Posted in Air, Change, Critters, Earth, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Life, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, The Bogs, Travel, Walking & Wandering, Water, WeekendCoffeeShare, Wonder

If we were having coffee: Before summer returns

Taking a walk around the pond at Breezy Acres (in the Bogs of Ohio).

Just that you do the right thing.  The rest doesn’t matter.  Cold or warm.  Tired or well-rested.  Despised or honored.  Dying… or busy with other assignments.  Because dying, too, is one of our assignments in life.  There as well:  “To do what needs doing.”  Look inward.  Don’t let the true nature of anything elude you.

Only there, delight and stillness… when jarred, unavoidably, by circumstances, revert at once to yourself, and don’t lose the rhythm more than you can help.  You’ll have a better grasp of harmony if you keep going back to it.

~ Marcus Aurelius, The Meditations

Swimming in spring green reflections.

If we were having coffee, I would be delighted to see you again.  Come on in!  It’s a gorgeous day, isn’t it?  Let’s get our beverages and something to nosh on and go sit on the front porch where we’ll have a great view of the pond and plenty of sunshine to keep us warm.  A Great Blue Heron has been out there, looking for his morning meal.  The bluebirds and king birds have been flitting around, too.  You might need a jacket.  It’s a little on the cool side this morning, something I want to enjoy while I can.  It’s going to warm up quickly today, and stay warm (in the 80’s) for the rest of the week.

A Great Blue Heron in flight.

How are you?  What have you been up to lately?  Have you traveled anywhere?  Seen anything new?  Have you spent time with family and/or friends?  Have you solved any mysteries or gone on any great adventures?  Taken any good walks or tours?  What are you reading these days?  How about watching?  Have you seen any good movies or television shows?

Redbud in bloom.

Since our last get-together, I finished reading Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.  It was a very good book, and I highly recommend it.  I am currently reading The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth) and A Year to Live: How to Live This Year as If It Were Your Last.  It is the second book that influenced me in my choice of a quote to start out this post.  Stephen Levine, the author, begins the book by reminding us that death is, as Marcus Aurelius put it, one of our assignments in life.

Shimmering.

As for films, M and I watched La La Land last night.  I loved it.  M thought it was okay.  For some reason I can’t explain, the movie reminded me of my childhood.  I spent a lot of Sunday mornings watching movies.  I watched anything and everything.  Silent films, B movies, sci-fi, horror, romance, comedy, swashbucklers, documentaries, westerns, dramas, musicals, and any other genre I might have left out that was available at the time.  I spent a lot of time with Shirley Temple, Ma and Pa Kettle, Elvis, Ginger Rogers, Fred Astaire, Abbot and Costello, Vincent Price, Bette Davis, Joan Crawford, and many others.  I’ve always loved a good musical.  The first movie I remember seeing was Disney’s Mary Poppins.  The Wizard of Oz was a yearly big event where we gathered around in the living room, eating pizza and marveling as Dorothy was transported from the black and white world of Kansas to the amazing technicolor world of Oz.  I saw The Sound of Music at Radio City Music Hall.  Now that I think about it, movies were almost as important in my childhood life as books.

Shimmying.

If we were having coffee, tea, or something else to drink, I would tell you that I was supposed to be Elsewhere this weekend but due to the persistence of the last cold I caught from Little Wookie, I cancelled my trip.  I had planned to visit with my father in New Jersey.  I am terribly sorry I couldn’t go, but I think it was for the best.  I needed the rest, and my 80+ year old father does not need to be catching a cold from me.  The cold turned into a sinus infection.  I’ve been waiting it out, hoping to avoid antibiotics.  After a few days of rest this weekend, I’m finally beginning to feel better and should be back to normal soon.

The dogwood still dreams.

If we were having coffee, I would wish you a Happy Mother’s Day if appropriate.  I am fortunate in that I was given the gift of time with both of my sons over the past three to four weeks, and that is the best Mother’s Day gift of all as far as I’m concerned.  M made a lovely breakfast for me this morning, and will be cooking dinner, too.  As you might recall, my mother died in 2009 so Mother’s Day is one of those bittersweet holidays for me.  She did send a couple of deer around yesterday evening to say hello and to put a smile on my face.  It was the funniest thing.  The pair of them were running, bounding, and chasing each other like a couple of children playing tag.  I’ve never seen such a thing before, and had no idea that deer play in that way.

Full of grace.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that I’ll be working in the garden today, braving the ticks.  Someone on Facebook (I think it was Dawn) had a link to Tick Gaiters that I am thinking about ordering.  They look like they might be useful for hiking, something I plan to be doing a lot of next month.  As for the garden, I stopped by a local nursery yesterday and picked up some marigolds to plant along the edge of the garden.  That usually keeps the bunnies out.  I noticed a few volunteer zinnias the last time I was out there.  The weeds, of course, are doing well.  We’ve had a lot of rain over the past few days which will make the weeding faster and easier.

Gentility.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that today’s photos are from a walk I took around the pond at Breezy Acres when I spent time in the Bogs last month visiting with Little Wookie and his parents.  All of my spring favorites were there:  the dogwoods and redbuds in bloom, violets sprinkled throughout the grasses, bluets nodding their lovely little heads along the edge of the pond, frogs hopping, and birds stopping by to say hello.  There is something a little less wild about the wildlife in the Bogs compared to the wildlife here on the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  Perhaps that’s because Breezy Acres is a little less isolated.

Squiggly reflections.

If we were having coffee, tea, or something else to drink, it would be time for me to turn this over to you so I can gear up and go do a little work in the garden.  You are welcome to come with me out to the garden, to help or to relax on the bench by the pond.  We can take a walk out to the dock first to see what’s happening out there.  Later we can head over to the Point to watch the sunset.  It’s scheduled for 8:06 PM.  We’ll go early so we don’t miss anything.

Spring greens painted on the water.

Thank you so much for visiting.  Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

In the red maple.

This post is in response to #WeekendCoffeeShare which now has a new home.  Thank you to Nerd In The Brain for taking on the job of hosting it, and to Diana for starting it. Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

9 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Before summer returns

  1. I’m glad to hear you are conquering the cold with resort to antibiotics. I love your ‘sqiggly reflection’ duo of photos – they are like paintings. And the shimmering dandelion – my goodness, exquisite!! We only have to contemplate nature to see quite clearly that dying is simply part of living. Change is the only certain and sure thing. Have a good week Robin, be well ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The deer we saw in our back yard was one of a pair running around together too. Must be spring.

    Yes I found the tick gaiters. I ordered 2 pair for when I go camping up north. They should arrive soon as they have shipped. I’ll let you know about fit. Definitely not a fashion statement.

    Hope you feel all better soon!

    Like

  3. I hope you’re feeling better soon, Robin. All the photos are striking (as usual), but the squiggly line/reflections are fun, too. 🙂 I wish I could have seen the deer–what a gift!

    Like

  4. Happy belated Mother’s Day, Robin. Definitely a bittersweet holiday for me as well. Truthfully, I’ve never really liked it… Moms should be celebrated more than just once a year! 😉
    Still reading Endurance by Edward Lansing for book group. I am so tired at the end of the day, I end up reading very little, but the deadline is looming so I need to finish soon. I read Americanah. It was interesting to see America through a non-native’s eyes.
    I’ve been doing a lot of gardening, and yes, pulling ticks off every day. It is usually from venturing too close to the woods or they come off the dog. The price we must pay for the things we love!
    Love your squiggly reflections – they are so beautiful! ❤

    Like

  5. Robin–your photos are just stunning. You have such a good eye.

    I, too, read Americanah and found it astounding on what it would be like as a black person trying to “fit in.” A lot to reflect on that. Did you read her previous book–Half of a Yellow Sun? Interesting, also, on events that led to the Biafran War.

    Enjoyed your photos and words–always very calming which is much needed today. Thank you.

    Like

  6. Hope you are all better from your cold. My motto with colds is always REST. So good choice to stay home.
    Happy belated Mother’s Day. How nice to see the deer playing. Thanks to your mom. 😎
    Love to you both.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

