Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Food, Gifts, Gratitude, Home, Mindfulness, Photography, Quotes, Souper Sunday, Spirit, Winter

Souper Sunday

Creamy cauliflower soup

Cauliflower is nothing but a cabbage with a college education.

~ Mark Twain

This week’s soup was a very simple soup to prepare.  You take one head of cauliflower (I used an orange or “cheddar” cauliflower), cut it into florets, and drop the florets into 2 cups of chicken or vegetable broth.  Add one roughly chopped onion and three tablespoons of walnut pieces (or you can wait until the cauliflower is cooked before adding the walnuts; I prefer to cook the nuts because it’s easier on my gut).  Bring to a boil, then lower the heat and let it simmer for 15-20 minutes, until the cauliflower is cooked.  Add two cups of half & half or milk, and salt and pepper to taste.  Using an immersion blender, puree it until it is smooth and creamy, reheat, and when it is nice and hot, serve the soup with a sprinkling of paprika.  You can also garnish it with toasted walnuts.

I would like to try this again using coconut milk and Thai curry paste.  I think the flavor combinations would work well.  Out of curiosity, I just went in search of a Thai cauliflower soup recipe and found this: Curried Cauliflower Soup.  It sounds so yummy that it might be next Sunday’s soup.

I’m sorry I missed our coffee chat yesterday.  It was a busy, busy day.  Maybe we’ll meander tomorrow.  In the meantime, thank you for stopping by for Souper Sunday.  I hope all is well with you.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  146)  The master bathroom renovation is finished!!  147)  Creamy soups.  148)  Bubble baths (which can now be taken in the new tub!).  149)  Words of wisdom.  150)  A quiet, relaxed and relaxing, Sunday.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

10 thoughts on “Souper Sunday

    1. I thought about making a curry with the cauliflower, too, Lisa. Then I found this soup recipe. It was so easy to make (the curry would have required a bit more work), and it was very tasty. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Love the Twain quote, what a wit.
    I recently made parsnip (with one carrot) soup that turned out well. Soup is so easy, yet filling and satisfying – add a sandwich and meal prep is over (my favorite part).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I enjoy about it, too, Eliza. Plus, I usually make a big pot of it so there are leftovers which means no prep at all except reheating for at least one other meal. 🙂
      I have made some labor intensive soups. I have the Love Soup cookbook, and the woman (Anna Thomas) who came up with those recipes must REALLY enjoy spending time in the kitchen prepping food. Her soups are amazing and so delicious, but if I want to make one, I have to do it when I’m in the mood for all the work involved. One of my favorites is the Basic Green Soup. You can find the recipe here (The Splendid Table website):

      https://www.splendidtable.org/recipes/basic-green-soup

      It doesn’t look complicated, and it’s not, but cleaning up the greens (and removing the tough stems) and caramelizing the onions takes time.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mmm. Robin, I made this tonight. So easy, and in spit of very little fat it tastes buttery. I confess to throwing some of my home-made curry powder into it. Yum. With a spinach salad with walnuts and tomatoes it made a fast, fabulous meal. Thanks for publishing!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome, Lisa. 🙂 I wondered about curry powder. Will have to give that a try sometime, too. I love how easy this soup is to make and suspect it will end up on the menu here during our busy times. I paired it with a salad, too, and thought it was a great meal.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

