Posted in Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Winter, Wonder

Monday meander

A hearty breakfast to start the day. (Grits, onion & pepper omelet, and pumpernickel toast.)
A hearty breakfast to start the day. (Grits, onion & pepper omelet, and pumpernickel toast.)

When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,” said Piglet at last, “what’s the first thing you say to yourself?”
“What’s for breakfast?” said Pooh. “What do you say, Piglet?”
“I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?” said Piglet.
Pooh nodded thoughtfully. “It’s the same thing,” he said.

~ A. A. Milne

Messy eater.
Messy eater.

I should have titled this “Sunday & Monday meander,” but today is Monday so it really doesn’t matter if some of the images are from yesterday’s walk.  The meander, I think, has more to do with the post itself than the walks and when they were taken.

Goldfinch enjoying the sun.
Goldfinch enjoying the sun.

We’re having a big thaw today.  I almost went out without a coat because it felt so warm compared to the cold of the past week or so.  I also had a choice of boots:  snow boots or wellies?  I decided on my wellies because I could see that in between the melting snow and ice there were plenty of puddles and mud.

On the Woodland Trail yesterday. As you can see, we didn't end up with much snow.
On the Woodland Trail yesterday. As you can see, we didn’t end up with much snow.

The wellies were a good choice for the most part.  They don’t keep my feet warm, but they do keep them dry.  The snow boots do, too, to a certain extent.  The snow boots, however, would not have gotten me to the dock because we are having a super high tide today.  I didn’t know that until I approached the Woodland Trail and saw that had there been fish, they would have been swimming through the woods today.  The fish are sleeping or doing whatever it is they do during the cold winter months so there was no sign of anything swimming on the trails.

Today the Woodland Trail is covered with ice, snow, and water.
Today the Woodland Trail is covered with ice, snow, and water up to a foot deep in spots.

It’s the full moon, of course, that causes the higher tides.  The ice, snow, and heavy rain from the weekend are probably contributing as well.  I wish I could have gone down to the Point yesterday to see what the wind and cold had wrought.  Alas, the roads were icy and it would not have been wise to try to drive on them.  We don’t have shoulders on the back roads.  We have ditches, usually filled with water (depending on the tide status), and those ditches can be deep.

Last night's moon.
Last night’s moon.

It is a beautiful day even with the mud and flooding on the trails, or maybe because of the mud and flooding.  I like sloshing through water.  I walked through the woods hoping to go out to the dock.  Unfortunately, the water was too high near the boardwalk to the dock.  It would have spilled over the top of my wellies if I’d gone far enough into it and I could feel, through my wellies, that the water was quite cold (as expected).  It might be best that I didn’t get out on to the dock.  I could see that the water was rushing pretty fast, and given how run down everything was here at the ranch when we bought the place, it’s best not to assume anything is solid, including the dock.  As we’ve slowly cleaned up and renovated, we’ve found that every now and then, corners were cut, sometimes in crucial places.

Snow on cedar.
Snow on cedar.

The birds are enjoying the warm up.  There were quite a few of them out and about, flitting around, chattering and singing.  I didn’t see our resident hawk, but did hear some eagles calling and piping.  I love listening to the eagles.  On days like today, they sound as if they are reveling and playing in the sunshine, perhaps enjoying the calmer weather and winds.

Shadows and sparkles on snow.
Shadows and sparkles on snow.

In the places were the snow hasn’t melted yet, there were tracks from the animals that have been taking their own meanders around the ranch.  Prints from birds, raccoon, deer, one or more of our neighbor Lloyd’s dogs, the other neighbor’s cat, and rabbits were scattered all around.  I have not seen any sign of the river otter who was living near the dock last year, not even little paw prints on the boardwalk.  He or she disappeared just after trapping season so perhaps the trappers got him or her.

Sunlight and snow on a magnolia in the woods.
Sunlight and snow on a magnolia in the woods.

I reckon that’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this mushy Monday.  Thank you for dropping by and taking another walk with me.  We should be able to get to the Point for sunset this evening.  If you’d like to join me, sunset is at 5:17 PM.  Meet me there about fifteen minutes early so we can explore the beach while we wait for the sun to dip below the horizon.  I’m hoping the eagles will be out there visiting the Eagle Tree.

Ice on the surface of the pond.
Ice on the surface of the pond.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Life in the garden.
Life in the garden.

Today’s joys:  Sunshine and warmth; sloshing through the woods and watching the water run over the boardwalks; sparkles on snow and ice; Bald Eagles playing somewhere overhead; gulls quietly soaring by; picking kale to have with dinner tonight.

The kale is still looking good.
The kale is still looking good.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

25 thoughts on “Monday meander

  1. I love that passage from Winnie the Pooh. I’m such a morning person. 🙂
    The photos are beautiful, and I enjoyed your meandering. It’s a beautiful day here, too. We got about 20 inches of snow, but the sun was out today, and no wind. The NJ shore had a lot of rain and flooding.
    I had to look up eagle calls. I liked the “peals.” I read on the Cornel site that they are winter in certain areas, so that’s when you’re most likely to see them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Merril. 🙂 I’m a morning person too, and you can’t beat Winnie the Pooh. 😀 We see eagles here year-round, but they seem to be more active and visible in the winter months.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dandelions and kale – you have fresh greens! And your breakfast looks yummy, too. (I must be hungry so close to dinner!)
    Love the sparkly snow and ice crystals on the pond, so pretty! Sweet goldfinches, but sad about your otter. I don’t know how people can kill and trap, but I suppose they have their reasons.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Eliza. 🙂 I understand some killing and trapping, but it is not something I could ever do. Nutria, for instance, needed to be trapped and killed as they are invasive and destroy the marshes, changing the environment for the indigenous species. Good news about the otter — I saw otter tracks in the snow near the marsh yesterday. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I wouldn’t have believed we could be harvesting greens this time of year, Carol, if I hadn’t seen it for myself. I was sure the week of below freezing temperatures plus snow and ice would have killed the kale by now, but it’s flourishing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Not far as the crow flies, Frank. Across the Chesapeake Bay they got 20+ inches (and Baltimore got close to 30, I think). About 2 hours of drive time (less if we had a boat and went straight across). It does look a little like pizza (and I have been known to have pizza for breakfast!). 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

