Posted in Autumn, Digital Art, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Play, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, WeekendCoffeeShare, Woods

If we were having coffee: Halloween edition

October 2015C 019ab
Trick or treat. (Both. The spider web was found in the meadow. The effects were added in Pixlr. Or were they? ….)

For these beings, fall is ever the normal season, the only weather, there be no choice beyond.  Where do they come from?  The dust.  Where do they go?  The grave.  Does blood stir their veins?  No: the night wind.  What ticks in their head?  The worm.  What speaks from their mouth?  The toad.  What sees from their eye?  The snake.  What hears from their ear?  The abyss between the stars.  They sift the human storm for souls, eat flesh of reason, fill tombs with sinners.  They frenzy forth… Such are the autumn people.

~ Ray Bradbury

Come on in. The front door is unlocked.
Come on in. The front door is unlocked.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would welcome you to my lair home.  Mua-ha-ha-ha.  And then I would chuckle because as much as I (used to) enjoy horror novels and scary movies, I am not very good at acting the part of a frightening character or pulling off the evil laugh.  Let’s grab our beverages and a snack or two, and go have a seat on the front porch.  It’s warm and sunny here today, and we’ll be the first to try out the renovated porch.  It looks so much better now.  We still need to paint the front door and work on the boardwalk, but the porch itself as well as the stairs and a little patio area are finished.

How are you?  What you have been doing (or not doing) lately?  Are you dressing up for Halloween?  Expecting trick-or-treaters?  Going trick-or-treating or to a Halloween themed party?  Have you traveled anywhere exotic or seen anything new?  Read any good books or watched any good films?  Now that I think about it, have you read any bad books or watched any bad films?  It’s good to be informed about those, too, to keep from wasting time on things that are not worth the time and effort.

Look out the window,
Looking out the window.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that it’s been a good week for the most part.  Izzy and Bella Cats are much improved and acting like their normal selves which is to say, crazy divas.  Tim the Painter was here for three days this week patching and painting the ceiling in the great room.  It looks so much better, doesn’t it?  Light and airy as opposed to dark and dirty.  I don’t know what Mr. and Mrs. B were thinking when they painted that room in a dirty shade of light brown, but they might wonder what I’m thinking using cool colors all throughout the house when Mrs. B’s trend was warm earth tones and wallpaper.  The heat of the summers here drove me towards my cool color choices.

Grasping.
Grasping.

We would have done the ceiling on our own, but it’s HIGH.  We don’t own a ladder tall enough to reach the top of the ceiling, and it’s not worth it to invest in one since this is a once and done deal.  We have no plans to retire here (unless forced to it by circumstances) so I don’t expect we’ll need to paint it again before we sell the place.

The great room is going to look good once we finish in there.  We have to paint the walls.  We will be doing it ourselves, in a color called Windswept Beach (it’s a light gray, on the blue side).  The tall cabinets that have not fit any house we’ve lived in since we moved from Kent, Ohio many years ago will be moved to the master bedroom.  I want to get rid of them (sell them on Craig’s List), but we need storage in the bedroom and M talked me into giving them a try.  I think it will make the bedroom look terribly crowded, but maybe I can change my perception about that and think of it as cozy.  Once we move those, we have some shelving to build to house the television and stereo in one corner and books in the other corner.  I’m wondering about building a little book nook.

Is something hiding in the fog?
Is something hiding in the fog?

In the life happens department, my father ended up back in the hospital yesterday.  I talked with him last night and he sounded good.  I’m waiting to hear from him today before I make a decision about whether or not to go up to see him.  If all is going well and it looks like he’ll be going home soon, I’ll wait.

Haunted garage.
Haunted garage on the road to the Hide Away.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that I’m excited about NaNoWriMo which starts tomorrow.  I haven’t made any plans.  Plans haven’t worked out for me lately.  I figure it’s best to go with the flow.  Or fly by the seat of my pants.  I even awarded myself the Pantser Badge:

You believe in hardcore spontaneity.  On November 1, you’ll have a blank document and your imagination.  To earn this badge, declare yourself a pantser!

Jack O'The Dock
Jack O’The Dock

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would tell you that it’s time for me to get up and get moving.  I have some chores I would like to get done before NaNoWriMo begins.  Mostly of the household variety.  Laundry, retting up (a Pennsylvania Dutch term I learned from M which basically means straightening up or picking up), and a little light cleaning.  I’m expecting a special guest this week, someone I haven’t met in “real life” yet.  A fellow blogger is coming to the ranch for lunch and a walk.  I’m looking forward to it.  I’m hoping the weather will be as predicted (sunny, lower 70’s) and we can picnic on the dock or down at The Point.

Angry gull.
Gulling around.

Thank you so much for visiting and having coffee (or some other beverage) with me.  You are welcome to stay a while.  Sunset should be pretty tonight.  It’s at 6:05 PM.  That will drastically change when we “fall back” tonight.  I like falling back, or at least like it better than springing forward.  Springing forward always makes me feel like I’ve lost a week of sleep.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

In the great room on Halloween.
In the great room on Halloween.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

For those who prefer something pretty. Still blooming in the scrounger's garden.
For those who prefer something pretty. Still blooming in the scrounger’s garden.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

31 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Halloween edition

  1. Robin, I am excited to hear that you are doing NaNoWriMo. I decided to do it, too! Perhaps we can be writing buddies over there? I just searched for your name but couldn’t find you. If you tell me your user name, I could look for you. I am listed under my real name. 🙂 Oh, love the Halloween pics. The boat is the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your front door, and ‘gulling around’ and the bench in the fog….We won’t get any trick or treaters. At most we get 3 and this year it’s going to be rainy and cold and windy…so we’re just leaving our lights off. Better for the dog that way too. And we won’t have to eat the leftover candy which most years is the whole bag.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dawn. 🙂 We don’t get trick or treaters here. They’d have to walk a quarter mile down the driveway to get to the house. What’s wrong with eating leftover candy? Isn’t that the whole point of Halloween candy shopping? To have leftovers? 😉

      Like

      1. We’re both trying to lose weight. We’ve been traveling so much, walking so much that we made a little inroad in it and we don’t want the holidays to throw us off…so we didn’t buy any candy…and left the lights off. 🙂

        Like

  3. Those photos are a hoot!

    Unrelated…I read something recently that I loved, regarding the writer terms “planner” and “pantser.” George RR Martin is what the planners would call a “pantser,” and certainly nobody could argue with the results of his creative process. He prefers the terms “architect” and “gardener,” which I love. There’s no question that these are opposite processes, though each type will incorporate some qualities of the opposite process, usually at the halfway point of the project. But “gardener” is so much more accurately reflective of that style of creative process, and it lends itself also to the gardener-writer’s style of revision…usually pruning and weeding. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you, David. I had fun with them. 🙂

      I’m with you in loving the term “gardener.” As someone who does a little gardening, it feels about right for me. I garden without much of a plan to start, but as the season moves along, I start to weed and prune and make a few loose plans for next year. Thank you for sharing that with me.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Loved your spooky pixlr creations! I might just have to award myself that pantser button of yours, since I changed my mind about what I’m writing for NaNo a couple of days ago! By the way, that Ray Bradbury quote was simply gorgeously written. I was seriously intimidated by your writing skills before I realized it was a quote! But a very nice post nonetheless 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad you decided to do NaNoWriMo this year! I’m sure what happens will happen. It always does, no matter whether you plan it out or pants your way through…November will come and go. I like the “Halloween decor” on the blog! Nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read it (again) two years ago, and now it comes to mind when autumn and Halloween roll around. Bradbury was my go-to author when I was a teen. I’m thinking I should reread a few more of his stories and books. His writing is sublime. Thanks for stopping by, Trent. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I am not a Halloween aficionado, and we live in a very dark rural area. It has been years since we had any trick or treaters. Fine with me – when it comes to this date, I am very Bah, Humbug! And I am not a fan on falling back – my dogs do not do that well. I am grumpy cat this weekend.

    Like

  7. We got to keep most of the candy this year (not a good thing) since our Halloween is being called the Monsoon Halloween here. The good news is that we finally have some much needed rain.

    Like

  8. “Creepy” is not my genre, but you did a great job of decorating your blog for the scary season. Very few trick 0r treaters came down our street this year; however, a nearby neighborhood had hundreds. Apparently homeowners ran out of candy well before the clock dinged to end the revelry. Good luck to you with your writing challenge.

    Like

  9. No trick-or-treaters this year. Just my Halloween quilt for decoration. But we enjoyed the evening and all the extra treats. And now I have your spooky photos to provide some atmosphere! Jane

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

