Posted in Air, Assateague Island, Beach, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Weather, Winter, Wonder

A Monday meander

A pop of color to wake up the eyes.
A pop of color to wake up the eyes.

To allow oneself to be carried away by a multitude of conflicting concerns, to surrender to too many demands, to commit to too many projects, to want to help everyone in everything is itself to succumb to the violence of our times.

~Thomas Merton

Beach heather on the dunes.
Beach heather on the dunes.

We have been given the gift of mild weather here on the Eastern Shore over the past two days.  The sun has been shining down upon us, the breeze has been gentle, and the temperatures have been warm for this time of year.

Grasses and trees on Assateague Island.
Grasses and trees on Assateague Island.

Yesterday and today I spent some time outside in my scrounger’s garden cleaning up and getting ready for spring planting.  Instead of clearing things in the fall, I left the zinnias and weeds from last season so the birds could enjoy the seeds.  It looks like they appreciated the zinnia seeds.  There were not many left on the heads of the dried plants.

Some sort of green ground cover has been growing throughout the winter, spreading out across the flower beds.  I’ll work on turning that into the ground soon.  I am amazed by the condition of the dirt in the scrounger’s garden.  When I started (almost four years ago), it was clay and some of what I tried to grow out there didn’t survive long.  Between the mulch and the addition of compost each year, I now I have a lovely, rich, dark soil.

In the pines.
In the pines.

The seed and bulb catalogs started arriving a few weeks ago.  I need to sit down and make some decisions about what to plant in the scrounger’s garden this year.  There will be zinnias, of course.  The butterflies and hummingbirds have come to expect them and I wouldn’t want to disappoint the beautiful winged creatures who grace my garden with their presence.  Instead of trying something new, I might add a few more lavender plants since those have been thriving.  In fact, I think I’ll keep it simple with just those few things.

Looking out.
Looking out.

In the fall I want to work on planting more bulbs around the property.  Since M has cleared out the cemetery, I think it would be a good place for hoards of daffodils.  I thought about tulips, too, but they would probably get eaten.  Someone keeps eating the few flowers I get on the one tulip I have in the scrounger’s garden.  With all the rabbits and deer around here, I couldn’t possibly say who.  But they know who they are.

A bouquet of dried flowers in the pines.
A bouquet of dried flowers in the pines.

M has been working in the vegetable garden.  He found that the Swiss chard is growing again and picked a large bowlful of baby chard for us to have with our dinner yesterday.  I think we’re going to expand the vegetable garden this year.  Given the direction that our government is headed with the rollback of regulations and the possible demise of the EPA, we may be better off in the long run if we get back into the habit of growing as much of our food as possible.  I will need to buckle down when it comes to preserving our harvests.  I’ve slacked on that the past few years, mostly because it is so hot here during the harvest months and I am loathe to add more heat and humidity to the mix through canning.  M thinks he has a solution to that.  We’ll have to wait and see what it is.

Beauty spreads.
Beauty spreads.

The daffodils around the property have sprung up from the earth and have buds on them.  I expect I’ll be seeing the crocuses soon.  They have me thinking about spring cleaning.  I might get an early start on it this year.  Tomorrow, they say, the temperature will be in the 60’s.  It will be a good day to open up the house and air things out.

No. 13. On the Life of the Dunes Trail.
No. 13. On the Life of the Dunes Trail.

I reckon that’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this beautiful February day.  Most of the photos were taken when I went to Assateague a week or so ago.  I’m still sorting through the images and will likely bring more to you soon.

One of my favorite trees on Assateague Island.
One of my favorite trees on Assateague Island.

I’m going to watch the sunset from the Point this evening.  It is scheduled for 5:32 PM, and it’s always on time.  I’ll be there early as usual.  Feel free to join me if you wish.

Saturday's sunset.
Saturday’s sunset.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

The little doe.
The little doe.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  111)  The scent of the earth, and the feel of having my hands in the dirt again.  112)  Turkey buzzards sunning themselves on the roof of the pavilion.  113)  A hawk whistling in the woods.  114)  Fresh chard from the garden.  115)  The balm of nature, and the way it soothes the soul.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

16 thoughts on “A Monday meander

  1. Lovely, Robin–all of it, the thoughts of spring, the gardening, the photos (awww, that little doe!).
    I love gardens, but I really do not like gardening. I’m looking for a way to have it happen if I just wish it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Merril. 🙂 I never cared much for the actual gardening part, either. I still don’t work as hard as I ought to, but since I enjoy the flowers, the hummingbirds, and the butterflies, I do just enough to be able to enjoy all three. Call it the Lazy Gardener Method. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I was in the garden too, cleaning up this weekend–had done the same thing you did with the zinnias. I went to get the roses trimmed and wound up doing a general light clean up. Merton is so wise. I’m hoping to focus on only a few things that matter. Beautiful dune trail and lovely tree!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lisa. 🙂 I have been pondering the roses, wondering if it’s too soon to trim them. Given how mild the winter has been, I think I’ll probably do it soon. I think spring will arrive early this year.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That is a lovely new quote for my collection, thanks you Robin! How wonderful that there are signs of Spring coming with her renewed message of hope. See how the Earth keeps on doing her thing despite the feeble idiocies of some egomaniacs. This too shall pass…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It has been nice to get out and dig around a bit, Eliza. 🙂 I might not feel this good about it when the weeds really start to grow, but during this slower period of time, I truly enjoy it. Maybe that’s because I’m so slow. Once the growth of things begins to accelerate, I can’t keep up.

      Like

  4. I enjoyed reading about your Monday Meander, Robin. The images are very restful. I especially like the little doe and the dunes, which look very much like the dunes here on our Headlands. The pop of color at the beginning definitely opened my eyes. I am a little exhausted reading about your plans for gardening and canning, but the results will be wonderful I am sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Skip. 🙂 Just the thought of gardening and canning exhausts me too, but as you pointed out, the results are wonderful. There’s nothing like popping open a jar of tomatoes in February and inhaling the scent of summer.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

