Posted in Art, Critters, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Home, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Wonder, Woods

Rambling

Upside down on the clover.

If someone is able to show me that what I think or do is not right, I will happily change, for I seek the truth, by which no one was ever truly harmed. It is the person who continues in his self-deception and ignorance who is harmed.

~ Marcus Aurelius, Meditations

A walk in the woods.

I am beginning to think the whole country, maybe the whole world, is at least a little bit crazy.  I am beginning to think that because I’ve been spending some time trying to look at all sides of what’s happening in the U.S. (and the world, but for the purposes of this post, mainly the U.S.).  Between the alt-right, the liberal left, the Bernie Bros, and whatever other groups are out there (and there are plenty), it almost looks as though no one can agree on anything.

Flowers on the deck.

What’s up with all the conspiracy theories?  Maybe I’m just getting caught up but it seems to me everyone has one now a’days.  Was it always like this?  Or are people just a little more insane than usual?

A crack in the leaf.

I’ve been paying attention to people I disagree with, people who voted for that guy in the White House, and they are incredibly angry, feeling left behind in a world that’s moving ahead.  They are going to be left behind more as time goes on and certain policies are instituted, but that hasn’t become apparent yet since they continue their almost unwavering support of That Guy.

Honeysuckle in the woods.

What I am most bothered by are the hate and the hypocrisy.  Do people not understand what they’re saying, tweeting, writing, doing?  Have folks forgotten how they acted in 2008 and again in 2012?  If that’s the case, there are a lot of people out there with short-term memory problems.

Ah well.  That’s enough, isn’t it?  Maybe too much, but I’m tired of sitting on it.  I’m tired of the whole damn thing, of the almost constant state of stirring up and chaos being created by those who are charged with doing otherwise, of the lying, of the thin-skinned reactions, of the self-induced drama by those who wear the title of leader, adviser, administrator, commander-in-chief.

*sigh*

The gentle curl of leaves.

Which is why, on this day 3 of my transition to a macrobiotic diet, I am studying the macrobiotic lifestyle to go with it.  It is, as you can tell, time for me to take another break from the news.  Whatever is happening out there will go on without me for the month of June.  Maya Angelou suggested we all need a day away.  In today’s climate, a month away is probably equal to a day away in times past.  Or maybe I’m just feeling that way because I am once again withdrawing from sugar and a tad bit cranky.  Just a tad.

Light on the magnolia.

In case you’re not familiar with the quote:

Every person needs to take one day away.  A day in which one consciously separates the past from the future.  Jobs, family, employers, and friends can exist one day without any one of us, and if our egos permit us to confess, they could exist eternally in our absence.  Each person deserves a day away in which no problems are confronted, no solutions searched for.  Each of us needs to withdraw from the cares which will not withdraw from us.

~ Maya Angelou, Wouldn’t Take Nothing for My Journey Now 

Great Crested Flycatcher building a nest in the wren house.

I think that’s about it from me today.  Thank you for rambling along with me.  I’m not sure we’ll see the sunset today.  It’s been cloudy and there is rain in the forecast for later.  Just in case, meet me on the dock and we’ll see what happens.  You never know if the clouds will move aside for a little while or not.  Sunset is scheduled for 8:20 PM, but you’ll want to be there about thirty minutes before that since the trees are the horizon from the dock.  Bring an umbrella or wear your rain gear.  Just in case.

On his way out to get more nesting material. Watching the birds is much more relaxing than watching the news.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

On this foggy morning.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  206)  Great Crested Flycatchers!  They are beautiful birds.  207)  Foggy mornings.  208)  The wisdom of others and the willingness to listen.  209)  A purring cat in my lap.  210)  The peacefulness of the woods.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

12 thoughts on “Rambling

  1. I have seen some clips of 45 in Europe and it is truly cringe-worthy and embarrassing. Not just for Americans – but for all of us who are human beings and who hold dear to the ‘family of humankind’ ethos. Seeing that boorish and incapacitated individual posturing on the world stage and uttering his unbelievably unempathetic words makes me feel sick. So I choose not to watch very often at all. I remain convinced however that he is mandating a movement. It is calling out to us all to step up. To turn our attention to what is good and right and making a positive difference in the world. There is so much going on that we never hear about, the light is rising and for every flame that is blown out, 100 more are lit. Look for them. And enjoy your time away! xo

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree with you about the craziness, (as you know). I do not understand how people can support dt.
    I love your reasons to be happy. I’ve never heard of the Great Crested Flycatcher, but he (?) is magnificent, and the deer is so cute.
    Good luck with your break and diet, Robin!

    Like

  3. Robin, you are not alone in your feelings. I wish you well as you focus on caring for yourself and that includes no news. Making yourself a priority as you enjoy all of the wonders of nature surrounding you will surely provide the comfort and healing you seek. Thank you for your honesty in all that you share. It truly feels like I am sitting with a dear friend as I read all of your posts. Be well, dear Robin. 💕

    Like

  4. Feeling the same when it comes to news… and truth be told, I don’t watch TV at all and at most, listen to about 5 min. or less/wk. of NPR. I read occasionally about the insanity.
    I create beauty and hold the light and that is about it. 😉
    GCFC nesting so close to the house, how special! I love when we get to watch the nesting process up close. Today I saw a chipping sparrow picking up strands of Wren’s fur off the deck. How sweet to think of her warming a nest. 🙂

    Like

  5. Although I have managed to detach a little bit, I still have a compulsion to keep up with the news, primarily PBS NewsHour. I am dismayed by the state of our country, of the world, of mankind. I think society has totally lost its collective mind. In the meantime there is the respite of sitting on my front deck in the afternoon, watching the birds and enjoying their happy songs.

    Like

  6. Robin, I really enjoyed this post. There is so much confusing turmoil. So many theories, and guesses. We’ve created our own cesspool of anxiety and uncertainty and we’re drowning.
    It’s time to wade out of this mess for a day (at least) and Just Be.
    And while I’m at it, I’m gonna enjoy your beautiful flycatcher photos!

    Like

  7. I don’t watch/listen to news too much myself. It just seems better that way as what is labeled News is negative and not at all uplifting. Enjoy your time away from it.

    Like

  8. I don’t watch much news, but husband does. He continues to be amazed that the current resident of the White House can get away with saying and doing anything and his supporters still support him. And that he can do the opposite of what he campaigned on and get away with it (Though I tell him most presidents don’t follow through on campaign promises). Mostly he is amazed at the short memories so many of us have.

    Like

  9. From up here in Canada, I am astounded to see what you are dealing with. I’d rather just watch the Robin, building its nest in our deck beams. She scolds us every time we leave the house.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

