Posted in Air, Autumn, Blast From the Past, Exploring, Family, Gifts, Grandparenthood, Life, Love, NaNoWriMo, Ohio, Photography, Pond, Quotes, Spirit, Travel, Walking & Wandering, Water, WeekendCoffeeShare, Writing

If we were having coffee: The Bogs edition

Reflection from the past.
Reflection from the past.

Once we believe in ourselves, we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight, or any experience that reveals the human spirit.

~ e. e. cummings

Still life from the past.
Still life from the past.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, we would be meeting at the Breezy Acres house in The Bogs of Ohio.  Surprise!  M and I are visiting with Youngest Son and his lovely wife who, as you may recall, are living in our previous home.  The link I provided is for those of you who are new here, and don’t know me from my time living in the secondary snowbelt of northeast Ohio.  I will be using photos from the past for this post because I don’t think I’ll have much time to be messing about with images while I’m here.  It’s a quick trip, and Oldest Son and his lovely wife and beautiful daughters will be joining us in a little while.

Come on in and let’s have a seat in the living room where we can look out over the pond and enjoy the heat of the fireplace.  It’s quite a change in weather, isn’t it?  It was nearly 80 degrees at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch yesterday.  Here we’re going to have highs in the 50’s and lows in the 30’s.

Another version.
Another version.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would be delighted to see you here.  How are you?  What have you been doing lately?  Have you traveled anywhere or seen any new sights?  Have you visited any museums or toured any historical areas?  Have you taken any good walks or hikes?  Or gone on any bike rides?  Have you visited with family and/or friends?  Read any good books or seen any good movies?

I finished reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s The Signature of All Things: A Novel last week, but forgot to mention it in my last coffee chat.  I’m not sure what to say about it.  I thoroughly enjoyed the beginning of the book, but somewhere in the second half, it veered off course for me.  I’m not sure why.  The story began to feel a little contrived, things happening in order to… what?  I’m not sure.  Bring us a message?  Tie things up in the end?  Even with that, I enjoyed it.  I think Gilbert’s writing often has a beautiful, lyrical quality to it.

A tree in the future forest.
A tree in the future forest.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that I have taken a couple of walks around the pond and marveled at the changes.  A few trees have fallen.  Many of the 100+ trees we planted in the future forest have grown.  The biggest surprise was finding that the rhododendren at the back of the pond is blooming.  In November!

Through the upper meadow.
Through the upper meadow.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that I am typing this on my fairly new tablet.  This is the first time I’ve used it for blogging and it is slow going.  I have managed to somehow delete a lot of what I typed earlier and may end up posting the rest of the images I saved and give up on the text.  Please pardon any typos.  As I am discovering, this is not the best way to blog.

A touch of frost.
A touch of frost.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that I had a wonderful visit with my blogging friend, Shirley, on Wednesday.  We had lunch at the house, and then went out to the dock to enjoy the beautiful day and chat like we have known each other for years.  Blogging does that.  It allows us to get to know each other before we meet in person.  If you’re reading, thank you, Shirley, for stopping by.  I thoroughly enjoyed our long and varied conversation, and hope I didn’t chatter too much.

Heart in the meadow.
Heart in the meadow.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that on our ride west to Ohio on Thursday night, M and I saw two fireballs from the Taurids meteor shower streak across the night sky.  It was an incredible sight.

A sunset reflection.
A sunset reflection.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that my NaNoWriMo efforts have stalled.  I haven’t had the time and quiet to sit down and get back into it.  I have my work cut out for me next week if I want to get my word count up.  I am hoping the extended break will somehow fill my creative cup with ideas.  Or at least provide me with a few drops of inspiration.

Reflection at the back of the pond.
Reflection at the back of the pond.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that we are going to be celebrating a mini Thanksgiving today.  It should be great fun, especially with my granddaughters here.  This was sort of an unexpected, last minute trip, and I didn’t think we would be seeing the girls and their parents.  I am thrilled and grateful that Oldest Son and his wife could make the time to come up for the day.  It is quite a bit of driving for one day, and the girls have busy schedules with their activities which keeps their parents on the go.  This unexpected gathering is a big treat.

I bet this tree is much taller now.
I bet this tree is much taller now.

If we we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would ask you if you would like to go for a walk around the pond before the rest of the family arrives.  We could explore the meadows and the woods, too, while we are out there.  I could really use the exercise.  I’ve been sitting too much lately, and my body wants to move.  It feels good to have hills to walk up again.  There are no hills at the ranch, and few on the Eastern Shore.

Full view of the pond from the house. November 13, 2012.
Full view of the pond from the house. November 13, 2012.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that the photo just above this sentence is a good representation of how it looks around the pond right now.  The only thing missing is a big tree lying across the right corner.  We won’t be able to get past it if we walk down that way, so we will have to retrace our steps to come back instead of making the usual loop.

Because it is one of my favorite trees.
Because it is one of my favorite trees.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would thank you for visiting with me here in The Bogs.  Hang around for a while if you like.  Sunsets here this time of year can be amazingly colorful and if it clears up, we can watch for meteors.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Goodnight, Moon.
Goodnight, Moon.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

35 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: The Bogs edition

  1. I have missed posts from the pond! I’m so glad you’re there with the rest of the family! What a treat!

    You might consider getting a blue tooth keyboard for that tablet. They are inexpensive and make it much easier to type. Mine came with my case for my Kindle tablet, about $22 for the set. I’ve also bought one without the case for my daughter and I think that was about $15.

    Enjoy the family! Take more pond pictures! I want to see!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol! Thank you, Corina. 🙂 I have missed posts (and pictures) from the pond, too. It’s lovely here on the Eastern Shore, but… not the same at all, is it?

      Thank you, too, for the suggestion regarding the blue tooth keyboard. I’m not sure, but I think I may forget about long blog posts when I’m traveling. That’s probably best as it means I’ll enjoy the adventure and can take care of journaling about it when it’s over.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoy your early Thanksgiving! It’s nice you’ve made it back to your old home at the bogs. I have the Elizabeth Gilbert book but haven’t read it yet. I’m sorry to hear it veered off midstream. I hope I’ll like it when I finally get to it. Happy November!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Cathy, and a Happy November to you too! 🙂 I did still like the book, but I found the second half a little odd, fitting but not fitting the story, maybe. Gilbert’s writing is wonderful so even though I wasn’t sure I liked where the story went, I enjoyed her writing.

      Like

    1. Thank you, David. 🙂 We must have similar taste, at least when it comes to my photos, as you almost always pick my favorite when you do comment on one. Frost is one of my favorite things to photograph, and combined with early morning light it is pure magic. Hard not to take a good pic. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. How wonderful to take a walk around the old homestead and see it in its fall glory!

    I also tried doing a blog post from my phone (not my tablet) and was also less than thrilled with the result. Still, it was an experiment to try and see for myself. That post was here – the pictures are good, not great and the text as well.

    http://livingtheseasons.com/2014/10/12/foodie-tour/

    I’m reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s latest book, Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear. I’m enjoying it much more than I thought I would. It’s a bit random, but there are a lot of good thoughts in it.

    Did you see Katrina Kenison’s latest post? She had a hip replacement, which I’m sure contributed to not hearing from her for nearly two months. I’d give you the link, but WP has a way of deciding too many links in the comments = spam.

    I also feel the lack of time to just sit and think. Between my seminar and now a week of vacation to celebrate our 40th anniversary, plus Thanksgiving in < 3 weeks, it’s just too much. But I also want to celebrate my life and not be stuck in a room by myself all the time. So I have to just take it a few minutes at a time. At this rate, February will be the earliest to just sit and ponder. And that’s too long to wait.

    The grandson is growing up – he’s crawling now! And baby #2 is on the way. Yep, only 15 months apart. It was an oops, but not by much. Her father had a good old time explaining to her how she got pregnant while nursing (you know you ovulate before you get your period, don’t you? – never thought I’d hear him saying that to her).

    So nice to hear from you. I never thought my blog would result in having good friends all over the world, but it did and that’s wonderful.

    Have a good time with the family and travel safe!

    Nancy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the chat, Nancy. I enjoyed it! 🙂 I’m reading Big Magic right now, too. Just started it so there’s little for me to say about it right now other than I like the speech she makes to her fear. I did get an email that Katrina Kenison had a new post up but haven’t had time to read it yet. Now that you’ve mentioned it, I’ll make some time very soon. Congratulations on grandchild #2!! How exciting. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I so enjoy your coffee posts. And yes, I am FINALLY writing my own and adding it to the list. It’s early Saturday evening, my boys have abandoned me and I should be contributing to my NaNoWriMo as well, and like you, am woefully behind, but refuse to feel bad about it. The important thing is to write every day, right? There will be more prolific days than others… my story and I’m sticking to it.
    I have just started Elizabeth Gilbert’s “The Signature of All things” – really? dang, Still, I will stay with it. I ordered it from Amazon and wouldn’t you know it? I bought the large print version in error. It is driving me nuts (I so do not need large print, well, not with my glasses, anyway!)
    Beautiful post, as usual, Robin. Now back to MINE! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dale. 🙂 I’ll be over to read your coffee chat soon. So glad you decided to join in! I agree with your story, too. Writing is the important thing. Who cares about word counts?

      Stay with the book. Chances are your perspective/opinion will differ from mine. I would actually benefit from large print, I think, since the reading aspect of my progressive lenses isn’t doing its job.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

