Posted in Air, Change, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Gifts, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Play, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Winter, Wonder, Woods

A winter walk

Winter wonderland.
Winter wonderland.

I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently?  And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says “Go to sleep, darlings, till the summer comes again.”

~ Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

Winter blues
Winter blues

Sunday’s snow was lovely.  It snowed and snowed and snowed for most of the day.  It was a wet snow, the kind that can be molded into snowballs and snowforts and snowpeople.

The weathervane building.
The weathervane building.

I never did get around to building a snowperson.  I was so enthralled with the snow that I spent most of my time outdoors wandering the trails and admiring the beauty of winter.  I noticed while out and about yesterday that several of our neighbors created some wonderful snowpeople.

On the driveway.
On the driveway.

Old Man Winter took his time getting here, but he’s here with a vengeance now.  Sunday night the sky cleared and frigid temperatures rushed in.  It’s been sunny, but very windy and very cold with lows in the teens and highs in the twenties.  I don’t mind the chilly temperatures as much as I do the cutting, biting wind.  It’s difficult to stay outside for more than a few minutes.

Walking out to the dock.
Walking out to the dock.

Our weather folks, who take their cues from The Weather Channel folks, are saying we’ll be getting more snow on Friday.  They think it will be a “major disruptive nor’easter.”  We’ll have to wait and see how right they are, but I do wonder about the “disruptive” element since it will be arriving on Friday night/Saturday morning, and a weekend snowstorm hardly seems as disruptive as a workday snowstorm.

Standing tall.
Standing tall.

The last map I looked at shows us in the moderate to low probability range when it comes to being heavily impacted by the storm.  They keep changing the snow amounts from 1-3 inches to 3-5 inches back to 1-3 inches.  Because the weather oracles are often wrong this early in the game, it wouldn’t surprise me if we got a foot or more snow, or none at all.

Near the dock.
Near the dock.

One of the many things I am grateful for is the wood stove.  It is amazing how warm and toasty the house stays once we get a good fire going and keep it going.  As you might recall, the heating system here is a heat pump which I swear must be the world’s most inefficient way to heat a house ever devised.  It runs and runs and runs without ever truly heating the house.  This house is my first experience with an electric heat pump.  I am used to forced-air gas heat which feels warm when it comes out of the ducts.  The heat from a heat pump never feels warm, and I often feel as though we’re running the air conditioning rather than the heat.

The snow weighed down the branches of the trees for a little while. Then the wind came along and knocked most of it off.
The snow weighed down the branches of the trees for a little while. Then the wind came along and knocked most of it off.

The wood stove, as small as it is, keeps most of the house warm, and more importantly, it feels warm.  On a day like today when the wind is whipping and the cold tries to sneak in wherever it can, both the reality and the perception of heat are helpful.

The scrounger's garden under a blanket of snow.
The scrounger’s garden under a blanket of snow.

I reckon that’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this chilly Tuesday.  Thank you for stopping by.  Unless the wind dies down, I’ll be watching the sunset from the house this evening.  It’s at 5:11 PM.  You’re welcome to join me in the living room where we can watch it through the trees.

Winter-dressed greenhouse.
Winter-dressed greenhouse.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Before the freeze.
Before the freeze.

Today’s joys:  The warmth of the fire in the wood stove spreading throughout the house; the musical sounds of the wind; bright sunshine and clear skies; hot tea to warm me from the inside out; delicious lentil and vegetable soup.

A spot of red.
A spot of red.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

30 thoughts on “A winter walk

    1. Thank you, Eliza. 🙂 I had my winter coat repaired (the zipper broke) and I am so glad I did. I wasn’t going to because it almost always feels too warm for it here, but on days like today, I need it.

      Like

        1. I have a variety of outerwear, too, and agree about comfort. I think that’s why so many people don’t go outside much during the winter months. They’re not dressed correctly for it. The year I did the challenge to get outside every day taught me how important the proper clothing (and outerwear in winter) are for daily walks/hikes. We had some cold, cold weather that winter (with temps below zero for highs!), but I was out there anyway. (I turned that year-long challenge into my lifetime practice because I got hooked. lol!)

          Like

  1. Ok. I admit it. Your snow is beautiful! And I can see why you are enjoying it. I loved all the photos….and then that pop of red of the cardinal was a great ending. Glad you have the wood stove. My first experience with the electric heat pump was down in Alabama. I still don’t understand how it works. I think you should get a real furnace! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, Dawn. 🙂 I wish we could get a real furnace, but that would mean propane for gas (no natural gas lines out our way) and we’d have to find a place to put the furnace. Maybe the attic? No doubt it would also be super expensive to switch it all over, even with air ducts in place.

        Like

  2. That cardinal is such a wonderful surprise pop of color. Our weather people here in the mts of CO never really know what’s going to happen. We just wake up and look out the window to see how much we got overnight! Ours is usually powdery and dry though – very good for skiing. Hope you don’t lose power if you get heavy wet snow.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a charming surprise that last picture was! My brother in VA sent their first snow picture recently – a powdered sugar type image. They were excited…but probably gathering supplies for this next one. (We get the tail of a couple of the fronts for the next few days…chilly mud walks are not as charming as the one you pictured here.)
    Heat pumps are almost a scam. Thank goodness for wood stoves! I do love them.
    Stay warm and enjoy the quiet!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful pictures. Capital Weather Gang is saying this could be of historic proportions, this storm, but….the front still has to come across country, so I’ll worry Thursday evening. I wouldn’t mind a day of lying around or baking or … we’ll see. Your mandala on the shed is gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lisa. 🙂 Baking sounds like a good way to weather the storm. I’m thinking about making cookies. Or bread. Or maybe both. Stay warm and safe. They still don’t seem too sure about what will happen when or where.

      Elisa is right. That’s a PA Dutch hex sign. A Jacob Zook hex sign.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You got quite a bit of accumulation there on the Eastern Shore. We just had some flurries; nothing stuck. I guess we’ll all be hit this Friday, or Saturday; as you say, a weekend storm doesn’t cause that much of a disruption and actually allows us time to play in the snow!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

