Posted in Art, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Gifts, Life, Maryland, Meditation, Mindfulness, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Wonder

Mandala

Sand painting.
Sand painting.

The Tibetan word for mandala is kyilkhor.  Kyil means ‘center,’ khor means ‘fringe,’ ‘gestalt,’ ‘area around’… Things exist interdependently, and that interdependent existence of things happens in the fashion of orderly chaos.

~ Chogyam Trungpa

Each person’s life is like a mandala — a vast, limitless circle.  We stand in the center of our own circle, and everything we see, hear and think forms the mandala of our life.

~ Pema Chodron

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

12 thoughts on “Mandala

  1. “We stand in the center of our own circle, and everything we see, hear and think forms the mandala of our life.” I so love Pema Chodron. Thank you. Beautiful photo too.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I bet! Where were you? How long did it take them? Did they mess it up after? Did they meditate then do it? Or after? I’m just very curious about the process.

        Like

        1. I explain a small part of it in tomorrow’s coffee chat post, but I’ll give you a sneak peek. 😀 They were at Salisbury University (not too far from us), and the purpose of the mandala is for healing the earth and world peace. The monks are endorsed by the Dali Lama. There was an opening ceremony (which I missed) on the 12th. Tomorrow is the consecration and dispersal ceremony. Half the sand is shared with those watching the ceremony and the rest is returned to the elements by pouring it into a body of water. It is said the water will carry the healing energies throughout the world.

          I think they meditate AS they are doing it. It certainly looks like a meditative activity. I know from drawing mandalas that the process itself is a meditation. They had a thing set up where you could try doing the sand painting, but there were kids so involved in it and having fun that I decided to give it a pass so they could keep going. There was an amazingly calm energy in the hall where the monks were creating the mandala. It felt good to be there. 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s fascinating, Merril. I wish I could have been there for the opening ceremony. I’ll miss the dispersal too, but I’m glad I got to be there for a little while. 🙂

      Like

  2. Creating mandala reminds me of watching the Native American sand painters when I was little and we traveled west each summer. I still have a small glass pill bottle of some colored sand I was given back then. There’s something universal about imaging with earth.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The new theme was an accident, Eliza. I meant to preview it and hit “activate” instead. It wasn’t time consuming at all. Just one click did it all. It picked up all the widgets and everything. In the past I had to redo all the widgets when I changed themes. It’s nice not to have to do that. The tulips are growing at one of the local universities. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Fantastic concept any way you look at it. There’s a guy here who does a maze (perhaps a variation of a mandala) in the beach sand at low tide. Kids and older kids can walk it for a time, but then the tide washes it all away. There was a fun video of the process, but I’m not sure I can find it now.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

