Posted in Air, Change, Climate Change, Critters, Eastern Shore, Life, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Spring

Songbirds

The Great Crested Flycatcher.

Remember this guy from yesterday’s post?  It’s one of a pair of Great Crested Flycatchers building a nest in the wren house near the garage.  In light of today’s events regarding the withdrawal of the U.S. from the Paris Climate Agreement (yes, I know, I’m not supposed to be paying attention to the news but the news butted in while I was watching something else), I want to feature this bird today because the Great Crested Flycatcher is listed as one of nine songbirds unable to keep up with the shift in spring due to climate change.

I hope they’re settling in nicely in their new home.

There is an interesting article about climate change and songbirds here.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  And stand up for the songbirds and other critters if you can.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

20 thoughts on “Songbirds

    1. I think he just woke me up, Carol. I thought I was “woke” before, but certainly not with the passion I have now. As the French say, “Vive la resistance!” And while I’m at it, vive la joie! because I refuse to approach this with fear or anger anymore. I am choosing joy and love, all the way.

      Liked by 3 people

  1. I didn’t know that. It astounds me how hogtied Obama was kept during his two terms and yet 45 can run amok – what is going on? When will he be impeached?

    That songbird is beautiful! Climate change? Apparently not…..

    Like

    1. Obama was willing to play by the rules, Pauline, although he had his faults as well and caused some divisiveness wittingly or unwittingly. I sure do miss him. 45 won’t be impeached until the other traitors in our government decide they’ve gotten all they can out of him in the form of making sure the downtrodden are even more downtrodden, or so it seems. The key will be to vote them out next year and there will be a lot of us working towards that.

      Just read some of the tweets from other world leaders. The one from the former president of Mexico sums things up well: (Addressed to 45) “you’re leaving a dark legacy just to satisfy your greediness.”

      I keep wanting to write a letter starting with “Dear World, I am so very sorry but please know the majority of us disagree with that small minded, greedy, tiny-handed, man.”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That would be a good letter Robin 🙂 And kudos to the ex of Mexico – it has to have become very bad for diplomats to speak out like that. I caught something yesterday about 2 in every 5 Americans still think 45 is doing a great job and applaud him going around Europe like the high school bully in chief. Now that is alarming! I didn’t know 45 has small hands – that kind of says something ……..

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m not sure what is approval numbers are now, Pauline, but last I looked, they continued to be low. His base does continue to think he does no wrong and applaud his arrogance. It’s scary, too, the way he continues to rally them around him and rile them up. He sends tweets to his supporters, urging them to fight. Some see his wording as hinting at violence. I’m not sure. Interpretation is in the mind of the reader.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. That bird is glorious, and dt is–I don’t even know what. I truly think there is something seriously wrong with his brain, but for those who keep supporting him, there is not excuse. Keep on keeping on, Robin.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know you do, Barbara. 🙂 I think, in the end, the earth will be fine. I just hope when we decide to make humans extinct that we don’t wipe out too many of the other beautiful beings we share the planet with.

      Like

  3. It is pretty evident that the current federal government will not be leading the charge for life on this planet. Therefore, it will be up to conscientious individuals, companies and state and local agencies to lead the charge. I see VA just made a pledge to reduce carbon, so there’s one for our side.
    Glad you are giving that flycatcher a chance to improve their numbers. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

