settling as we watch with Molly on the bridge.
    Pine beetle makes such a mess of woods. Pine trees are often the “first” forest in an area – often near shore/wetlands and slowly are replace by hardwoods and slower growing trees. This area lost a large number of trees/oaks in previous years from repeated high tides of salt water. Always change and patterns of change in nature – intriguing to watch.
    Stay cool – and dry. What a wet spring we;’ve had..and 65 last night – ahhh, so unusual this time of year. Over 90’s during daytime, so we’re easing into summer

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

