Posted in Beginnings, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Wonder, Woods

A Monday meander: Wisteria

Hanging with the loblolly pines.

You are surrounded by gifts every living moment of every day. Let yourself feel appreciation for their presence in your life and take the time to acknowledge their splendor.

~Lou G. Nungesser

In light and shadow.

On the morning of the day that we left to start our trip out to Ohio, M left the house to go to work as usual and about ten minutes or so later, he came back to ask if I’d like to see the wisteria.  Wisteria grows like crazy in the loblolly pines here on the Eastern Shore, climbing high into the trees, and in the spring the drooping clusters of purple flowers cascade back towards the earth from which they originate.  M had seen some on his way to work and the early morning light, he said, was perfect.  Zoom, zoom, off we went, me with camera in hand to take pictures to share.  None came out as well as I’d hoped.  That’s partially due to my decision not to change lenses or to bring another lens along.  I didn’t want to delay M any longer than necessary and I’ve always figured I should work with what I have at hand when it comes to photography.  Sometimes that works out.  Sometimes it doesn’t.

Growing up and tumbling down.

I wonder, too, if my disappointment in the images stems from the fact that nothing beats standing there looking up at the tall trees and seeing these beautiful flowers tumbling down over the branches of the loblollies, their scent perfuming the air all around.  It is a lot like trying to photograph the beauty and grandeur of the mountains of Colorado, or a field of flowers, or the ocean at sunset and moonrise.  You can capture a portion of it, but to truly appreciate it, you have to be there.

A little closer.

In the Language of Flowers, wisteria (like most flowers) has a variety of meanings, but the one that stood out for me on this day is celebrating the youthful vitality of a child.  It’s also a symbol for spring birthdays.  Very appropriate for that day since we were getting ready to celebrate the youthful vitality and spring birthday of a child (that would be our grandson, in case you missed it).

Purple and green go together so well.

We saw quite a bit of wisteria blooming as we made our way north and then west, off the island we call the Eastern Shore.  (Before someone corrects me, I know that it is often referred to as a peninsula (or the Delmarva Peninsula), but the creation of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal — which connects the Delaware River with the Chesapeake Bay — turned the peninsula into an island.)

Sometimes the flowers look blue in my images. I’m not sure if that was a result of the light or the camera.

There is a native, or American, wisteria.  I have no idea if the wisteria growing across the Eastern Shore and over on the mainland is native or if it is the Japanese or Chinese variety.  The flowers are all somewhat similar, making it difficult to tell.  We don’t happen to have any growing on our property.  I am thinking of planting some.  If I do, it will be the native variety.  Naturally.

I wonder how the trees feel about supporting the wisteria vines.

By the time we returned home, the wisteria in most places on the Eastern Shore had finished blooming.  The Empress or Princess Tree, whose flowers are similar, were blooming all over the place on the northern part of the island.  It’s an invasive species that appears to be traveling quickly along the Eastern Shore.

Chickadee in Ohio.

I reckon that’s it for this Monday’s meander through the woods, the wisteria, and the past.  I’ll be back soon with some walks around the pond in the Bogs where, in addition to Little Wookie’s birthday, we celebrated a second spring.  Thank you for stopping by on this warm and windy day.  I think I’ll head out to the Point at sunset.  You’re welcome to join me.  Sunset is at 7:54 PM.  I’ll meet you there about twenty minutes before that so we can take a stroll on the beach.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

A flower on the dogwood I planted near the scrounger’s garden.  (Photo taken yesterday.)

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  186)  The scent of wisteria which lingers in my memory even after the blossoms are gone.  187)  The beautiful blue of the sky today.  188)  The return of the King Birds.  189)  The blissfulness of meditation practice.  190)  Lounging around and reading a good book.  It’s one of the perks of being ill (but not so ill I don’t feel like reading!).

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

9 thoughts on “A Monday meander: Wisteria

  1. Wisteria in bloom is like a slice of heaven, but I understand it can be so heavy as to topple trees or strangle them. Beauty or beast? Both, I guess. Beautiful photos, regardless!

    Like

  2. My mon loved the wisteria growing in Alabama. When I see it I think of her. Love your images. Especially the first one. Thank you for pulling mom back into my focus during this week of telling dad’s story.

    PS. I was photographing purple iris years ago and they came out blue too.

    Like

  3. Beautiful wisteria pix. I agree, photos usually can’t truly replicate the actual experience. Grand Canyon pictures are a case in point – photos just can’t do its majesty justice.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

