Posted in Air, Autumn, Change, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Health & Well-Being, Hiking, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Walktober, Weather, Woods

Monday meander

Saturday in the Wabi-Sabi Ranch cemetery.
Saturday in the Wabi-Sabi Ranch cemetery.

Whatever we are waiting for — peace of mind, contentment, grace, the inner awareness of simple abundance — it will surely come to us, but only when we are ready to receive it with an open and grateful heart.

~ Sarah Ban Breathnach

Let's take a walk.
This morning.

Let’s take a little meander around the Wabi-Sabi Ranch while I make an announcement, offer up an apology, and maybe ramble a little about whatever comes to mind.

I am fascinated with the mushrooms this year.
I am fascinated with the mushrooms this year.

The announcement:  I am extending the deadline for Walktober.  I’ll be doing the round-up on Monday, November 2 so you have until then to join in.  I originally planned to do the round-up today, but you know how it is with plans.  My own Walktober walk has been delayed because of the situation with the cats.  M and I had planned to go hiking at one of the state parks on Saturday when the weather was wonderful and the fall foliage seemed to be reaching its peak.  I wasn’t sure we should leave the cats on their own for what would have been the entire day.

Rising up.
Rising up.

Hindsight being what it is, I can clearly see it would not have hurt Izzy and Bella one bit to be on their own for a day.  They are doing what they need to do to heal, and they are doing it without our help.  The kitties have been eating, drinking, and sleeping as needed.  Mostly sleeping, which is what cats do even when they’re well.  Both cats are doing well today, and it is likely I will be opening the bedroom door and allowing Izzy to once again have run of the house.  I’m not sure she’ll leave.  She seems to have established her own little Queendom in the master bedroom, and hasn’t once tried to escape.  Moving her food back to the kitchen will solve that problem.

A cap with sunrise colors.
A cap with sunrise colors.

I hope to get to the park sometime this week for a shorter version of the originally planned hike.  If that doesn’t happen, then we’ll just have to take a walk around the ranch for my Walktober submission.  Nothing wrong with that.  It’s beautiful here this time of year.  The only reason I’m hoping to get to the park is so we can look at some new scenery.

Looks almost like old, burnished wood.
Looks almost like old, burnished wood.

The apology:  To those of you who have already submitted your walks, I apologize for the delay.  I realize I probably don’t need to apologize, but it’s possible some of you who have already walked and posted have or had your own blogging plans with regard to the timing of the post or the round-up and this delay would effect that.  Besides, I don’t like being late.  Not even for blogging things.

Shedding.
Shedding.

The ramble:  Well, I’m not sure I have anything I really want to ramble about today.  We woke up to another cloudy day.  There was a beautiful streak of green stretched out across the sunrise sky.  Folklore has it that green clouds indicate hail or severe storms, but that doesn’t seem to be bearing true today.  We’ve had peeks of sunshine with those clouds, and no real rain is expected until Wednesday when the remnants of what was Hurricane Patricia move through.  If they move through.  The rain has been missing us a lot this year.

Not ready to give up.
Not ready to give up.

I have a lot of work to do in the gardens.  All I need now is the ambition to get out there and do it.  I want to add another bed to the scrounger’s garden.  I have to dig up the irises first.  The ground is hard, almost like concrete, because of the lack of rain so I will have to wait until things soften up.  I have plans to plant a tree out there, too.  A weeping willow would be nice although I am not sure it is wet enough out there for a willow.  If I locate it close to the lagoon, it should do okay.

Finding spots of color in the woods.
Finding spots of color in the woods.

Have you heard of the Candida Diet?  (Or the Candida Cure Diet?)  I bet some of you have.  That’s the diet my primary care physician has recommended for the laundry list of symptoms I’ve been experiencing this year.  Frequent colds/flu, digestive difficulties, joint pain, brain fog, a weird coating on the back of my teeth that does not brush off, and more.  The diet is very restrictive and not at all in line with my move towards veganism since it includes a lot of meat.  Will it help?  I’m on the fence since a little research turns up articles that say it will and articles that say it makes no difference.  Frankly, I lean more towards cleaning up my diet once again and practicing a lot of good, healthy self-care.

View from the dock this morning.
View from the dock this morning.

I think my blogging will continue to be erratic for a while.  I have a lot to do this week, and I am seriously considering signing up for NaNoWriMo.  It’s something I’ve considered every year since I first heard about it back in 2006 (I think).  I may have to sign up as a NaNo Rebel since what I have in mind doesn’t meet the criteria of being a “lengthy work of fiction.”  That said, who knows where my writing might go?

Going back through the woods.
Going back through the woods.

I reckon that’s it from me and from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch for today.  Thank you so much for dropping by and joining me on another Monday meander.  I don’t know if we’ll be able to see the sunset this evening or not.  If it looks good, I’ll meet you at the Point.  Sunset is at 6:11 PM today.

Looking out over the meadow.
Looking out over the meadow.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Walking back to the house.
Walking back to the house.

Today’s joys:  Time to sit and sip and enjoy a cup of herbal tea in the middle of the afternoon; the beautiful colors of the foliage; being able to walk through the woods and meadows without fear of attack by mosquitoes, ticks, or deer flies; sitting in the woods early this morning; almost back to normal kitties. 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

14 thoughts on “Monday meander

  1. I’m glad the cats are feeling better, and I hope you are feeling better soon, too! Enjoy your tea and mosquito-free walk. It’s seems a meandering sort of day, although the sun is out here. I’m having difficulty getting my work done.

    Like

  2. I wonder if you need to adopt a few of the kitties habits into your day to ensure a return to full health – it can’t hurt! I’m cleaning up my act too currently as I have just been getting heavier and heavier and stiffer and stiffer. Part of my regimen is to haul the little ‘zen-chi’ machine out and use that twice a day. it’s a miracle worker for stiff joints and getting the chi flowing again. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptyDmoIkX14 Another part is to get the yoga exercises dusted off and to do ’em even if I can’t do ’em like I used to – which is why I always stop as soon as I start. Sigh!!

    Your photos show such a beautiful part of the world – your autumn colour is just beautiful!

    Like

  3. I am glad to hear that your kitties are on the mend. Maybe I’ll actually get into Walktober now that you’ve extended the deadline. All I ne d to do is get myself moving and remember my camera.

    Like

  4. That last photo of the red and white in the meadow is SOOO gorgeous! Glad the kitties are improving. No worries on the posting of Walktober. I’m just glad I got my post done, so it is off my plate. I, too, have a lot to do in the garden and clearing away the summer things. Got a start today, but my body is complaining! 😉

    Like

  5. Let me know if you end up doing NaNoWriMo. We can be writing buddies. Sign up and set your own goal. I have written a shirt story collection as a NaNoWriMo project and memoir as well. It doesn’t matter. Write what you want.

    I crash use the extra days for Walktober. It rained all day Sunday and again most of today so no walk yet.

    Like

  6. So happy to hear that the kitties are feeling better. Those are some pretty dazzling mushrooms!

    I hope whichever diet you choose will work well for you. Last night on the news there was a stir because they are (again) linking processed meats and red meats to colon cancer. I could have sworn we’ve heard all this before but I guess there was a new study and added data. Sigh… It shouldn’t be so hard to figure out what we should be eating.

    And I hope you get some rain from the remnants of the hurricane. We’re supposed to get some tomorrow.

    Like

  7. Oh yay! I am so glad you are extending Walktober. I have all my pics lined up and just ran out of time… I seem to be living in my kitchen lately, which is not necessarily a bad thing as it is a source of income now. I have to find a better organisation of my time!
    Those mushroom pics are out of this world. So lovely!
    So… all I have to do is pingback to you for Walktober? Or do like Sallyann and post a link on yours?

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

