Posted in Beach, Cycling, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water, WeekendCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee: Bicycling edition

On the way to the Point.
On the way to the Point.

 

What dreadful hot weather we have!  It keeps me in a continual state of inelegance.

~ Jane Austen

In a field of wheat.
In a field of wheat.

If we were having coffee, tea, soda, water, or some other beverage, I would be happy to see you again.  Come on in out of the heat and cool yourself off for a spell!  It feels pretty good in the house, and we have plenty of cold beverages on hand.  I also have some cooling snacks that include the usual hummus, veggies, and a red beet borani.  Have you ever had borani?  Borani is a Middle Eastern appetizer made with yogurt and other ingredients.  I followed this recipe, sort of.  I couldn’t find chioggia beets so had to make due with red beets.  That’s why it looks such a shocking shade of pinkish-purple.  We also have all kinds of olives and pickled vegetables, including pickled turnips.  I don’t know about you, but I crave salty foods when the weather is hot.  I try not to overdo it, and make sure I drink plenty of herbal teas and water to make up for the saltiness.

A plate for you.
A plate for you.

Let’s have a seat here in the kitchen or, if you prefer, we can go out to the great room.  It’s too hot and buggy to sit on the deck.  The screened-in porch keeps the bugs away, but the air is pretty oppressive out there, too.

How are you?  What have you been up to lately?  Have you traveled anywhere?  Visited any museums or parks?  Taken any good walks or hikes?  Spent time with friends and/or loved ones?  Have you read any good books or seen any good films since our last chat?

In the garden, a self-portrait.
In the garden, a self-portrait.

If we were having coffee or whatever, I would tell you that I finished reading The Invention of Wings.  It was an excellent book, and I highly recommend it.  It is based on true events and people, although the author did take some liberties to create the story.  There is a good description (along with reviews) here, if you’re interested.  I am currently reading Nemesis by Isaac Asimov.  I found it in a stack of books M the Younger was getting rid of, and since I’ve never read any books by Asimov, I grabbed it (and a few others).  I do like sci-fi, and don’t know how I could possibly have missed Asimov.  I’ve read two of the other “Big Three” (Heinlein and Clarke).  It’s high time I filled in this blank.

Waves of grain.
Waves of grain.

As for films, I don’t think I’ve watched any since our last coffee chat.  M and I have been watching the new season of Orange Is the New Black, a Netflix original series.   We can’t stream it, of course, because of our lame internet connection, so we watch via DVD.  I was hoping we’d receive a movie to watch this weekend, but Netflix took things out of order in my queue and we have plenty of Orange Is the New Black to watch instead.  I don’t like to binge-watch television programs.  Not that we are binge-watching it.  We limit ourselves to one episode per evening.  The reason I don’t like to binge-watch is that mistakes tend to become glaringly obvious when I go through a whole season at once.  Or I suddenly get bored with it.  How about you?  Have you ever binge-watched an entire season of something?

Rippling.
Rippling.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that it is summer here even if the calendar doesn’t acknowledge it.  We tend to start our summers a little earlier than those north of the Mason-Dixon Line.  The pool is open and the water is already nearly 80°F.  It didn’t take long to warm up.  I think I might jump in the pool later today.  I have some weeding in the garden to do, and I bet 80° water will feel good after that.

At the edge of the field.
At the edge of the field.

If we were having coffee or tea or something else, I would tell you that I went for a ride on my bicycle this morning.  I went to the Point where there was a lovely breeze, and a couple of fishermen standing on the shore trying to catch their lunch or dinner.  They weren’t having much luck while I was there.  One man said he saw a stingray swim by.  I saw a lot of tiny fish, a few slightly bigger than tiny fish, and a couple of crabs while I was gazing into the water.  I like watching the crabs do their sideways walk along the sandy bottom.

In the weeds.
In the weeds.

The road to the Point was recently repaved although “repaved” might be overstating it.  They put down chipseal.  If you’re familiar with country roads in the U.S., you might be familiar with chipseal.  It’s a mix of asphalt and small gravel.  Eventually it smooths out, but when it’s new it is difficult to ride on with a bicycle.  A bit like riding on gravel because the chippings are loose, and the bike fishtails occasionally.  It was slower going than usual, but a good ride nonetheless.

Last one for now. :)
Still fairly green.

If we were having coffee, you would already have noticed this is the time of year when I become obsessed with the wheat fields.  I’ve carried on about how beautiful they are since we moved here so I’ll spare you another long tome about it.  I’m hoping to get out again later with the big camera to take some photos during the golden hour.  As you can see, the wheat isn’t quite ready for harvest yet.

Driftwood.
Driftwood.

If we were having coffee, tea, or some other beverage, I would tell you that today is the anniversary of my mother’s birthday.  Is that the proper way to put it when someone has died?  I suppose it still is her birthday, and we can still celebrate her life even though she isn’t living on this earthly realm anymore.  At any rate, Mom is on my mind today and in my heart, always.  Cheers to you, Mom!

A Happy Birthday rose.
A Happy Birthday rose.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that it’s time for me to get outside and do some work.  There’s a little mowing to do before the next round of rain comes along.  I’ve been trying to keep up with the weeding in the scrounger’s garden.  I am hoping to expand the garden a little this year.  I finally cleared out most of the poor irises that have been swallowed by weeds.  Last year I got so fed up with the weeds that I mowed everything down which probably wasn’t good for the irises, but they weren’t blooming anyhow.  I did get a few blooms this year from an iris that was given breathing space early in the season.  The plan is to dig up the irises (finally!) and plant them in the new bed which will include the butterfly bushes in their current location.  I’m thinking of putting daylilies in with them, too.  But first things first.

Lavender in the scrounger's garden.
Lavender in the scrounger’s garden.

The rest of the garden is looking good.  The lily I planted last year came back.  The dahlias and snapdragons seem to like where they are, and the zinnias are growing like weeds.  The lavender will be blooming soon.  Lavender grows well here.  I could have whole fields of it, I suspect.  Wouldn’t that be pretty?

Bluebird nest with a cracked egg. The other two eggs hatched and the fledglings are out on their own.
Bluebird nest with a cracked egg. The other two eggs hatched and the fledglings are now flying and out on their own.

Okay, I’ve rambled enough, and really should get to work.  Thanks so much for stopping by for another coffee chat.  You’re welcome to come out to the garden with me, but be sure to put on some insect repellent and a hat.  I can loan you some netting if you’d rather use that.  Either way, you need to guard against the dreaded deer flies.  Sunset might be interesting this evening, what with all the clouds passing by.  It’s at 8:22 PM.  I’m not sure if it would be best to meet on the dock or at the Point.  We’ll figure it out when the time for the evening show gets closer.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.

High tide at the Point this morning.
High tide at the Point this morning.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Thank you to Diana for hosting it.  Also, a big congratulations for the #WeekendCoffeeShare being featured on WordPress’s Daily Post.  So glad to see it being shared among the rest of the community!  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

newcoffee

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

25 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Bicycling edition

  1. What an enjoyable coffee break! Food looks amazing as do the photo’s. I’ve heard Orange is the new black’ is very good. I did binge on ‘breaking bad’ but not since. Sad to remember birthdays of loved one’s passed on. I always wish my parents a ‘happy birthday’ wherever they are too.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. O.M.G. I remember staying up to 3a.m. having watched four episodes all in one sitting. ! I felt it was Shakespearean in it’s breadth! Haven’t watched much telly since though…

        Like

  2. The photos are beautiful, as always, Robin–the waves of grain, the flowers, the driftwood. . .
    The food looks great, too! I’m making vegetable summer rolls and roasting some green beans that I picked up at the local farm stand this morning.

    I’ve only watched the first season of Orange is the New Black. I liked it, but I just haven’t gotten around to watching more. The most I’ve ever binged-watched is three episodes in a row–a few times with my daughter, and watching House of Cards with my husband. I do sometimes like watching more than one episode at a time, or at least watching a series nightly because you the continuity. I tend to forget what’s happened from one season to another when watching regular TV.

    I hope you have happy memories of your mother today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Merril. 🙂 Your food sounds yummy, too. I love this time of year when the farm stands and farmers markets are open.

      I forget what’s happened too, when I have to wait to long for the next episode of a show. That’s usually why we wait, if we can, until a series is over, or at least let it get a few seasons ahead of us, so I/we don’t forget over the months we’re waiting for the next season. It helps that a lot of shows now start with a “previously on” to get us catch up, but not all of them do that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The blues reflected in the ripples are lovely. The water looks languid, must be the heat. Your photo ‘Rippling’ is my favorite – texture and subtle shading – very nice.
    Yesterday, I finally finished the installation of two gardens for a client and am glad it is done (money in hand, too. 😉 ). It takes up all my mental and physical capacity, so I am glad that I only have to worry about my own garden now. I love to do creative projects, but I’m glad when they are finished!
    Way behind on my book club book I mentioned last week. The meeting is Wed. so I doubt I will finish it. It’s okay, but I’m not totally into it. That happens sometimes when the group votes for books that I would never normally pick up, but that is why I like book club. It sometimes works out well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Eliza. 🙂 Languid is a good word to describe everything around here right now. It’s so hot and the air is thick. There are storms coming that will clear things out a bit, and then a cold front on Tuesday which will make it even nicer.

      That was one of the things I liked about being in a small book club. I was exposed to things I might not otherwise pick up. As you mentioned, sometimes it works out, sometimes it doesn’t.

      I can’t imagine having to deal with more than the gardens I have here. I’m having a difficult time as it is keeping up with them! On the other hand, it would be nice to get paid for all the labor I put in. I suppose I do in a way, with enjoyment and fresh vegetables.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a nice coffee break. I laughed at the road resurfacing description. Where I are up, in central Illinois, their idea of resurfacing a road is grading it up in huge chunks, spraying the surface with liquid tar (just imagine your car), and then throwing down as little gravel as they can. It’s nice when you get on a country road where a sufficient amount of gravel was used over the tar, but it doesn’t often happen!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lisa. 🙂 I ended up laughing at YOUR description because that’s how they do it in rural Ohio, where I used to live. At least here they go a little overboard with the gravel.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dawn. 🙂 I still feel sad, but I also enjoy exploring the memories and the love. And no…lol!… 55 is not such a baby anymore, but I get it. My baby sister is in her 40’s and I still think of her as my baby sister.

      Like

  5. It’s hot here today, and my feet tingle at the thought of getting I into cooler water as shown in your Driftwood and High Tide photos. Binge watching? I dunno, is watching three or four episodes a night binge watching? If so, yes, often. I really prefer watching the seasons of programs that way.

    Like

  6. Your pictures are lovely as usual. I love the happy birthday to your mom rose, and the wheat field and of course the drift wood. I love anything having to do with beets. The meal looks great!
    We have lost our bluebirds. We used to have mountain bluebirds as well as western. There was a pair of western bluebirds here earlier, but they left. I think the swallows are pretty territorial about the bird houses. I really miss them. There used to be several pairs of both. I think their migration may be interrupted somewhere along the way by buildings, and/or cut trees. I need to make some more houses this winter. Try to entice them back. Seems like all the songbird populations are down. Anyway, it was a nice visit. See you at the point at sunset….which is actually over by now. Maybe next time. 🙂

    Like

  7. I love the images of the wheat! I’m looking forward to your thoughts on ‘Nemesis’. I have read a lot of Asimov but never that book. I am a big Sci-Fi fan myself (I think I have every Heinlein). Another favorite in the same vein as Heinlein/Asimov/Clarke is Greg Bear. I think it is time to pull out ‘The Moon is a Harsh Mistress’ and give it another read…

    Thanks for the coffee Robin… 🙂

    Like

  8. The picture of your veggie plate looks delicious – what a lovely refreshing looking snack. Have you read or seen “The Martian”? I saw the movie some months ago, then I was given the book it was based on and recently finished reading it, wihich in turn made me want to watch the movie again – ever happen to you?

    Like

  9. A rich post, Robin, full of beautiful photos and lots of interesting ideas. I also love “The Invention of Wings” – all of her books are as much poetry as prose. Fields of lavender can be wonderful. I remember having an outdoor dinner in a lavender farm and the scent and ambience was unforgettable. Do consider a field of it – our clay soil is too heavy here to survive the winters, so I envy you! Enjoy the wheat fields as they grow 🙂

    Like

  10. I learned so much reading your blog post today, including about beet borani. Glad you liked the Invention of Wings. Wishing we had some warm weather and an 80 degree temp pool. Friday would have been my dad’s birthday so I could relate to your memory of your mom’s death. Blessings…

    Like

  11. We are roasting here in Portland. Saturday we hit 102. Right now it’s 95, headed for 99. We’ll see what tomorrow brings. I’m hanging out in my bedroom with a fan, drinking cucumber water and snacking on green seedless grapes. It’s too hot to eat or drink anything else.

    I read The Invention of Wings a while back and found it to be a very good read. I started binge watching Orange Is the New Black, Season 3 when it came out but I got bored. It was too much of the same thing. I gave up and just last weekend finished the last three episodes when I took it up again.

    Thanks for the pictures, especially your food and water pictures…they sort of cooled me off!

    Like

  12. Hey, if you’re wanting to cool down, you can come to my place for coffee and soon you’ll be looking for a dog on your lap. It’s been quite chilly here near Sydney…at least, by our standards. We’ve also had a big rain storm over the weekend.
    Love your photos as usual. I particularly love that little blue bird egg in the next, even though it’s sad it didn’t hatch.
    Hope you have a great week ahead!
    xx Rowena

    Like

  13. Thanks for the coffee! Wow, your neck of the woods sounds just wonderful! 🙂 I’m looking forward to getting out more this season. I know what you mean about binge watching, I too did it with Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead and now Bates Motel!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

