Posted in Autumn, NaNoWriMo, Silent Sunday

(Not quite) Silent Sunday

October 2015C 059a

1,692 words today (for NaNoWriMo).  It was more difficult than I thought it would be.  That said, I can do this.  Yep.  I can.

“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” ― Sylvia Plath

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

21 thoughts on “(Not quite) Silent Sunday

  1. FWIW–writing a certain amount every day is somewhat unnatural…you may find that you need a day “off” to ruminate, and you’ll “exceed” your word count on the following day. Having observed and coached a number of NaNo participants, I can say that attaching too much importance to word count will undermine your process. Also: notes/sketches/outline material are a valid part of word count. If you spend a page on getting to know a character better, that’s part of your writing, even if you end up using only a sentence of that material once you get to the point of integrating it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, David, for the wonderful advice. 🙂 I just finished making a list of lessons learned on this first day of NaNo and will add your valuable advice to the list. (I think my word count came faster and better when I was making that list…lol!) The word count sucked the creative life right out of me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes! You CAN do it. I had a 20 minute session at midnight because I find that it’s the way I can get some momentum. I only got to 800 words but that was fine. I had another 90 minutes of writing at a coffee shop with another woman (whom I had never met til this morning) and got to 2626. I’ll get a little more done before the end of the day. I find that I shoot for getting close to 3000 words a day because that leaves room for days of not writing when life is just too busy to get down any words. And I try to pad the word count so that I can finish by Thanksgiving because for me, that means no writing for the two or three days I’m out of town. You’ll get it done. David is right. Don’t pressure yourself and it will come.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Corina. 🙂 I thought about starting around midnight because I had the enthusiasm for it. Beginnings usually start out that way — full of energy and enthusiasm. I was hoping to get ahead of myself for the reasons you mention. I have some upcoming days that will be filled with other things and I probably won’t find the time to write. I’m not going to worry about it. As you wrote, it will come. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You CAN do it, Robin! And if self doubt ever creeps in, read through the words of encouragement that your blogging friends are sending your way ~~ you have your own personal cheer-squad just a click of the computer button away. xx 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

