Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Home, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Pennsylvania, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Travel, Walking & Wandering, Wonder

Settling in for a little while

Poppies.

I believe there is something of the divine mystery in everything that exists. We can see it sparkle in a sunflower or a poppy. We sense more of the unfathomable mystery in a butterfly that flutters from a twig–or in a goldfish swimming in a bowl. But we are closest to God in our own soul. Only there can we become one with the greatest mystery of life. In truth, at very rare moments we can experience that we ourselves are that divine mystery.

~ Jostein Gaarder, Sophie’s World

A morning walk.

Hello!  How are you?  Thriving and having some wonderful springtime adventures, I hope.

The hostas are doing well this year.

I’ve been Away again, visiting with family in Pennsylvania.  It’s crazy isn’t it, all this traveling I’ve been doing?  Sometimes I am no longer sure if I’m coming or going.  In fact, sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night and wonder where I am.  I don’t know how musicians, and others who have to travel regularly, do it.  It’s exhausting.

Peony glow.  (May 8, here at the ranch.)

I am having a little trouble keeping up with the season, too.  Through my travels I’ve managed to experience early and mid-spring a couple of times now.  For instance, our peonies here on the Wabi-Sabi Ranch are finished for the season.  As the peonies were finishing here, they were just getting started when I was out in Ohio, and they were at peak where I was in Pennsylvania this past weekend.

A peony in Pennsylvania.

I’m not really sure what’s going on here on the ranch lately.  It’s been raining since I returned home and I haven’t ventured farther than the porch when it comes to getting outside.  Normally I’d don my rain gear and go for it, but the grass is high and we have a bumper crop of ticks this year so I’m in no hurry to swish through the jungle that’s growing outside.  I’ll have to gear up and go out soon whether I like it or not.  A reliable source (that would be M) tells me there are flowers and vegetables in the greenhouse ready to plant.

Creamy glow.

During my trip up to Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, I saw a lot of these signs:

In the neighborhood.

It was a refreshing change from the signs posted in my neighborhood.  It is interesting to note, though, that some of those Frump-Menace (because I don’t want to use their real names) signs have come down.  The proposed budget that we’re all hearing so much about lately is not popular with farmers, you see, and most of those Frump-Menace signs were put up by farmers who, I suspect, are now feeling betrayed.

A cloud of azalea flowers.

It should also be noted that there are folks protesting the “welcome” signs.  What they seem most unhappy about is that the first line is in Spanish and they believe that since this is America, English should be the first and only language used.  M and I thought the best way to solve the problem would be to omit the English completely.  That way, the folks who are using English as an excuse to complain (when their real complaint is something else) would be unlikely to translate the signs, and those for whom the signs are really intended would have no trouble translating them.  Then again, perhaps the signs are intended for those who are doing the complaining.  A dig, maybe, or a way of letting their neighbors know where they stand on certain issues.

A winding, hilly road.

I reckon that’s about it from me on this cloudy, rainy Wednesday.  Thank you so much for stopping by and taking a little wander with me.  I’d suggest meeting for sunset, but I don’t think we’ll see much this evening.  The clouds, they say, will be here for a few more days.  Possibly through the weekend.  If by chance the sky should clear enough, sunset is scheduled for 8:14 PM.  I’ll keep an eye out and if it looks good, meet you at the Point so we can see what’s going on out there.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Beautiful shades of green and purple.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  196)  Safe travels, there and back.  197)  The many shades of green.  198)  Visits with family.  199)  Visits with friends, whether that be out in the world or here in the blogosphere.  200)  Watching the Great Blue Heron who fishes our pond take flight.  It never ceases to amaze me how those big creatures can so gracefully go from wading in the water to flying through the air.

Japanese red maple.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

13 thoughts on “Settling in for a little while

      1. I take a bunch of nature photos, flowers in particular. I used to belong to a botanical garden….where I had a membership there. Let me tell you, it’s like being in heaven. Humming birds and butterflies everywhere and lots of flowers. I think I’ll renew my membership. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Robin,
    Your photos made me stop and stare… the one of the “winding hills” caption… those poppies, the white flower… and the purple one that took my breath away… STUNNING! You can be very proud of that photograph (and the others!).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Here are my peonies are only just budding. The earliest plant is showing some colors on the fat buds. Those who yell that we should have English only might want to think about how helpful it is to have their language understood and signs printed in their language when they travel to other countries.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Excellent point, Carol. I am dreadful at learning languages (some would even question my English!), and always appreciate it when signs are printed in English when we travel abroad.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. One hopes people will realize their mistake in voting and supporting a certain person, but I have no faith that even given the current budget they won’t find someone else to blame and then stick to their prior opinions in spite of it. There seems no logic to the politics any more. Lovely pictures, by the way and lovely countryside. It’s nice to experience the coming out of flowers three times, I would think!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like you are a busy bee, Robin! You’re getting to see lots of different springs. Two sets of peonies would just about tip the happy meter for me. 🙂 Your photos, as usual, are so beautiful. The poppies are vibrant!
    Rain has been getting in the way of garden work, but to be honest, I like the time off. I’m getting more lax, the older I get. If it gets done, great, if not, oh well. 😉 The ticks can be discouraging, too. It requires near constant diligence and with the dog, there really is no respite. Maybe in July??

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glorious photos, Robin. I can’t decide which one I like best. All of the flowers are beautiful, and that winding road looks so inviting–just the thing for the start of an adventure!
    I laughed at “Frump-Menace.” It’s good to know those Welcome signs are about. I was thinking of all the Mexicans and other Hispanic farm laborers there and in nearby Chester County. I heard a report that the mushroom farmers there are worried that they might not have the workers. Now that you mention it though, I don’t think I saw any Frump-Menace signs as we drove to my mother-in-law’s house last weekend. She lives near York, PA.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

