Posted in Air, Autumn, Earth, Exploring, Family, Gifts, Grandparenthood, Gratitude, Life, Love, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Play, Quotes, Spirit, Travel, Walking & Wandering, Water, Wonder

Settling back in

A leaf in the creek.
A leaf in the creek.

To be human is to belong.  Belonging is a circle that embraces everything; if we reject it, we damage our nature.  The word ‘belonging’ holds together the two fundamental aspects of life: Being and Longing, the longing of our Being and the being of our Longing.

~ John O’Donohue, Eternal Echoes: Celtic Reflections on Our Yearning to Belong

Caught.
Caught.

I’m back from my quick trip to The Bogs.  It was a wonderful trip in which I was able to spend time with my family and take walks around the pond at Breezy Acres.  I feel renewed with just a small touch of the post-travel blues.  The post-travel blues never make much sense to me.  I know it’s a fairly normal thing to have happen, and that many experience it, but after having had such a good time, you would think I’d be riding the waves of joy I experienced on my trip.  Or maybe you wouldn’t think that.  But I would.  That’s the strange thing about the post-holiday blues, though.  One can be joyful with a smidgen of sadness when settling back in at home after a journey whether that journey was big or small.

Willows reflected.
Willows reflected.

I wasn’t sure I’d be making the trip with all that was going on here prior to it.  Between my father’s recent trip to the hospital and the sick kitties, it was a pretty close call.  Thankfully, everyone recovered, thereby removing all reasons not to go.

In the meadow at Breezy Acres.
In the meadow at Breezy Acres.

For those that don’t know or don’t remember, Breezy Acres is the name of our property in The Bogs of Ohio where our youngest son and his wife are now living.  I don’t know how much longer they will live there, but it will be at least a few years.  That gives M and I time to decide what we want to do when he retires.  Perhaps we’ll wind up back there.  I’d like to think so.  It’s a beautiful place.

In the breeze.
In the breeze.

I had a lot of fun visiting with my granddaughters, and the mini Thanksgiving was such a brilliant idea (thank you, Meredith!) that I wouldn’t mind a bit if we did that every year.  Not that I think it’s likely, mind you.  But it would be fab if we could.

Looking for recipes.
Looking for recipes.

Meredith and M the Younger prepared a variety of bite-sized dishes including turkey meatballs, stuffing bites, Pommes Anna, and green bean casserole mini-biscuits.  There were mini desserts as well (pumpkin pie bites and mini apple cheesecakes).  They had help with the food preparations.  The Pommes Anna caused a couple of injuries, but nothing a couple of band-aids couldn’t take care of.

Gathering leaves.
Gathering leaves.

We spent a little time outdoors playing in the leaves and taking a family portrait.  We are long overdue for a family portrait.  There was some fun in giving that a try, and I think we got one or two photos that will do.  I borrowed a tripod and had to use the 10 second option on the camera.  I have a remote shutter release, but I can’t find it.  I really should organize my camera bag.

Becoming one with the leaves.
Becoming one with the leaves.

The trip back to the Eastern Shore was quick and amazing.  I think we made it in record time.  There was little traffic, little construction, and pretty much clear sailing (or driving) all the way.  I can’t remember the last time that happened.  Usually there is at least one accident to hold us up somewhere along the way.

Leaves were gathered for a reason.
Leaves were gathered for a reason.

We also managed to avoid the worst of the rain that was part of a coastal low making its way from south to north here on the east coast.  We got about three inches of rain overnight.  I haven’t had a chance to look, but I bet the garden was happy about the rain.  The broccoli and kale were doing well when I left, but needed a good soaking.

Jake.
Jake.

For those curious about how I am doing with NaNoWriMo, I have not made any progress since last week.  I am planning to sit down tomorrow and write for a while.  The weekend was for family.  Today was all about getting unpacked and catching up on some chores.

An oak leaf on the pond.
A fairy boat on the pond.

I reckon that’s about it from me on this cloudy, rainy Tuesday.  Thank you for stopping by.  I’d invite you to stay for sunset, but it is unlikely we’ll see it this evening.  It is scheduled for 4:55 PM today.  Hard to believe it comes so early now.

The Wisteria Vine Door.
The Wisteria Vine Door.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Woodland magic.
Woodland magic.

Today’s joys:  Waking up after a good night’s sleep in my own bed; fog rolling in and out of the meadows; sorting through photos from the trip; seeing the cats settle down for an afternoon nap once they were convinced I was unpacking rather than packing (as much as they like the house sitter, they don’t like it when we leave); chocolate (which obviously needs no explanation).

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

22 thoughts on “Settling back in

  1. I am glad you are home safe. I think you are feeling a bit of family withdrawal. I get like that too when we have all been together. I miss them when we are apart, as I suspect you miss yours. It’s so good to be together you wish it could be that way all the time. Looks like you had a wonderful time. Love the photos… Said ‘oh’ and ‘ah’ at each one. They were perfect as I’m sure the family portrait is.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wasn’t sure what you meant by mini-Thanksgiving until you described the food. That sounds like so much fun. It sounds like you had a wonderful trip, and how nice that you were able to make it back so easily. The photos are beautiful.
    Your today’s joys were also great–and you are right that chocolate needs no explanation!
    I bet your cats were happy to see you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Any time spent with loved ones is time well spent isn’t it Robin – the rest can wait! I love John O’Donohue – I have him in my audio books collection and treasure his own delightfully accented Irish voice reading his own words. It is like having a private conversation. I was sorry when we lost him from this world!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with Dawn about the family withdrawal. I deal with that each time we have to part after spending time with my kids. The “parting is such sweet sorrow” – I always assume sweet because there was time spent together.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh! Thank you, David! I’m not sure you would want to read the book at all since I worked on that photo thinking it might be a good cover for the book I am working on. (And as you can tell, my confidence levels are not high right now.) I have several other photos of that “door” throughout various seasons, and have been playing with all of them. I think I like the one in this post best.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You pictures are absolutely divine, Robin. What an eye. Sigh…
    So happy for you, you had a lovely getaway. I think the mini-Thanksgiving is a brilliant idea.
    I, too am behind on NaNo. Today was such a beautiful day that when my sister suggested an early walk with our dogs and breakfast, who was I to say No?
    Tomorrow is Remembrance Day and I’ve agreed to volunteer at the school (I seem to be the go-to person) then I have a job interview (a holiday-time job) which will get me out of the house and busy during what is sure to be a most difficult time.

    Like

  6. A beautiful post, you have such a lovely steady pace to your writing, and those gorgeous photos always make me smile when I see them pop up in my reader. My especial favourites if I’m allowed are the fairy boat and that last shot magical woods. Stunning camera work as always✨💕✨

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

