Posted in Air, Assateague Island, Beach, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Food, Friends, Gifts, Gratitude, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Play, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, WeekendCoffeeShare, Wonder

If we were having coffee: Wild windy weekend edition

It sure is windy today.
It sure is windy today.

The three great elemental sounds in nature are the sound of rain, the sound of wind in a primeval wood, and the sound of outer ocean on a beach.

~ Henry Beston

Snowy Egret on a rainy day.
Snowy Egret on a rainy day.

If we were having coffee, I would welcome you back to the Wabi-Sabi Ranch with open arms and open heart.  I’m so glad you could still make it this late in the weekend.  I apologize for being tardy this week.  I have had a full and wonderful weekend with a friend who came to the ranch for a visit.  I’ll tell you more about that in a bit.  For now, let’s grab some beverages and have a seat on the back porch where we can watch the wind gusting through the trees and maybe get a glimpse of the sunset if you stay that long.  I have the usual coffee, tea, and water, but since it’s so late, I’m thinking about indulging in an adult beverage.  An IPA would taste great right about now.

Blending in with her surroundings.
Blending in with her surroundings.

How have you been since our last visit and how are you now?  Has life been treating you good, bad, or indifferent?  Have you traveled anywhere or seen any new sights?  Have you had the opportunity to visit with friends and/or family?  Have you had any good conversations?  Read any good books?  Watched any good films?  Or gone on any good walks or hikes?

Soaking wet.
Rain soaked.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that my friend, J, is someone I met via blogging.  We met, so to speak, about fifteen years ago when we were both trying to quit smoking.  (We each succeeded at some point, too.)  The format was different, but it was still a form of blogging.  We have stayed in close touch through continued blogging, emails, and text messages, and gotten together on several occasions in her fabulous city (Philadelphia) where she has shown me around and been a great hostess.  I finally got to return the favor this weekend and show her some of the nooks and crannies of where I live.

On the Life of the Dunes Trail. Assateague Island, Maryland.
On the Life of the Dunes Trail. Assateague Island, Maryland.

J arrived here Friday afternoon, and I gave her the grand tour of the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  It was quite hot and humid, a good day to sit on the dock and drink a version of beer J introduced me to: half beer, half lemonade.  Pretty simple, pretty delicious, and perfect for a hot and humid day.  Saturday and today we spent a lot of time at Assateague Island. Yesterday it rained and we didn’t mind it.  Today it was windy as heck (sustained winds about 25-30 mph with gusts up to 50 and 60 mph) and we didn’t mind it.  The weather is the weather, and when you’re traveling and have limited time to explore, you can’t be minding it all the time, can you?

Beach heather.
Beach heather.  It looks like it will be blooming soon.

I thoroughly enjoyed the walks in the rain and the wind.  So often M and I decide to skip the beach when it’s windy or rainy.  Because we live near Assateague Island, we have the luxury of waiting for nicer weather if we prefer.  When we have visitors, though, it’s different, and leave it up to them to decide whether or not to brave the elements.  I already knew that J would be game for walks in rain, wind, or pretty much whatever the weather had to throw at us.  I’m so glad we got out there.  Assateague Island is beautiful under any conditions.

Stretching out.
Stretching out.

Just imagine becoming the way you used to be as a very young child, before you understood the meaning of any word, before opinions took over your mind.  The real you is loving, joyful, and free.  The real you is just like a flower, just like the wind, just like the ocean, just like the sun.

~ Don Miguel Ruiz

Don't mind me. I'm just going to relax here for a moment. (Doesn't this tree look like someone leaning over to the left, trying to be nonchalant?)
Don’t mind me. I’m just going to relax here for a moment. (Doesn’t this tree look like someone leaning over to their left, trying to be nonchalant and debonair?)

We had many good conversations as we walked, or over meals that we had here or elsewhere, or as we were relaxing in the evenings here at the ranch.  One of the things we briefly touched on was the subject of age and friendships, and that’s led me to pondering about it now that she’s on her way home and I’m sitting here chatting with you about the weekend.

Hiking on soft sand. (Life of the Dunes Trail)
Hiking on soft sand. (Life of the Dunes Trail)

You see, J is younger than I am.  In fact, she is younger than my oldest son by a year or two.  I don’t notice that in our relationship.  I have friends that are older, friends that are the same age as I am, and friends that are younger, and age doesn’t play a role in any of those friendships.

Spring growth.
Spring growth.

I don’t know what the experts have to say about it, but I think it’s a great and good thing to have friends of all ages.  Older friends can share their wisdom with you, friends your own age can commiserate with you, and younger friends can help keep life fresh and new.  You can mix that all up if you want because that would be true, too.  Wisdom isn’t necessarily an attribute of age, enthusiasm and a willingness to explore the new are not limited to the young, and since we all have things in common, empathy and sympathy aren’t bounded or constricted by an age group.  Joy is joy, suffering is suffering, everything in between is everything in between, and what does age have to do with any of it?

A lobolly pine that has learned to grow with the elements.
A lobolly pine that has learned to grow with the elements.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have philosophized enough for one evening, and really should have dinner so I can get on with a few other things before I retire for the night.  I’m having a Hungarian fish stew.  Feel free to join me if you like.  It’s leftovers, but still very tasty.  Don’t let me forget to email the recipe to J.  I told her I would.  After dinner I might meander out to the dock to see the sunset and watch the birds.  We’ve had a large flock of blackbirds visiting this afternoon and evening, many of them red-winged blackbirds.  The laughing gulls are back, too, gathering in the fields.  It can get quite noisy with all our feathered friends gathering about on their spring migration.  Sunset is at 7:28 PM.  See you out there if you decide to join me.  Otherwise, hope to see you at your place soon.  I have another guest arriving tomorrow so it might be a few days before I can get caught up with you.  In the meantime, I wish you peace, joy, and friendship.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

This is one of my favorite trees on Assateague Island. I first met it in 2007. I'm always thrilled to see it again.
This is one of my favorite trees on Assateague Island. I first met it in 2007. I’m always thrilled to see it again.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Thank you to Diana for hosting it.  Also, a big congratulations for the #WeekendCoffeeShare being featured on WordPress’s Daily Post.  So glad to see it being shared among the rest of the community!  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

newcoffee

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

21 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Wild windy weekend edition

  1. Sounds like a busy and fun weekend and week ahead. It is a busy time of year. I got a lot done in the garden those couple of warm days – so satisfying. We saw MetOpera’s HDLive ‘Madama Buttterfly’ on Saturday at the cinema, which was stupendous, of course. The sets and props were fantastic. A perfect way to spend a rainy afternoon. We had snow showers off and on all day today with lots of wind. I’m worried about the flowers that have come out getting frosted. I think all the crocus will succumb – I missed the opportunity to photograph them all open across the lawn…oh well! Have a great week, Robin!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Your weekend sounds like a good one, too, Eliza. 🙂 I had wanted to see “Madama Butterfly” since you recommended it, but the timing didn’t work out. I did, however, find a theater not too far from us that shows the MetOpera HD Live operas. Wishing you a great week too!

      Like

  2. Now that I’ve been to Assateague, I feel like I know a little bit about where you are–and how fun that your friend is from my area. I’m sure she had a wonderful visit with you–walking, talking, and eating. I agree that it’s great to have friends of all ages, and once you’re an adult, age doesn’t matter that much.
    We had that crazy wind all day. I think it’s finally quieted down a bit.
    Your photos are wonderful–as always. I love that you have a favorite tree that you visit. I agree that the other tree looks like a figure leaning over–I imagine it as a being (sort of a friendly alien creature) doing a dance. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Merril. 🙂 Wasn’t that wind something? We had a few things in the backyard take off and move to new areas, and a lot of debris from the trees, but no major damage here, thank goodness. I did see some downed trees and power lines on the way to the beach yesterday morning.

      I like your description of the tree. He does look like he’s dancing. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome, Carol. 🙂 So good to see you again. That’s a great question, and the answer is yes. Things do look different when there are new eyes to show them to. It often makes me appreciate the beauty here more, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely time. Ponies! Always better with ponies. There has been such wind this year. Great pictures as usual – I think the one of the bare branch/tree that you say is leaning is possibly a dancer waiting for you to move on before the dance is continued.
    Age – especially among writers/ bloggers – doesn’t seem as rigid as in ordinary life? Friends are friends.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that’s wonderfully true, PhilosopherMouse. Friends are friends. 🙂 Thank you. I think you may be right about the tree. He does look as though he’s in the midst of a dance. The wind! It has been incredible. I sometimes wonder if Mother Nature is trying to blow us off the planet.

      Like

  4. Love the variety in this stroll … and cheers to hosting a friend! …. but oh boy, it has been windy – and now cold!

    Busy enough at this end a blog break is in order, which allows to reconnect. Last week was quite hectic with my wife’s retirement followed by our anniversary and me starting a part-time job – let alone all the other things we do. Yesterday I took her to her first-ever Opening Day Parade in the city.

    Hope all is well … and I have an idea for another collaboration. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Frank. 🙂 Glad you had a chance to take a break and get in some fun things along the way. I would love to work with you again on a collaborative blog post. Just let me know what you need when you’re ready.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

