Posted in Air, Change, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Grandparenthood, Gratitude, Life, Love, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Play, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Travel, Walking & Wandering, Wonder

Springtime walks and adventures

Ice flowers in the scrounger’s garden.

It’s hard to walk briskly at this time of year; the accelerating pace of unfolding spring slows my own. I repeatedly stop- to watch what’s moving. Soon the torrent of migrants will completely overwhelm my ability to keep up with all the changes. But it’s easy to revel in the exuberance and the sense of rebirth, renewal.

~ Carl Safina, The View from Lazy Point: A Natural Year in an Unnatural World

White.

I’ve been Away again.  I went back to Ohio to visit with my granddaughters and their parents in middle Ohio.  It was a round trip of 1,272 miles, and well worth it even though I was unable to stay long.  I got there on Friday evening to attend a charity dance event that my oldest granddaughter performed in, and left on Sunday evening, finishing the trip on Monday.  I had hoped to see my youngest granddaughter play soccer on Saturday morning, but the game was cancelled.  There had been a lot of rain and the fields were too wet for play.  Luckily, she is a girl of many talents (they both are) and Maddy played her guitar for us.  It was one of the best concerts I’ve been to.  Ever.  I also got to play mini golf, eat a lot of ice cream, spend time with a friend, go bowling for two hours, watch a photo shoot (my oldest granddaughter was one of the models), and take a lovely walk near a creek.  It was a very full weekend.

Pink.

When I left the ranch last week, there were a few peonies blooming, the knock-out roses were going crazy, and the irises had buds on them.  When I returned, there were lots of peonies blooming, the knock-out roses were bent over from either the weight of the flowers or from heavy rains that occurred while I was away, and the irises were in full bloom.

A very small portion of the roses that were in bloom the day I left the ranch to travel to Ohio.

The grass did a good job of growing while I was away, too.  It’s beginning to look like a hay field.  I’d be out there mowing now, but we had nearly an inch of rain overnight and it’s too wet to mow.  The rain was a surprise.  It was clear when I went to bed, and I hadn’t heard of any rain in the forecast.  At 3 AM a loud crash of thunder woke me up.  The thunder was followed by a torrential downpour that didn’t last long, but brought a lot of water with it.

This is Daisy, one of two dogs that live with my granddaughters and their parents.

A family is a unit composed not only of children but of men, women, an occasional animal, and the common cold.

~Ogden Nash

Maddy riding her bike.

It has been a busy spring, and that busyness will be around for a while.  I did finally get some flower seeds started for the scrounger’s garden which, as you might have guessed, I decided not to deconstruct and mow over.  I just couldn’t give up the flowers and the winged creatures who come to visit them.

A flashback to May of 2011 when Emma, my oldest grandchild, was riding her bike on the same sidewalk, in the same neighborhood.

All this busyness has led me to a state of confusion in regards to dates and such.  Thinking that it was Sunday, I posted a Silent Sunday image yesterday.  As soon as I hit publish, it dawned on me that it was Monday.  Today is Tuesday, isn’t it?

Mr. & Mrs. Mallard

The cold I caught while visiting with Little Wookie almost two weeks ago is persistent and hasn’t yet gone away.  All the traveling and a poor diet have not helped.  I’m hoping to rest up this week, eat more healthful food, and drive the virus out of my system.  I really do need to improve my diet, and step up the exercise.  I’ve spent a lot of time sitting in a car over the past month or so.

Portrait of a goose.

Oh!  I almost forgot!  I saw a baby red fox yesterday.  It was cute as a button, and out in the road where it should not have been.  It went back into the woods when it saw M and I, but I suspect it came back out to the road shortly after we left to follow its brother or sister who had crossed prior to that.  I’m not sure where the mom was.  The fox explains the absence of the usual plethora of rabbits this year.  I’ve seen one out by the scrounger’s garden, but not too many elsewhere.

Making a splash.

I guess that’s about it from me for now.  Thank you so much for visiting and rambling around with me.  I hope all is well with you.  Looks like we’ll have a clear sky for sunset this evening.  Let’s go out to the dock to watch it.  Sunset is scheduled for 8:01 PM, but we’ll need to go about thirty minutes prior to that since it sets behind the trees earlier.  It’s a little breezy and cool — perfect weather for me — so you might want to wear a light jacket.

Quack!!

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Leaping/flying into the water.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  191)  A visit with my granddaughters, my oldest son, and his lovely wife.  192)  Being home and sleeping in my own bed.  193)  Safe travels, there and back.  194)  A beautiful drive through western Maryland and West Virginia.  195)  The way the leaves on the trees dance in the wind.

Odd duck.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

18 thoughts on “Springtime walks and adventures

  1. It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend, Robin–and busy! No wonder why you had your days mixed up. The flowers are glorious. I feel like I can taste, feel, and smell them (it should be some kind of Middle Eastern cinnamon dusted phyllo pastry) on silk. 🙂
    I love Mr. and Mrs. Mallard.
    I hope you’re feeling better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a heap o’ traveling! Well worth it, I expect. So glad you’re keeping the scrounger’s garden – the butterflies and bees will thank you! I recommend bark/wood chips or other heavy mulch to keep the weeds down. You won’t feel so overwhelmed come summer. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was worth it, Eliza, but I’m glad to have taken this weekend off from all the travels and adventures. I was supposed to travel again this weekend. The cold/virus kept me home. I have been using mulch in the garden and you’re right. It does help. I’m headed out there soon to do some more weeding and planting. It’s a beautiful day here on the Eastern Shore. 🙂

      Like

      1. So glad to hear the mulch is helping. I can’t imagine what my gardens would look like without it (well, I can, but I’d rather not!). Hope your cold is better. I know a few who have ‘spring’ colds.

        Like

  3. Your flowers worked hard to be perfect for your return
    Sounds like a nice trip (That pink jacket bike picture somehow is the perfect image of childhood)
    That “Quack” picture is one of the best I’ve seen – interesting poe, lovely colors and textures. Guess the duck was watching for modeling tips from granddaughter?
    Hope you feel better! (And what matter the name of the day? Days probably scoff that nobody asked them what they preferred to be called)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, PhilosopherMouse. 🙂 I enjoyed the ducks and they didn’t seem to mind posing for pictures. I like your philosophy when it comes to days and what they preferred to be called.

      Like

  4. What a lovely post, as usual, Robin! Such beautiful pictures!
    No wonder you are sick with all that gallivanting! Seeing family makes it all worthwhile though. Feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We see them out and about, sometimes playing, during the day occasionally, Elisa. The Humane Society claims that rabies is rare in foxes. I hope that’s true. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

