Posted in Beginnings, Change, Critters, Death, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Grandparenthood, Life, Love, Maryland, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Play, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Water, WeekendCoffeeShare, Wonder

If we were having coffee: Quiet Saturday afternoon edition

Love in the palm of my hand.
Love in the palm of my hand.  (Phone photograph.)

What advice do I tell my grandson?
I listen to him.

~ Roy Haynes

Little Wookie in the arms of his great-grandfather.
Little Wookie in the arms of his great-grandfather.

If we were having coffee, tea, water, or whatever you would like to drink, I would be excited and thrilled to see you again.  It’s been a while (over a month!), and I am so happy to be able to welcome you back to the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  Come on in and make yourself at home!  I should warn you up front that I’m apt to be chatty.  So much has happened since we last got together for a coffee chat.  I promise not to touch on every detail of my summer adventures, but I can’t promise I’ll keep it short.  It is amazing to me how much life can be packed into three short weeks.  On the other hand, I’m also fairly exhausted so it’s possible I’ll peter out before you can say, “Boo!”

How are you?  What have you been up to lately?  Have you traveled anywhere or seen anything new?  Taken a vacation or staycation?  Have you learned something new since our last chat?  Taken any classes?  Gone on any good walks or hikes?  Read any good books or seen any good films?

12 July 2016: A walk around the pond at Breezy Acres.
12 July 2016: A walk around the pond at Breezy Acres.

I have read a couple of books since we last got together and seen a couple of films.  I finally finished the Asimov book (Nemesis), started and finished Toby’s Room and one other book, Sorcery and Cecelia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot.  Nemesis was okay.  I was glad to be finished with it.  Toby’s Room was excellent, and I enjoyed Sorcery and Cecelia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot.  If I had to sum up Sorcery and Cecelia in one word, the word would be charming.  The book is for young readers (12 and older).  I think my oldest granddaughter might enjoy it, but didn’t get a chance to talk with her too much about it when I saw her.

I am currently reading The Liars’ Club: A Memoir.  I’m not sure how it got on my reading list although I suspect someone recommended it.  I don’t read a lot of memoirs.  I prefer to spend my reading time on fiction as it is a good way to escape some of the realities of life.  You can’t do that with a memoir.  The Liars’ Club does have its witty moments, and Mary Karr’s writing is pretty powerful and downright gritty at times.  It is a fast read and I should finish it soon.

At the Harrisburg train station.
At the Harrisburg train station.

If we were having coffee, tea, or some other beverage, I would tell you that I had a lovely trip out to the Bogs on the train.  I took The Pennsylvanian which travels from New York City to Pittsburgh (and back again, of course).  I caught the train in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, and rode as far as Greensburg, Pennsylvania, which is the last stop before Pittsburgh.  It’s possible to get closer to the Bogs via train by switching trains in Pittsburgh, but that involves waiting at the station in Pittsburgh for several hours and arriving in the Bogs around 2:00 or 3:00 AM.  As for Pittsburgh itself, it’s easier to drive in and out of Greensburg, and wouldn’t have saved us any drive time had I gone to Pittsburgh.

I’ve traveled this route before (there’s a post about it here, if you’re interested).  It’s a beautiful ride through Pennsylvania.

Along the way. Looking out one of the train windows.
Along the way. Looking out one of the train windows.

My father traveled out to the Bogs by train, too, on The Pennsylvanian.  He started in Philadelphia, and got off in Greensburg.  Dad came out to Ohio on July 29 for Little Wookie’s baptism which was on July 31.  He performed the baptism.  Those of you who have followed me for a while might remember that he’s a deacon in the Catholic church and can perform weddings, funerals, baptisms, etc.  In fact, Dad officiated at the wedding of M the Younger and his lovely wife.  It’s wonderful that he could also baptize their first child.

Horseshoe Curve
Horseshoe Curve

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that my first week of babysitting was quite a learning experience.  It has been a long time since I’ve cared for a 3-month-old child.  Now I know why people over fifty don’t have babies.  LOL!  I was so exhausted after the first couple of days that I was ready to ask M to come out and help me.  I wasn’t sure I could do it on my own.  As it turned out, I could do it very well on my own,  As much as I enjoyed my days with Little Wookie, I should admit that it was also something of a relief to turn him over to his parents in the evening when they finished work.

Lawn flowers.
Lawn flowers.

I spent my three weeks with Little Wookie taking in all the hugs and snuggles that I could.  I was amazed at how much he learned during that short period of time.  By the time I left, we were holding long conversations although I can’t tell you exactly what it was he was babbling on about in his babyspeak.  He could be quite expressive, smiling here and there, following that with a frown or a serious look.  I call his serious look his Winston Churchill imitation.  Little Wookie’s smiles and laughter are super infectious, passed on and repeated by all who come in contact with them.  He had discovered how to grab his toes and feet by the time I left, and it looked as though he thought that was the most fascinating, fun thing in all the world.  He was also intentionally grabbing things, something he wasn’t quite doing when I arrived.  His arm movements were less flailing and more purposeful.

Something made him laugh.
Something made him laugh.

There was also a Very Sad Event during my stay.  Bo the Dog got very sick and died.  It happened so quickly, in the space of a week, which seemed like a blink of the eye.  Bo was The Bestest Dog Ever.  He is the first dog I’ve loved.  As silly as it might sound, I thought of him as my granddog.  He was part of the family.  Bo stayed with M and I on a couple of occasions while his people went on vacation.

Bo the Bestest Dog Ever, also known as The Dog Who Loved Snow.
Bo the Bestest Dog Ever, also known as The Dog Who Loved Snow.  (January 4, 2012)

Bo will be sorely missed by his pack/people.  I still haven’t had the time to sit down and truly be sad about his passing.  I am so grateful that I had the opportunity to get to know him during his short time on earth.  He was only around six years old or so.  Nobody is quite sure since M the Younger and Mere got him from a Newfoundland dog rescue in Colorado.  By some odd coincidence, he was actually from the Bogs area (NE Ohio).  How he made his way to Colorado is anybody’s guess.  The fact that he was adopted by people from his home state is an interesting coincidence.

Bo died with his pack surrounding him on Thursday, July 29, in the front yard at Breezy Acres.  I am pretty sure he waited until both of his main people (M the Younger and Mere) were there.  He was buried on a meadow hillside near a beautiful maple tree on the property.  He will always be bounding around in the hearts of those who knew him.

I hope you are bounding around in the snow somewhere now, Bo.
I hope you are bounding around in the snow somewhere now, Bo.

Well, enough of that or I will be crying.

Let's go back out to the pond.
Let’s go back out to the pond.

There is a lot more to share, but I think I’ll do that with pictures as time goes on.  Remember what I said about petering out?  I’m almost at that point.  M and I just returned from a quick trip up to New Jersey to take my father home (about eight hours, round-trip).  He came back here to the Wabi-Sabi Ranch with us the day after Little Wookie’s baptism.  It’s the first time he’s been here.  Dad said he enjoyed the quiet, the beauty, the company, and most especially, the hummingbirds.  He spent quite a bit of time on the porch watching them at the feeder.  We took him to Assateague Island and happened upon the new foal that was born just two days before our visit.  Dad got to see a lot of wildlife during his short visit including a deer and a red fox.  I’m glad the critters around here were willing to come out for him.

We had some pretty days while I was in the Bogs.
We had some pretty days while I was in the Bogs.

All the emotional events (happy and sad and everything in between), the traveling, the visits with family and friends, and the traveling (yes, I know, I mentioned that already but I put in a lot of mileage so it deserves more than one mention), I am plumb wore out.  Thank you so much for stopping by and visiting with me on this steaming hot Saturday.  I hear it’s going to cool off tonight or tomorrow.  I might drive to the Point this evening to watch the sunset.  You’re welcome to join me.  It’s at 8:06 PM.  I think the partly cloudy sky might make for an interesting and colorful backdrop.

A moment to rest.
A moment to rest.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Sparkling in the sunlight.
Sparkling in the sunlight.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Thank you to Diana for hosting it.  Also, a big congratulations for the #WeekendCoffeeShare being featured on WordPress’s Daily Post.  So glad to see it being shared among the rest of the community!  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

20 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Quiet Saturday afternoon edition

  1. So much in this post, Robin–wonderful, happy, sad, and travel plus travel. Oh, and travel. 🙂 So sorry about Bo. He was so young! I have a granddog, too, and I would also be very upset if he died. We’ll be taking care of him and his brother (who happens to be a cat) while their “parents” are away.

    Little Wookie is adorable! I can hear those baby laughs through the photo. My younger daughter also loved grabbing her feet. 🙂

    Of course your photos are stunning, as usual. Enjoy the rest of your steaming Saturday. It’s the same here. Thank goodness for a/c. I think we’re supposed to get a thunderstorm later.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you’re home safely and that you had all that time with the baby. I’m jealous. I haven’t seen Mati for 6 weeks and have seen very few pictures. I’m hoping to get out there soon but I’m waiting to be invited. I’m not one to invite myself. I’m hoping they catch on to the hints I’ve left on Facebook!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a lot. First, what a great train trip! I love driving through PA…but I think a train would be even better. And of course I’m very very sorry about Bo – that had to be traumatic for all of you. So young! BUT…the baby is gorgeous and how wonderful to have that time with him. And a great grandpa too! That’s beyond special. Glad your dad got to spend time at the ranch as well. Quiet time together is precious.

    And lastly…your header looks a lot like my header did for a bit…we have cedar trees down at the end of the creek. I should put that picture back up.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love your photos per usual – esp. the pond shots. Nice to hear about your trip and see the newest and oldest generation together. Sorry to hear about the Sad news, always hard to deal with loss.
    It must be nice to be back home where you can just put your feet up. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Eliza. 🙂 It’s wonderful to be able to just rest and relax a bit. It won’t last long, though, as our vegetables decided to grow madly while we were away and now we have to harvest and preserve.

      Like

  5. At about this time last year, I also lost my Stein, a happy and sweet silky-tzu who loved cookies. I’m sorry for your loss. I’d like to think Stein and Bo are having a grand time up there. I smiled when I saw Little Wookie’s smile too, he looks adorable. Loving your tale about traveling by train. We don’t get that from where I live but last Autumn, I visited my best friend and we took the Metro from the charming place Scarsdale to Manhattan.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. An eventful and emotional coffee share. So very sad about Bo. So hard to lose a family member like that – our dog before Daphne ( our sweet golden who passed in November) “Fergus” also passed away young, he had severe seizures. Glad you had happy family time to balance out.
    I’m looking forward to more photos from your travels in the coming days.
    (I’ve just gotten back from a vacation myself – maybe I’ll write a blog post. I keep saying that, don’t I? )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol, Karma! Yes, you do. 🙂 I find it difficult to get started again once I’ve been gone for a while, especially if life is full and busy (which I suspect yours is!). Thank you. The family time did help with Bo’s passing. I hope it was helpful to his people, too, to have so many loved ones gathered around them.

      Like

  7. So nice that you were able to have some time to get to know little Wookie, and to renew your friendship with your old stomping grounds. It is hard to lose a loved one, and just because Bo had more hair than many of your loved ones, it makes him no less important. It sounds like you had a wonderful trip, but isn’t it always nice to get back home?

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

