Posted in Air, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Lovingkindness, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Sky, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Winter

A Monday meander on a Tuesday

Sunrise this morning.
Sunrise on Christmas morning.

Love creates a communion with life. Love expands us, connects us, sweetens us, ennobles us.

Love springs up in tender concern, it blossoms into caring action. It makes beauty out of all we touch. In any moment we can step beyond our small self and embrace each other as beloved parts of a whole.

~ Jack Kornfield, The Art of Forgiveness, Lovingkindness, and Peace

Watching the frost melt as the sun rises.
Watching the frost melt as the sun rises on Christmas morning.

I feel as though I’ve been away forever, and yet not gone more than a minute.  I’ve been wrapped up in holidays, family, occasional solitude, good books, poetry, music, walking, yoga, meditation, writing (yes, on The Book which might take me 16 years to complete but I will complete it someday!), travel, and some extreme self-care.  I think it is the self-care more than anything else that has kept me away from the blog.  My focus, when not with family and/or friends, has been inward, a not uncommon occurrence this time of year.

Hanging out by the pond.
Hanging out by the pond.

It is a retrospective as well as an introspective time of year, when we reach the end of one calendar year and start the next.  I could say that 2016 is a year I’d much rather forget, but there was good that shouldn’t be (and won’t be) forgotten and lessons that I suspect we’ll all continue to learn as time goes on.  I had a moment in which I thought I’d write a retrospective blog post covering some of my favorite photos from the year, but the moment passed as quickly as it came, leaving me in the next moment with other thoughts, ideas, and inspirations.

A sunset journey.
A sunset journey.

I also had a long list of things I wanted to close out before 2016 became 2017, but that list came and went the same way other thoughts, ideas, and inspirations came and went.  This doesn’t feel like a time for me to be doing this, that, and the other thing.  Oh, I’ll take care of those things eventually, but for now, I am germinating (for lack of a better word).  The new parts of me that are developing, that have been developing, are not ready to come out of the dark just yet.

In no hurry.
In no hurry.

It’s been raining here on the Eastern Shore for the past two days.  I once heard someone say that the first twelve days of the year reflect the weather patterns for the twelve months of the year.  January 1st’s weather, for instance, will indicate the general weather pattern for January, January 2nd’s weather for February, January 3rd’s for March, etc.  It’s an old wife’s tale or some such thing, and if there is any truth to it, January should be a mostly sunny month for us whereas February and March will be extremely wet.  There has been no snow here so far, but I did see some in the Bogs when we went west to visit with family over the holidays.  Snow squalls from the Lake Erie lake-effect machine mostly, and the snow didn’t amount to much.  Still, it was beautiful to watch as it fell from the sky.

Solstice sunset.
Solstice sunset.

The pictures I am posting are from last year.  I haven’t taken many photos yet this new year.  Mostly a few of family, and I think those were all taken on the last day of 2016 so of course they don’t count as this year.  I’ll break out the camera again soon.  Maybe when the rain stops.  It’s nice to take some time away from the camera and spend the moments enjoying what I see rather than trying to frame it and capture it for posterity.

Solstice sunset a little later.
Solstice sunset a little later.

I reckon that’s about it for this Monday meander on a Tuesday.  Happy New Year! and thank you for meandering along with me.  The heavy rain has stopped and it’s now misting.  If I see any signs that the clouds are going to break up and the sun is going to put in an appearance, I think I’ll go to the Point for sunset.  I’ll be there early, as usual, if you want to join me.  Sunset is at 4:56 PM.

Growing darker.
Growing darker.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Turning around for one last look before leaving the dock.
Turning around for one last look before leaving the dock.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  81)  Snickerdoodles!  I normally don’t bake cookies, but M wanted some snickerdoodles over the holidays.  Would you believe I’ve never had snickerdoodles before?  I think it’s true, or at least true to the best of my memory.  I think I’d remember a cookie like that since it has two of my favorite flavors which are… 82)  Cinnamon and butter.  83)  A soft, misty rain, and the slight sparkle of the raindrops on the rosebush.  84)  Getting back on a regular schedule, and settling back in at home.  85)  Afternoon naps, and having time to take them.  I don’t nap for long (about 15-20 minutes), but it’s long enough to refresh me.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

11 thoughts on “A Monday meander on a Tuesday

  1. Hi Robin, Happy New Year to you and M.
    Beautiful pictures, as always. 😊
    We had quite an eventful year last year, three weddings, two as mother of the bride, they were the up bits in a very up and down year but here we are, all ready to go again.
    Best of luck for 2017. 😊

    Like

  2. I’m always happy to meander with you, whatever day it is. The photos are stunning (as always)–and there, too, it doesn’t matter when they were taken.
    I can’t believe you’ve never had Snickerdoodles before. I think I first discovered them in my mom’s Betty Crocker cookbook when I was a teen. I didn’t bake them for Christmas though (we’re still eating cookies–think I made enough?). 🙂
    Enjoy your germinating time!

    Like

  3. Such glorious skies! I completely understand the need to be introspective as the year turns. I really felt the need to just BE, goof off, sleep whenever and take walks. It was wonderful!

    Like

  4. And here I am wandering by on a Wednesday to visit a Monday meandering on Tuesday. It’s all relative when you’re retired. I love the sunset w/ the row of trees and the birds flying over the top of them. Amazing. Some of these have great potential to be ink paintings…glad Carol saw them!

    Happy Wednesday to you Robin! The time is flying by already in this new year. Every day closer to spring.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

