Posted in Air, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Wonder

The rhythms of life

Uplifted.
Uplifted.  (A butterfly in take-off position.)

Happiness is not a matter of intensity but of balance, order, rhythm and harmony.

~ Thomas Merton

A twist.
A twist.

The same stream of life that runs through my veins night and day runs through the world and dances in rhythmic measures. It is the same life that shoots in joy through the dust of the earth in numberless blades of grass and breaks into tumultuous waves of leaves and flowers.

~ Rabindranath Tagore

Balanced.
Balanced.

Even with the biting insects (which have made a comeback), even with the heat and humidity (which have also made a comeback), even with the jungle-like growth of weeds (which didn’t need to make a comeback because I can’t keep up with them), my scrounger’s garden continues to be a source of delight.  It is alive.  Not just with the plants, not just with all kinds of winged (and not winged) creatures, but with magic and with beauty and with Life Itself.

A delicate touch.
A delicate touch.

When I first saw the opening photo of this post, the one in which the butterfly has just lifted off the little pink zinnia, I was surprised to see what actually happens when a butterfly lifts off.  I thought they rose straight up, in a hover of sorts, when they fluttered their beautiful wings.  I don’t know if all butterflies do what this butterfly did, but I love the way it threw itself up into the air trusting that it could and would fly.  If it were a person or a fairy or if I in some other way anthropomorphized this lovely creature, I would say she ascended heart first into flight.  The butterfly’s heart, however, is on the upper portion of his/her body (which would be the part facing downwards in the photo of the butterfly in the first stages of flight) so perhaps s/he is protecting her/his heart.

Larger than the flower.
Larger than the flower.

Our biological rhythms are the symphony of the cosmos, music embedded deep within us to which we dance, even when we can’t name the tune.

~ Deepak Chopra

Red, the color of passion and desire, love and strength, fire and war.
Red, the color of passion and desire, love and strength, fire and war.

I’ve been spending a lot of time outdoors this week.  I’ll tell you more during our coffee chat tomorrow or Saturday.  I just wanted to show you a little of it now since there has been so much to see and do.  And — I may be exaggerating a bit here — I’ve taken about a hundred thousand pictures, some of which might be worth sharing.

Another breathtaking sunset at the Point.
Another breathtaking sunset at the Point.

Life has its rhythm and we have ours. They’re designed to coexist in harmony, so that when we do what is ours to do and otherwise let life be, we garner acceptance and serenity.

~ Victoria Moran

A walk on the beach.
A walk on the beach.

Thank you for stopping by today.  I hope all is well with you, and I hope to get caught up with all things blogging sometime in the next century.  lol!  I usually write “sometime soon,” but I can see that is not likely to happen.  In the meantime, our sunsets have been lovely lately.  Meet me down at the Point this evening if you’re so inclined.  Sunset is scheduled for 7:42 PM.  It’s best to get there about 15-20 minutes early because you never know when the best part of the show will start.  Sometimes it’s just before sundown, sometimes it’s during, and sometimes it’s after.

Ripples.
Ripples.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Birds in flight.
The blues of sunset.

Today’s joys:  An early morning bicycle ride; watching a bobwhite cross the road; the sound and antics of the killdeers; the rustling and glimpse of a deer in the marsh grasses; encountering other cyclists on my route (usually there is no one else out there); standing on the shore at the Point and communing with the wind.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

16 thoughts on “The rhythms of life

  1. Glorious and joyful, Robin–post and photos!
    It’s amazing how you caught the butterfly just starting to fly.

    I wished I had had a camera with me this morning to snap a picture of the turkey crossing the road–just doing that head bobbing thing and strolling (to get to the other side, of course). I think his wife went first, and he was just taking his time. It made me laugh.

    We had beautiful weather to be outside this week–which I was not. Oh well. But it was good to have the windows open. I think the a/c will be back on tomorrow–maybe even tonight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Merril. 🙂 lol! I thought of that joke, too, when the bobwhite crossed the road. Turkeys, especially male turkeys, almost always make me laugh. They really do strut.

      It was good here, too. The weather, I mean. Today it’s expected to reach triple digits down here. I think I’ll find stuff to do indoors where the a/c will help me keep my cool. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “She ascended heart first…” Love this. And always love your butterfly/zinnia shots. And of course sunsets are all good. Sigh. Saw some beautiful sunsets here too lately. Must be the late summer heat and humidity getting up to something good for a change.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous Robin!!!! I loved every photo and quote. Thank you for sharing them.
    Peace
    Mary

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

