Posted in Earth, Exploring, Family, Fire, Gifts, Grandparenthood, Home, Life, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Summer, The Bogs, Travel, Water, Wonder

A sunrise and sunset from the Bogs

IMG_20160715_142936_602

“Happiness is home. And home is not a house — home is a mythological conceit. It is a state of mind. A place of communion and unconditional love. It is where, when you cross its threshold, you finally feel at peace.”

— Dennis Leanne

IMG_20160715_143101_962

I often wonder about the definition and the idea of home. It seems to me that the concept of home can be very fluid. For instance, the place I call the Bogs (Northeast Ohio) is no longer my physical home, but a part of me still feels as if it is home. My heart’s home, of course, is with M (who, I must admit I miss terribly after only one week away from him). And my physical home for now is the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on the Eastern Shore of Maryland.

Ah well. I just lost my train of thought while being in the moment with Little Wookie. Spending time with him is quite liberating in that it gets me out of my head and into life and the Now. That’s a very good thing.

Clouds are building over the pond. Some look dark and threatening. The weather gurus have declared that storms are possible, and they may be right. The wind is picking up and in the time it took me to type that out, a smattering of raindrops have begun to splash down on the surface of the water. The water level of the pond is low, but that is typical of summer here. The rain is welcome.

Thank you for visiting with me in the Bogs. Be good, be kind, be loving. Just Be. 🙂

P.S. I will be relying on my phone for photos. I have no way of uploading images from my camera but can easily email phone photographs to myself and then download them to my tablet.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

16 thoughts on “A sunrise and sunset from the Bogs

    1. No objections whatsoever, Carol. If you’ve already done it, point me in the right direction so I can see your creativity. I am nearing the end of my three weeks of babysitting my wonderful grandson and might be able to find a little time here and there soon. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Beautiful, Robin! Made me so homesick for the red sunsets of northern Ohio! I was there two weeks ago, but did not get a chance to enjoy nature. Family wedding and associated activities were keeping me busy. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

