Posted in Air, Change, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Movies, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Wonder

A Tuesday stroll

Rainy day bloom
Rainy day bloom

Flowers open every night
across the sky, a breathing peace,
and sudden flame catching.

~ Rumi

Zoom!
Zoom!

This was supposed to be a Monday meander, but I didn’t get around to it.  I’m not sure why, but I will venture to guess that it is related to the slothfulness of the weekend carrying over to the week.  Although M and I did get outside in between rain showers to work and walk, we spent most of the weekend relaxing and having our own little film festival.  We watched four movies over the course of the weekend, more than we sometimes see in a month or more.

The rose has its own light
The rose has its own light on dark days.

In case you are wondering what we watched, here’s the list:

  • The Hunger Games — Mockingjay Part 2
  • The Big Short
  • Bicentennial Man
  • Selma

I thought they were all good.  Bicentennial Man is not quite an oldie but is from 1999.  It stars Robin Williams, and somehow or another, we’d never seen it.  Selma made me question humanity in general.  I know there was some controversy about its accuracy and there is a disclaimer at the end stating that it is historical fiction.  I was six years old when the Selma to Montgomery marches occurred and have little to no recollection of it although I’m sure I must have learned something about it in school at some point.  The Big Short involves recent history, and I thought it was very well done.  A complicated matter was explained in such a way as to make it easier to understand (as well as entertaining).  I highly recommend it.  And Mockingjay Part 2 wrapped things up quite nicely.  I’m glad they took their time with the third book in the trilogy and expanded it into two movies.

The beauty of a rainy day.
The beauty of a rainy day.

Normally I’d save the movie talk for the weekend coffee chat, but life is moving along so quickly lately that it seems best to try to keep up whenever I can.

They gather like jewels.
A gathering of tiny jewels.

I’ve taken quite a few walks lately, and I frequently come up with things I’d like to write about while I’m out walking.  The trouble is, by the time I sit down to write, I’ve forgotten.  All those good writing topics seem to get left behind in the woods, the meadows, the gardens, and the marshes.  I wonder what type of plants they would be if each idea was a seed of some kind that with time, water, and sunshine germinated and grew?

Slightly obsessed.
Slightly obsessed.

The critters around here have been quite active, especially during the rainy days.  While M and I were sitting in the kitchen eating dinner on Saturday evening, a deer (doe) came walking out of the meadow and into the front yard.  Usually I see deer from a distance, and the distance makes me forget just how big they are.  When she came strolling towards the house, I thought, “She’s a giant!”  Of course she wasn’t a giant at all.  She was her normal size.  I wondered, too, if there were fawns nearby.  It’s that time of year when there might be.

Bounding around.
Bounding around.

We were given a bluebird house as a Christmas gift, and a pair of bluebirds moved in shortly after we put it up in a mulberry tree.  I suspect there are babies in there now, judging by how often the mother and father have been out collecting things to eat.

A baby squirrel.
A baby squirrel.

The sun has returned today.  We’ve had high, thin clouds moving in and out, but mostly it’s been sunny.  After all those weeks of rain, it’s good to see the sun again.  It should be with us for the rest of the week and into the weekend.  It’s going to get hot, too.  M and I will probably open the pool sometime over the upcoming Memorial Day weekend.

Swiss chard in the vegetable garden.
Swiss chard in the vegetable garden.

I think that’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this lovely Tuesday.  Thank you so much for stopping by and joining me on another ramble about the place.  I wish I had more profound thoughts and words to offer but as I mentioned earlier, they are all off on their own ramble, perhaps stirring up thoughts in someone else’s head.  I really should start carrying pen and paper with me on my walks.  I used to.  Then I got lazy about carrying so much stuff with me (camera, pen, paper, a bag for the pen and paper, cell phone, and whatever I find to stuff in my pockets while on my walks).

Lavender waiting for the sun.
Lavender waiting for the sun.

Sunset might be interesting tonight.  Let’s meet at the Point.  Sunset is at 8:14 PM, but it’s best to be there a little early because you never know when the show will get started.

The newest blooms in the scrounger's garden.
The newest blooms in the scrounger’s garden.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Just before landing.
Just before landing.

Today’s joys:  Sunshine and a lovely breeze; hibiscus tea; a wonderful flow to my yoga practice this morning; the scent of roses perfuming the air; watching the antics of the other creatures that live here on the ranch.

Weighed down by the rain.
Weighed down by the rain.

Other beautiful flowers to see:

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

24 thoughts on “A Tuesday stroll

  1. Beautiful photos, as usual–the rain glistening on the flowers and plants–really stunning!
    We liked Mockingjay–not a great movie, but you might remember we had a little celebration while we watched, and it was a good finale. I also thought Selma was good, and The Big Short was surprisingly entertaining.

    We have a lot of rabbits here this year. Perhaps it was the mild winter. We had two splashing the puddles the other day, but I wasn’t able to get a good photo. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Merril. 🙂 We are overrun with rabbits this year. A fox walked by recently, looking rather thin, and I have to wonder why there are so many rabbits hopping about if there is a fox on the property. I suppose we’ll have to wait for the hawks to return in the winter to thin out the bunny population.

      I thought The Big Short was surprisingly entertaining, too. They did a great job of explaining a complicated matter.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These pictures are great! You got the hummer with still wings!! Love it. Love the bunny and squirrel and all the flowers after rain.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I so enjoy your photos, Robin – the iridescence on the hummers (wow), the raindrops on roses ( and ‘whiskers on kittens…’ 😉 ‘some of my favorite things!’) That baby squirrel is adorable. I have movies from the library, but haven’t had time to watch them. At night, after gardening, I mostly try to catch up with my blogging buddies. 🙂 I do try to make time to read before bed, as I have book club in 3 wks and still haven’t started the book. Hoping to manage it somehow.
    Thanks for the pingback – much appreciated!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Eliza. 🙂 That song runs through my head (“My Favorite Things”) every time I photograph raindrops on roses. lol!
      What are you reading for your book club?

      Like

      1. “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” by Dominican American author Junot Díaz. I’m about 10% into it and I’m still waiting for it to grab me. 😉 It won a Pulitzer, so there must be something to it, I hope. The good thing about book clubs is that I have to read books I would otherwise never pick up. It is full of surprises!

        Like

  4. Your ‘zoom’ shot it utterly amazing! I’ve seen that pose so many times, but it’s quite a challenge to catch. You’re so very talented to actually nail it!

    Thanks so much for the ping-back.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Enjoyed your photos very much! I have those blog thoughts too and then they disappear. At least you still get a post done, lol. I feel like I remember you saying that you came into the world of smart phones not too long ago – that’s just one item to carry on your walk: use it as your pen and paper. You could do a voice memo when an idea pops into your head. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Karma. 🙂 And thank you again for the tip about the phone. I’ll have to look and see what I have on there to use for notes. Maybe I can find an app for that. 😀

      Like

  6. Love the way you captured the flowers. Something different about them for me that I like, but I don’t think I can explain it. Loved both Selma and The Big Short. Keep your eyes out for Money Monsters (latest George Clooney film). … Loved the Man Who Knew Infinity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Frank. 🙂 Perhaps it’s the darkness and humidity that make the flowers look different. Thank you, too, for the movie suggestions. I’ll add them to my queue.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. “It’s Tuesday already?” was my first thought…then I realized I hadn’t been here to read since LAST Tuesday! 🙂 After MUCH consideration I think my favorite out of these, and it was very difficult to choose, is “Bounding” just because I love the action in it. But they are all beautiful. And your header hummer is stunning. Doe a deer, a female deer….sorry…couldn’t resist.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I haven’t seen any of the movies you mentioned except The Big Short, which I thought was good too. I too often have great ideas that vanish in the breeze. Unless I commit them to paper, they’re always like a dust devil, swirling away into oblivion. 🙂

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

