Posted in Air, Cats, Change, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Winter

A Monday meander

Hiding in the grass.
Hiding in the grass.

All you can do is this: Whatever you experience, whether tangible or intangible, look underneath the experience, like a child looking for a lizard under a stone. You’re not expecting anything to be there, but you’re always wondering if there might be.

~ Richard Leviton

Near the end.
Near the end.

It’s cloudy outside right now as I sit here typing and occasionally staring out the window, wondering what I want to write.  Most of the time my blog posts are a mystery to me.  I’m not sure where to start, and I’m never sure where I’m going even if I start with an inkling of an idea.  Very often the idea I started with doesn’t even materialize.  It morphs into something else before I can get a handle on it, or it wanders off in search of another author.

Short lived.
Short lived.

Our crocuses have finished for the season.  I am always sorry to see them go.  They look so cheerful scattered in the grass, and purple (as you probably know) is my favorite color.  It goes well with the greens of the grasses.

Coming up.
Coming up.

I’ve had a few comments on the glow of the crocuses in my photographs.  There is something about the angle of the sun this time of year that makes them glow.  I am fairly well convinced that Mother Nature set it up that way so that after the dark of winter we have the glow of spring.  We get a similar angle in the autumn months when both the heat and light soften.  Perhaps that’s why spring and autumn are my favorite seasons for photographing all things outdoors.  The light is amazing.

Daylilies arising.
Daylilies arising.

The spring peepers have been peeping.  It seems early for them.  I hope they managed to stay warm after the cold snap that arrived with Saturday’s storms.  It was quite frosty this morning, but has warmed up throughout the day even though the sun hasn’t put in much of an appearance today.

Leaning over.
Leaning over.

I finally heard (but didn’t see) what sounded like a large flock of blackbirds chattering in the marshes.  They must be on their way north.  The Canada geese have been on the move, too, and on Saturday I heard some Laughing Gulls which is a sure sign of spring in these parts.

A viola that escaped the planter.
A viola that escaped the planter.

In addition to meandering around the Wabi Sabi Ranch, I’ve been meandering around the internet.  Here are a few good finds:

Big pile of mulch.
Big pile of mulch.

The New Yorker article was a good find for me because I sometimes wonder if the calls and letters and postcards will really make any difference.  I know they don’t with my congressman.  He’s made it plain that he will toe the party (Republican) line.  Ballotpedia reports that he is “an average member of Congress, meaning he will vote with the Republican Party on the majority of bills.”  I already knew that from following him on Facebook and from his unwillingness to meet with his constituents in a town hall meeting.  There is little to no hope that anything anyone from the other side says will make a difference which means working hard to see he isn’t reelected in 2018.

Approaching the scrounger's garden.
Approaching the scrounger’s garden.

I don’t know about y’all, but I’m growing weary of these interesting times we are living in.  There are days when I am uplifted by how much people are finally getting involved, but there are days like today when I feel like I’ve had enough of what feels like an alternate universe where things went wrong.

Izzy stalking.
Izzy on the prowl.

It seems like it’s been forever since January 20th, and yet somehow the days pass by quickly in some semblance of normality that includes the usual chores, walks, spending time with loved ones, yoga, meditation, reading, writing, drawing, cooking, and all the other things that make up a day in my life.

Periwinkles and tombstones.
Periwinkles and tombstones.

I will be spending more time in the gardens in the upcoming weeks.  I suspect — and so do others who know more about these things than I do — food will become somewhat expensive this year.  The vegetable garden and farmers market are our best bets, no matter what happens.  I like to know where my food was grown and how it was grown.  There’s no better way to know those things than to grow it ourselves.

One more look at the crocuses.
One more look at the crocuses.

I reckon that’s about it from the Wabi Sabi Ranch on this overcast Monday.  Thank you for meandering along with me.  I don’t think it’s likely we’ll see the sunset this evening, but if the clouds do part let’s meet at the Point.  I haven’t been there for several days and it will be nice to walk on the beach and have a look at the water.  Sunset is at 5:54 PM.

Saturday's storm approaching.
Saturday’s storm approaching.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Daffodils smiling at the sun.
Daffodils smiling at the sun.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  131)  The periwinkles and daffodils are blooming.  132)  Both of my U.S. senators are Democrats with spines.  133)  There are a lot of good and loving people in this world.  134)  All of the beautiful colors of early spring.  135)  A good chance that it will rain today.  The gardens could use a good soaking.  Saturday’s storms didn’t bring us much rain.  Just a lot of bluster.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

9 thoughts on “A Monday meander

  1. The photos are beautiful, as usual, Robin. 🙂 I love the stormy skies and the flowers.
    Our crocuses are still up–some just bloomed.
    NJ Senators are Democrats– one is Cory Booker. I’ve been trying to call to thank them for speaking out. My representative is a Democrat, too, and I called his office today about the Nadler resolution to make the DoJ release dt’s records. I had a nice talk with the man who answered the phone, and he said, the Congressman had just come out in support of it. Well, we’ll see if the Republicans bury it tomorrow.

    On the bright side, All Things Considered had the National Symphony Orchestra playing live during their show–just ending now.

    Like

  2. Hi Robin!
    Long time no see. I’m not on line much these days. With trouble with the internet, computers and my muse being gone since Nov 8, I just try to catch up with friends, like you.
    Our Senators are great democrats, as well as our Representative. It’s so hard to find that balance between calling them, doing my part and also staying in love, happiness and gratitude – the eye of the storm. I’m tired of these interesting times too.

    I love your photos. The crocus do glow! Your Spring is so early. Our crocus usually don’t come out until mid – late April. Daffodils in May. Peepers in early April. I hope they don’t come too soon.

    Anyway, Robin. It’s nice to connect. Thank you for a beautiful post. I always enjoy spending time with you on the Wabi Sabi Ranch. Btw, beautiful cat! I love calicos.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Better call the congressman. Budget from the President today is 64% DOD. 37% cuts to foreign assistance, which is less than 1% of the budget. I can only hope Congress and its constituents speak up. Even at the height of the Iraq war, we weren’t spending 64% on DOD.

    Like

  4. Thank you for the touches of spring, reassurances that it will return. We have been having snow showers for the past few days again. I am weary of winter and these “interesting times”. My tolerance level for both is nearly exhausted.

    Like

  5. Robin…we must be soul sisters. From your favorite color to the beauty in nature that heals and your feeling about our country, everything you wrote today deeply resonated. I enjoy your meanders very much. 💕

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

