Posted in Air, Autumn, Change, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Walktober, WeekendCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee: Pausing and resting edition

Breathing space.
Breathing space.

Pause.
Listen for the whispers of your Soul.
Soul quietly flows through every part of you.

~ Nancy Lankston

Layoff.
Layoff.

If we were having coffee or some other beverage, I would be happy to see you again.  Hugs if you’re amenable.  A good solid handshake or a respectful nod if you’re not.  Come on in!  Let’s have a seat in the living room where we can watch the squirrels running around by the old oak tree.  It should be warm from the sun, and I think you’ll like the comfy chair.  We’re experiencing sunny and mild weather.  Do they still call it Indian Summer?  Or is that politically incorrect?  Whatever the case, the weather has been lovely.  We even had a day in the 80’s this week.

How are you?  Safe, sound, and well, I hope.  What you have been up to lately?  Have you traveled anywhere and/or seen any new sights?  Visited any museums, explored the art world, or created some art of your own?  Have you spent time with family or friends, or gone off somewhere on your own for moments (or more) of solitude?  What about books and films?  Have you read anything or watched anything good?

Still blooming in the mornings.
Still blooming in the mornings.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you it that this week has been… interesting.  Slow, but not always easy.  Izzy Cat became ill last weekend although it took me until mid-afternoon on Sunday to figure it out.  There were telltale signs in the morning that one of the cats was having a problem, but it took a while to determine which cat.  I had to be stealthy and spend time in the vicinity of the litter boxes.  I couldn’t be too close because cats, like most people, prefer privacy when they do their business.  Eventually it came to pass (pun not intended, but it made me laugh) that Izzy was the sick kitty, and her symptoms grew worse throughout the day and evening.  Although there are emergency vet services here, most restrict it to six days per week because they truly do honor the sabbath.  Unless it’s a sick horse.  Then by all means, call right away and they’ll rush right out.

There was once a little nut.
There was once a little nut.

We did get Izzy to the vet on Monday afternoon where the laying on of hands almost cured her.  When we returned home with three medications for her and three theories on what the problem might have been (a plant she ate, a bug she ate, or a bug/virus in general), Izzy was almost her old self again, purring and socializing with me once again.  The vomiting had stopped although she continued to have problems on the other end for the rest of the week.  That’s partially my fault.  I tried to get some of the medications down her, but Izzy insisted it wasn’t going to happen.  For example, I put the de-wormer in her food because the vet said it has no flavor and there would be no problem getting her to eat the food.  I don’t know how Izzy knew it was in there, but she sniffed the food and walked away.  I did manage to get one Pepcid down her on the first day by crushing it and putting it in water from canned tuna, something Izzy loves.  That was the only time she fell for medication in her food or water.

A bird in the woods.
A bird in the woods.

Since Izzy appeared to be improving, it was decided we would wait and see rather than torture her with meds.  I was afraid she would stop eating if we kept trying to hide it in her food (which she did, temporarily).  However, the vet’s office called on Wednesday to check up on her and insisted that we at least force the antibiotics down her throat as that would help with the diarrhea and keep the situation from becoming worse.  M & I watched this video online in which they make it look surprisingly easy to give a cat a pill.  Ha!  I knew better because this is not my first experience medicating a cat.  It was my first experience medicating Izzy, and let me tell you, I hope we never have to do it again.  I’ll spare you the rest of the details and long story, and get to the point where we finally got the hang of it.  Using a pheromone product that calms cats helped.  Or at least I think it helped.  M thinks I’m being superstitious and that we just had to get past that learning curve.

Decorating the thicket.
Decorating the thicket.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that although I’d like to say I don’t play favorites with the cats, I would be lying.  Izzy bonded with me, Bella bonded with M, and so, we do have our favorites.  Or, since they are cats, I should say our favorites have their favorites.  I have spent much of the week with Izzy in the master bedroom where we isolated her, tempting her to eat and play, or just relaxing in the sun with her as she rested.  When she napped, I would read.  Sometimes I would nap for a little while, too.  I would, of course, do the same for Bella if she were to get sick.  I would worry about her as much, too, but I don’t think I’d be as deeply sad as I have been for Izzy who has been my companion more than Bella has over the past eight years.  Does that sound terrible?  It might.  I don’t think I’m explaining it well.

As of this writing, Izzy is still isolated and probably will be for another day or two.  If she isn’t completely better by Monday, she may have to visit the vet again.  She will not be amused or joyful about it.  Poor thing shakes like crazy when she gets to the vet’s office.  Izzy is a little autistic, if such a thing is possible in cats, and doesn’t care to be touched unless she initiates it.  She is also very OCD about her day and habits, and gets upset with change.

There was a new development late yesterday afternoon.  Bella began exhibiting the same symptoms Izzy had.  Luckily, it was an hour before the vet’s office closed for the weekend so I was able to call and get some medications for Bella who, it turns out, is more stubborn than Izzy.  We could not get her to swallow the pill, no matter what we tried.  She’s much improved this morning even though she didn’t take the antibiotic, and we’ll hopefully know more later because I was able to take some samples in to the vet (something I couldn’t do with Izzy because she wasn’t isolated at the time she got sick).  If it has to be anything, I’m hoping it will be something the de-wormer will take care of because I think I can get Bella to eat that in her food.

Climbing a tree.
Climbing a tree.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that it was about mid-week when I realized I was down in the dumps, and had been for a while.  Maybe it was the worry about Izzy that brought it to light.  I think it was, but can’t be sure.  This year has been trying for many reasons.  That said, nobody close to me has died or become deathly ill, and this year really wasn’t that bad in the grand scheme of things.  So, on Wednesday I began to do All The Right Things.  I exercised, hit the yoga mat, meditated.  I spent a good part of Thursday in the woods pausing, breathing deeply, and reminding myself to count my blessings.  There are many, and they outnumber and outweigh the difficulties, difficulties that I feel ridiculous whining about because they are not that bad.  My health is a good example.  Although I’m still experiencing some symptoms of my own, I’ve had a lot of tests done this year, and the only thing the tests have shown is that there is nothing wrong with me.  Having been assured of that, I will continue to think good, healthy thoughts, and do All The Right Things.

Coming to rest.
Coming to rest.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that on Sunday I collected a handful of feathers from the Great Blue Heron that died on Saturday night, and cast them to the wind which carried them into the lagoon where the herons visit and feed.  It felt like the right thing to do.  I hope its spirit is flying free.  A new heron was seen wading in the lagoon this morning, filling in the gap created by the one that died.

Resting on the forest floor.
Resting on the forest floor.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I am almost finished reading The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert.  I’ll comment more about it when I finish it.  I did finish reading Gift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh.  It was my beach book this year.  What that means is I kept it in the beach bag to read when I was at the beach.  Appropriate beach reading material, don’t you think?  It is a beautiful book, and not at all outdated, or at least I don’t think so.  It is a soothing read, filled with wisdom, that I found had a meditative quality to it.  I particularly like the way she took inspiration from the shells she found on the beach and used them as metaphors for the various stages of life and relationships.  If you’re a woman and haven’t read it, I highly recommend it.  I would recommend it to men, too, but I’m not sure how many men would be interested.  Perhaps it’s wrong of me to think they might not want to read it?  M read it before I did although neither of us had any idea of what the book entailed when he grabbed it out of the beach bag.  He was looking for something to read and I was finishing up something else at the time.  Once I was well into Gift from the Sea, I asked him why he read it all since it didn’t seem the type of book that would interest him.  He, too, found Lindbergh’s writing calming and beautiful so why not read the entire book?

Why not indeed.

Morning lights.
Morning lights.

If we were having coffee, I would say that I’ve talked your ear off quite enough.  It’s time for me to pass the talking stick, so to speak, over to you so you can tell me all about your week.  I would also remind you that the deadline for Walktober is tomorrow at midnight.  I considered cancelling it this year because I have not felt much like blogging lately, but as you can see, once I got started writing this post, it was like riding a bicycle.  It all came back with ease.  Please pardon my rudeness of late in not getting around to visiting you at your place.  I should be back into the blogging swing of things again soon.

If you need more time for Walktober, let me know.  Otherwise, I think it might be just Frank, Merril, and me since no one else has stepped forward with a walk or a link to a walk.  WordPress is having their Worldwide WP 5k this week, too, and I’m thinking about joining that just for the fun and motivation of it.  I’ve participated in the past, and it’s a good way to get some exercise and fresh air.

Smoke snaking its way across the meadow.
Smoke snaking its way across the meadow.

Thank you for visiting today, and joining me for another coffee chat.  I think I’ll go out for a short hike.  You’re welcome to join me, or you can stay here and relax for a while.  The porch is still open and warm, too, if you’d prefer to go out there.  Feel free to use the napping chair.  I always wake up feeling refreshed after a porch nap, and you might, too.

Our neighbor, Llloyd, fired up his big old wood stove a few mornings ago. You should have seen all the smoke!
Our neighbor, Llloyd, fired up his big old wood stove a few mornings ago. You should have seen all the smoke!  I rode my bike out to have a look and make sure it wasn’t a forest fire.  M guessed right away it was Lloyd.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Thick with smoke.
Thick with smoke.

Thank you so much for stopping by.  I always enjoy our coffee chats.  This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

Sunbeams and smoke.
Sunbeams and smoke.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

45 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Pausing and resting edition

  1. Yes please I need more time for Walktober. I totally forgot. We got back from DC Thursday evening, I should have done it yesterday while the sun was out. Raining today…but I think tomorrow will be good. Will walk in the morning and write in the afternoon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sounds great, Dawn. 🙂 I’m going to be late with the round-up. Between the sick cats and my own laziness, I’ve gotten behind around here and need to play a little catch-up on chores and such.

      Like

  2. This was so sad and lovely and lonely and bittersweet–so many feelings. I do hope both your cats are feeling better. We’ve been through this. One of our cats–the one who has been sick–will not take pills, does not like change, and definitely will not eat or drink anything if we try to add something to his food. He will only eat one kind of wet food, and no dry food. I totally understand. 🙂
    I hope you’re feeling better, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Merril. 🙂 You managed to pick up on all of the things I was feeling when I wrote this. Maybe it’s the time of year, and the way October is almost over and I feel as if I missed it. But there’s still time left, and I’m headed outside soon for more time in the woods. The autumn leaves are really beautiful this year. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have a secret favorite cat, too. I am impeccable in how I take care of all the cats, but while I will really miss two of them when they die, the death of my secret favorite cat will break my heart. I have known this ever since I brought her home, and for the past thirteen and a half years, I have missed her every single day even though she’s still alive. I don’t even want to guess at how crazy I’m going to be when she really does die, considering how irrational I already am about her.

    It recently occurred to me that my own pervasive feelings of not-quite-right might actually be attributable to getting older, which was a strange thought. I’m very grateful not to have most of the health issues that my contemporaries struggle with, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have challenges of my own…largely invisible, which makes them lonely to endure. I think it’s hard to have compassion for yourself until you recognize the validity of your suffering. Soldiering on in the face of things that are difficult has some merit when there isn’t time to do anything else, but…it’s even better to hold your own hand and support yourself gently down the road, taking care with your bruised and aching places.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much, David, for the thoughtful and thought-provoking comment. I had to take a few minutes to respond because I was a little tearful. Not in a bad way. Your comment was compassionate, and I think you’re right about having some self-compassion. Thank you.

      I think I might know who is your secret favorite, but I could be wrong and, since it is a secret, I won’t put it out there with a guess. It not-so-secretly makes me feel better to know I’m not the only one who has a favorite, although maybe in a way it’s not a good thing as it means heartbreak when the inevitable happens and I don’t wish heartbreak on anyone. I told my husband today that what I need is an old farm woman’s attitude towards cats (and other animals, for that matter), but I’m not a farm woman (and some would argue with the “old” part) nor was I raised on a farm so I don’t know how to be that detached and pragmatic about it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This has been quite therapeutic for me, having lost my ‘favorite’ cat this summer. Not that I don’t love my other cat…it’s just that I understand how you feel. I hope both Izzy and Bella recover soon. Take care of yourself as well (and try not to become detached and pragmatic). Though I understand the thought, something is lost when you lose the ability to grieve.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you, Ms. Anonymous. I’m pretty sure I know who you are and which cat (although since you’re anonymous I won’t guess beyond that). Hugs, and thank you. You’re right about becoming detached and pragmatic, although I wonder if it’s really possible to become that way, deep down inside. I guess with enough hurt, it probably is, and I don’t think I’d really want to shut myself off from life and love (and I do think we love our cats, dogs, and other furry friends who become part of the family).

          Like

  4. I wondered about Iffy all week! I’m glad she’s doing better, too bad she’s not 100% yet. The smoky photos are lovely.

    I’m trying to get in a Walktober post. We went on a few homes but not the one I wanted to share. It may happen today. I think tomorrow we have rain in the forecast so hopefully today.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I haven’t gotten to Walktober either. Totally meant to. I don’t know if I should ask for an extension because I don’t know if I’ll get to it even with the extension, lol.
    Hope the kitties are feeling well now!
    Love that morning lights picture!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I absolutely understand about the cat situations – illness, medication, favourites – the lot! We have a wee saying here in this house ‘Cats are autistic, dogs are Downs’. It makes us smile and understand their behaviours a bit better. Orlando for instance will not come inside if the door has been opened a millisecond earlier than it should be. The door must be closed again, he must climb the two steps and SIT. Then the door may be opened for him. Should the wrong person open the door that also will not be acceptable. How we figure out who the right person is, is still a mystery to me. Siddy, however is very happy no matter the situation. He loves people and shows it. Extremely. He is also rather pedantic about getting his reward treats for the things that get reward treats. None may be missed.

    I still have a favourite cat who lives in my heart even though he went away ten years ago – a favourite is a favourite!!

    I’m sure your kitty will get herself well with or without medication. Animals are wiser than us I sometimes think about the taking of stuff into their bodies. I once heard Abraham speaking about animals and sickness and the thing that struck me was their need to not be around the negative energy of worry or belief in the illness. They want to take themselves off and away from the negative so they can make themselves well. It’s an interesting thought isn’t it.

    I’ve missed Walktober Robin – heavens knows I tried – but my camera just couldn’t capture what I wanted it to. Maybe next year. I enjoyed reading Frank’s contribution last night though 🙂

    Thanks for the hug and the coffee – always nice to catch up!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Pauline. That’s a good way to think of dogs and cats. They are so different, aren’t they? I know what you mean about a favorite being a favorite, and yes, they do stay in one’s heart no matter how long they’ve been gone.

      The cats have been keeping to themselves and sleeping it off. We’re finished with medicating them at least until we get some test results tomorrow. Even then, I might not bother as both kitties appear to be improving.

      Cameras are like that from time to time. Stubborn, and not wanting to capture things the way we want them to. I enjoyed Frank’s walk, too. 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks, Ellen. 🙂 I think we’re stuck with the pills on this one, but since the cats are better, I’m going to wait and let it run its course. Hope your weekend has been a good one!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. “M knew right away it was Lloyd.” This made me laugh. Men and wood stoves/fireplaces. I bet his house was full of smoke as well. Beautiful photos. I felt good when you said that you realized you were down and decided to start doing all the right things–that’s what I do too–the yoga, the meditation, the walks. Now why is it we let those things go until we feel bad? Most likely life and sick cats, but…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lisa. 🙂 Yes, men and fire. Lloyds fires appear to be legendary. He’s a taxidermist and works in a big shed on his property. That’s where he has the big wood stove. I don’t know if he’s trying to burn wet wood (and don’t want to think about what other wet things he might be burning in there). And yes, life and sick cats make it hard not to put off the things we need to do to feel better. A little self-care, I’ve learned, goes a long way. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m sorry to hear about your cats feeling under the weather. Ours hasn’t gotten anything more than an eye infection so far. I can understand how you’d be sad for them though. I would be the same. I am a fan of the breeder Mythicbells. She is a single woman with ten resident cats. She uploads videos of them all the time. She manages to pill her cats with a pill gun. Here’s a video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBJyWMiuFRQ Good luck with the medicine, I hope they feel better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, SomberScribbler. 🙂 The video was great. I’ll have to keep the pill gun and the capsules in mind in case there is a next time. Part of the problem was trying to get the cat to take a bitter, jagged pill half. Mythicbells made it look very easy.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. glad you cat is feeling better. They are not a cooperative bunch when it comes to meds, glad I have not had to fight my current little tiger about this issue. My dogs are so easy in comparison. You take really beautiful images, they are stunning.
    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Claudia. 🙂 Cats are wildly independent, and it seems they will only cooperate if it suits them (and their agenda). Makes me almost wish I had a dog instead. Dogs tend to be much more trusting, and I probably could have hid that medication in some peanut butter instead of trying to force it down.

      Like

  10. I hope the kitties are both feeling better soon!

    I’m always the medicine-giver in the family because my husband just can’t. Luckily our pup is pretty good about it, but the cat he had years ago when we were dating was awful about it. Alas!

    This week, I’ve been reading comics mostly. I didn’t get into them much when I was a kid, but as an adult I’ve developed a real enjoyment for them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Diana. 🙂 I read comics when I was a kid, but haven’t read any as an adult. I’ve seen a couple of graphic novels that looked interesting. I should at least give one of those a try.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Such a beautiful post and now… I shall submit my own “Weekend Coffee Share”, right after I close the pool…before the pipes freeze!

    I shall also submit an entry to Walktober tomorrow, if that is all right with you!

    Have a most wonderful week, Robin!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. First of all, your photos are amazing. They always are, but this week they set a very specific mood that match your post. Secondly, take care of yourself. We all have those difficult days that logic cannot talk us out of and that’s OK. I hope your cats are better. It’s sad about the heron. They are such beautiful regal birds. Have a wonderful week.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Looks like Lloyd either burns green wood or needs a lesson in fire making. 😉
    Love all your photos – gorgeous VA creeper, great morning glory composition and sparkly grass.
    I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on SOAT after you are done reading it. I started ‘All the Light We Cannot See’ by Anthony Doerr and am really enjoying it. Got a few movies from the library but haven’t put on a single one (I tend to do that!).
    Finally got my Walktober post in at the 11th hour. Editing the photos and writing the post took me longer than I thought it would because I kept getting interrupted for days (we won’t go in that!) But there it is!

    Like

  14. Forgot to say I hope Izzy and Bella are better. My own special girl has health issues and her diet has to be rigorously maintained or we get white knuckled with worry and a whopping vet bill. I can cry just THINKING about losing her. She is definitely a one-in-a-million cat, a real love. So I understand your relationship with Izzy. ❤

    Like

  15. It sounds like you’ve “bottomed out” so fingers crossed that the “bounce”is a good, long one.
    Oh, one other thing to remember too. As we get older, we don’t get lazy,… we just have to pace ourselves. 🙂

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

