Posted in Art, Beach, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Play, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, WeekendCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee: A day at the beach edition

The Birthday Boy on the beach.
The Birthday Boy on the beach.

Let us never know what old age is.  Let us know the happiness time brings, not count the years.

~ Ausonius

On the way to Ocean City.
On the way to Ocean City.

If we were having coffee, tea, or your choice of beverage, I would welcome you back to the Wabi-Sabi Ranch with open arms and open heart.  It’s so good to see you again!  Come in, come in, and make yourself at home.  We have a wide assortment of beverages and snacks since this week was errand week and that included our first big grocery shopping of 2016.  I bought all sorts of herbal teas.  M, who is the coffee person around here, bought an assortment of coffee including decaf.  We also have flavored seltzer water (mango, coconut, orange cream, lime, and probably some others I’m missing, all without calories or artificial sweeteners).  I bet there are a few sodas in the pantry as well.  M and I don’t usually drink soda (or “pop” to you Midwesterners).  We have some left from last summer and fall when we had guests and a small party.  And there’s hot chocolate too!  It’s been snowing like crazy this morning, and a warm drink would probably be your best bet, but I’ll leave it up to you.

Let’s have a seat in the living room where the wood stove will keep us nice and warm while we get caught up with each other.  I know some of you think I’m crazy, but I love the snow and want to watch it for a little while.  I’ll be going out to play soon.  I wish M and I had remembered to bring our cross-country skis back with us from Ohio.  The Eastern Shore is the perfect place for cross-country skiing on those rare occasions when we get enough snow for it.

On one of the main drags in O.C.
On one of the main drags in O.C.  (And this is off-season!)

How are you?  What have you been up to lately?  Have you traveled anywhere or visited with family or friends?  Has anyone traveled to visit with you?  Have there been any major changes in your life since our last chat?  Have you been on any good walks or hikes?  Have you seen any good art, read any good books, or watched any good movies?

The dock behind the Ocean City Convention Center.
The dock behind the Ocean City Convention Center.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I finished reading Nothing to Grasp by Joan Tollifson, a little book about non-duality.  Non-dualism, as defined by David Loy (and my source for this quote is Wikipedia), “points to the idea that the universe and all its multiplicity are ultimately expressions or appearances of one essential reality.”  Interesting stuff, and hard to wrap one’s mind around.  The point, of course, is not to think about it or wrap your mind around it.  The point is to be in the Here/Now and experience it.

Stacked. (Older beach cottages staggered so that each has a water view.)
Stacked. (Older beach cottages staggered so that each has a water view.)

The mind — at least my mind, your experience may vary — does like to think and ponder, though, so I have found myself thinking and pondering the idea of non-dualism, especially when I’m out on my walks.  On Wednesday, after spending a little time sitting on the dock, worshiping the sun (not really — but I do like to sit with my eyes closed and my face turned up to the sun during the winter months), I meandered through the woods, delighting in the play of light on the marsh grasses and trees at the edge of the trail.  I found myself wondering that if this life is all an illusion or a dream of Life Itself, how big of an imagination would Ultimate Reality (call it what you will) have to have to create all of this?  Trees, grass, dirt, water, a marsh, the sun and a face to turn up to be warmed by the sun, a bench on a dock, a creek that runs by the dock, Coors Light cans and plastic littering the marsh, a plastic bag stuck on the end of a cedar branch, bluebirds sunning themselves on the fence by the house, Bald Eagles whistling and calling overhead, clouds racing in the wind, chilled fingers and mittens, cars passing over the bridge that spans the creek, a cell phone tower with a blinking light, the blue of the sky, Muck shoes, warm winter coats, a runny nose and watering eyes, bright red berries against a background of brilliant green on a holly tree, a Kingfisher chattering and scolding, daffodils pushing up through the ground in January, sand, rocks, sunrises and sunsets…

It boggles my mind.  As so many things do.

A little Sunday signage (since it's been a long, long time since I've done a Sunday signage post.)
A little Sunday signage (since it’s been a long, long time since I’ve done a Sunday signage post).

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that M and I recently watched the movie “The Skeleton Twins.”  The link takes you to the trailer.  Have you seen it?  I liked it.  I was afraid at first that it was going to be a downer, but there was plenty of humor to balance things out.  If you haven’t seen it, I recommend it.

Surfin' Betty must be elsewhere since it's off-season.
Surfin’ Betty must be elsewhere since it’s off-season.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that the reason I’m a day late is because M and I went to Ocean City yesterday.  It was M’s birthday and he wanted to go to the Nautical & Wildlife Art Festival, take a walk on the boardwalk and beach, have lunch or dinner, and play indoor mini-golf.  It was a very wonder-full day.  I almost felt like it was my birthday instead of his because it was such a treat.

Almost in the curl.
Almost in the curl.

We had a look at some beautiful artwork at the O.C. Nautical & Wildlife Art Festival, and met up with a few artists we’ve seen before at other local art fairs and festivals, in particular George Raney and Kit Hanson, the husband and wife team who make up Sandyhook Art Glass Studio.  We’ve seen them at the Blueberry Festival in Chincoteague and purchased a few of their pieces for gifts.  I also bought one for our yoga/meditation room.  I love it.  We didn’t leave this particular art fest empty handed, but I can’t tell you too much about what we bought because they are gifts and I never know who is reading my blog.

It was her idea (or so he told us).
He said it was her idea.

If we were having coffee, tea, hot chocolate, or some other beverage, I would tell you that we had a lovely walk on the boardwalk and beach.  I was surprised to see some people surfing and swimming.  It looked like great fun.  I think I might do the Penguin Swim next year.  I was thinking about it for this year, but forgot to look up the date.  I wouldn’t have been able to go even if I had remembered since it was on New Year’s Day and we were in Ohio enjoying time with our family.  I like the idea of a penguin swim better than a polar bear swim, mostly because I really like penguins.  Who doesn’t like penguins?

When they got down to the water, she changed her mind so he had to do a little persuading.
When they got down to the water, she changed her mind so he had to do a little persuading.

If we were having coffee or something else to drink, I would tell you that playing mini-golf was a delight.  The course is incredibly easy, something I might find boring if we played there often, but since this was our first time playing in a while, it was nice to score a few holes-in-one along the way.  I bet you didn’t know I’m pretty good at miniature golf.  One of the many jobs I’ve had in life was as the day manager for a Putt-Putt Miniature Golf Course.  Not many folks played during the day so after I finished up whatever work I had to do, it was part of my job to be out on the course playing and making it look like fun so people would stop to play.  I didn’t work there long, just a few months, but it was long enough to get pretty good at putting and avoiding mini-golf obstacles.

In case you want to know, I let M win yesterday since it was his birthday.  By one point.  That way it didn’t look too obvious.  😉  I’m kidding.  He won fair and square.  We are pretty evenly matched when it comes to mini-golf (and backgammon and a slew of other games).  We take turns winning.

Going for it.
Going for it.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I can no longer resist the call of the snow.  I am going to bundle up and head outside so I can go walk and play in it.  It has been coming down fast and heavy all morning, and it looks so beautiful outside.  Mother Nature and Old Man Winter did a good job of bringing this to us on a long weekend.  Monday is a holiday (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day) for many in the U.S., and I’m glad that M doesn’t have to go to work tomorrow and drive in this.  They are not very good at clearing the roads here, probably because they don’t get a lot of snow.  It’s best to stay home if you can (unlike northeast Ohio where snow is no excuse for staying home because they know what they’re doing when it comes to keeping the roads free and clear).

Doesn't it look like he's having a blast? It sure sounded like it, too.
Doesn’t it look like he’s having a blast? It sure sounded like it, too.

If we were having coffee, tea, hot chocolate, or some other beverage, I would invite you to join me.  It looks like the kind of snow that will be amenable to snowman building, and at the rate it’s coming down, we should be able to create at least a small snowman or snowwoman.  Your choice.  Or maybe one of each.

Taking a stroll near the water.
Taking a stroll near the water.

If we were having coffee, I would thank you for stopping by for another coffee chat.  You should probably stick around at least until the snow stops.  If you’re not up for an outdoor adventure, feel free to sit by the fire, relax, and help yourself to whatever you’d like to eat or drink.  If the snow continues and it looks like it will be difficult to get out, the guest room is available for the night.

Waving goodbye.
Waving goodbye.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Snow!
Snow!

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

weekendcoffeeshare

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

30 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: A day at the beach edition

  1. Abso-freakin-lutely beautiful photos of my favorite thing — the beach. Thank you so much for sharing. Hello, Mr. Seagull! I’m going to visit your friends in Delaware soon methinks! Happy Birthday to M! And have a great week! ~Tara

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Tara. 🙂 A thank you from M, too. You’ve reminded me that I need to get up to Delaware and do some more exploring there. We tend to stay south, in Maryland and Virginia, and haven’t been to the Delaware beaches very much.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s snowing here, too! I’m surprised. The grass is actually covered.
    I like penguins, but I’ll leave the cold weather swimming to them. 🙂
    I’m glad you had a fun beach day, including mini-golf.
    Lovely photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You do have a choice to drink. I will take a cupbof hot tea. Do you have orange spice, if not English breakfast tea would be lovely. They do a good job wth snow removal here. We have mostly rain this week taking the snow away before finished falling. The mountains are gorgeous when the fog lifts away in the distance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There might be some orange spice, Betty. If not, we can make our own using some dried orange peel, cinnamon stick, and cloves. I have all the ingredients (including the dried orange peel). English breakfast tea is an old standby here, and I always have some on hand. I would love to be in the mountains to see the snow and fog. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. lol, David! They would have ridden me out of town on a rail had the “no profanity” rule been enforced because I tend to talk like a sailor. It gets worse as I grow older. I rein it in here at Ye Olde Blogge, but my speech is generally uncensored because my tongue moves faster than my brain can brake.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You have snow – how exciting! We’re getting an inch or two as well, followed by chilly temps. so it’ll stay around for a while. Luckily we have a good plow crew, so the snow won’t stop traveling, should we want to go out. But mostly, we stay around here … with all the land, we have lots of places to walk. Happy Belated to M!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. At first I thought the pictures of the couple were form last summer! Goodness. I couldn’t do that, unless my life depended on it. And that wave! It illustrates so well the power and mass of water. Happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the snow too, but usually am content to watch it from the comfort and warmth of a chair by the fire. Unless I have someone to play with outside. Will there be cookies and hot chocolate afterwards?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love the pictures taken at the beach – that couple look like they are having a great time! However, I am not as enamored of the snow as you, but then we have had that on the ground since some time in November, I think. I know I still have my Give Thanks flag hanging on the pole mounted on the garage, because I need the ladder to change it, and the garage apron has been snowy since before December 1. Today we have sun, although I suspect it will not be with us all day because there is more rain in the forecast. Ice-producing rain. I’m over winter now, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

