Posted in Air, Autumn, Change, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Pond, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Wonder, Woods

A Monday meander

Morning reflections
Morning reflections

When I say it’s you I like, I’m talking about that part of you that knows that life is far more than anything you can ever see or hear or touch. That deep part of you that allows you to stand for those things without which humankind cannot survive. Love that conquers hate, peace that rises triumphant over war, and justice that proves more powerful than greed.

~ Fred Rogers

Gathering on the forest floor.
Gathering on the forest floor.

I have had a lot on my mind lately, but nothing that I find easy to put into words.  Perhaps that is because I am overwhelmed by the scope of my mind-wanderings which encompass world events, politics, and a questioning about where we are all headed.  I keep coming back to a Rumi quote that was popular for a while.

Trying to see what is on the other side.
Trying to see what is on the other side.

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing
and rightdoing there is a field.
I’ll meet you there.

When the soul lies down in that grass
the world is too full to talk about.

~ Jalaludin Rumi

A field.
A field that is out beyond ideas.  (Taken May 15, 2016.)

I am feeling pessimistic, especially about the way people no longer talk with each other about issues that are important to all of us, no matter what side we are on.  Easier and better, according to some, to pass around memes and fake news, and respond with counter-memes and fact checks.  Discussions and reasonable debates require too much energy and independent thought.  A family member, when confronted with a fact check, wrote, “It’s called FACEbook not FACTbook.”  I gather that means it is okay to pass on false information (lies) via the internet whether that be through email (remember all those “fwd: fwd: fwd: emails we used to get?), blogs, fake news sites, or Facebook.

Spirits in the woods. (A digitally enhanced photo.)
Spirits dancing in the woods. (A digitally enhanced photo.  I used Photoshop and Pixlr.)

I recently read an interesting interview with a creator of fake news.  (You can find it here if interested.  That link takes you to the NPR website.)  What astonished me, and I’m not sure why because I’ve seen plenty of evidence to support it, is that this is basically a right-wing (conservative) issue.  The fake news guy went on to say:

We’ve tried to do similar things to liberals. It just has never worked, it never takes off. You’ll get debunked within the first two comments and then the whole thing just kind of fizzles out.

Worse yet, in a new study conducted by Stanford prior to all the brouhaha after the U.S. election about fake news, many students in middle school, high school, and college were unable to “effectively evaluate the credibility of that information” presented to them.  In other words, the future is in the hands and minds of those who are easily duped by the information thrown at them online.  (You can read that story here at NPR.)

A beautiful moment from January.
A beautiful moment from January.

The other bothersome thing on my mind is that since the advent of a certain news organization (that appears to work on the principle that if you repeat it enough, it will become truth), people have willingly allowed themselves to be brainwashed because it suits their beliefs.  I have also noticed a rewriting of recent history that has no basis in fact (I checked), and yet folks keep passing it around like candy.

Bubbles and cracks.
Bubbles and cracks.

Ah, well.  Let’s meander elsewhere, shall we?  I’ve been wandering through old photos, sorting, deleting, and playing around as I get ready to start fresh in a new year.  It takes a while to go through all of my images from the year, and I’ve come across some that were never used here at Ye Olde Blogge.  That’s why you’re seeing some of them now.  I thought it time to take a few out and dust them off so they can have their day outside of the archives.

I see the beginnings of a peace symbol. What do you see?
I see the beginnings of a peace symbol. What do you see?

When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace.

~ Jimi Hendrix

A small whirlpool. (January 9, 2016)
A small whirlpool. (January 9, 2016)

I recently bought a new tarot deck even though I thought I was through buying more tarot cards.  I purchased The Wild Unknown Tarot by Kim Krans.  I had seen some pictures of the cards online and fell in love with the artwork.  I have been drawing a card every day to help me learn the deck, but mostly so I can admire the art.  Today I drew IX. The Hermit.  This card advises me to meditate, spend time alone, and to step back from the usual business of life and seek stillness.  Evidently, according to the guidebook, this will light my inner fire for all to see.

Sitting by the pond yesterday.
Sitting by the pond yesterday.

At the very least, it is time to take a vacation from the news.  I think I might even unplug for a day this week just for the fun and relief of it.

A little play.
A little play.

I reckon that’s about it for today’s meander through thoughts, archives, and around the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  Thank you for visiting and meandering along with me.  Let’s go out to the dock to watch the sunset this evening.  I’m not sure we’ll see much since there have been clouds moving in all afternoon.  The walk will be nice whether we see a great sunset or not.  It’s scheduled for 4:44 PM.  We should get there about a half hour prior to that if we want to see the sun slip down behind the trees on the horizon.

Rising up.
Rising up.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Overhead lights.
Overhead lights.

A few of the 10,000 reasons to be happy:  56) Cranberry bread made by my sister-in-law.  Delicious!  57) A hot cuppa tea to take the chill off.  58) Izzy sitting on the desk and looking out the window.  59) New cards to play with.  60) Getting back to drawing a daily mandala.  I had taken a small break, what with all the travel and company.  It feels good to be drawing again.

variations-003
Variations.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

11 thoughts on “A Monday meander

  1. It should not be so difficult to find the truth, but I fear we are less concerned with the truth than we used to be. Now we seem to want to react, accept, yell louder than those we disagree with, and follow. Like sheep.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This was quite a meander, and I think the title of the top photo has a dual meaning. I could certainly get lost reflecting in the reflections. 🙂
    I had heard/read those same stories about fake news. It is frustrating that people don’t seem to care. Also there was an op-ed piece today about the news media not challenging fake news, for example when Chief Twitter Thumbs tweets out false information, the news sites report it instead of saying right from the top that it is false. Sigh.
    In any case, the photos are lovely–I really like the top one and the rising up and overhead lights.
    I hope you still have some cranberry bread. I think it’s time for a slice with some tea. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, that would be just the thing right now, Merril. There is plenty left. Have a slice or two. It’s yummy.
      Chief Twitter Thumbs…lol!! I hadn’t heard/read that one before. I’m glad I didn’t have a mouthful of that tea when I read it. 😀 It’s very frustrating that the news outlets don’t start pushing the facts and calling people out when the information is incorrect. I blame them, in part, for the current debacle and the election of Chief Twitter Thumbs. If they hadn’t given his outrageousness so much coverage, his candidacy probably wouldn’t have died before the primary.
      Thank you. 🙂 I’m glad you like the pictures.

      Like

  3. We’re on the same page here, Robin, no surprise. It’s enough to make one weep, so much craziness going on. I keep chanting to myself, ‘faith, not fear’ to keep my mind focused on the highest good and sparkling possibilities. I had to take a long walk today to be alone in nature. She always shores me up!
    Lovely photos as always.

    Like

  4. Beautiful photos to take a bit of the sting off of the truths in your thoughts. I too find myself walking out in nature to clear my head of the craziness, and to see that there is still beauty out there that is real. I’ve taken long breaks lately from Facebook, and a lot of TV news too.

    Like

  5. Do take a break. You’ll feel better! I read that same article and I was astonished by the credulousness of the people who accepted the articles and the mercenary nature (it’s a money-making venture) of the fake news creators. If it were like The Onion, then it would be okay, but …

    Like

  6. I mirror your concerns. The frenzy, the hyper emotional noise, the lack of logic and decorum lead me to unplug from news and even blogging. Just couldn’t take the shallow and meanness – for what? So I’m still not sure i want to return. Luckily the weather has been been gorgeous – just the thing needed.
    Gorgeous pictures once again!
    (Oh, I have several Tarot decks – and used them for ages – and still unwrap them from their silk covers once in a while.)

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

