Posted in Air, Earth, Exploring, Gifts, Life, Music, Nature, Photography, Play, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Travel, Virginia, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, WeekendCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee: Holiday weekend edition

Over the bridge and through the tunnel.
Over the bridge and through the tunnel with surprisingly little traffic to show for it.

If all the cars in the United States were placed end to end, it would probably be Labor Day Weekend.

~ Doug Larson

Somewhere along the way. (On the Eastern Shore of Virginia.)
Somewhere along the way. (On the Eastern Shore of Virginia.)

If we were having coffee, I would be thrilled to see you again!  Welcome back!  Let’s grab some beverages and have a seat on the deck near the pool  It’s hot today, but we can always jump in the pool to cool off.  There’s an umbrella out there, too, to shade you from the worst of the sun’s heat and light.

I’m sorry our coffee chat is late this week.  Here in the U.S. it is considered a holiday weekend because a lot of folks have today off from work.  It is Labor Day.  Labor Day in the U.S. has an interesting history, but you didn’t come here to listen to me ramble on about that.  I will say, in case you’re not from here, that beyond the history and true meaning, Labor Day Weekend, like Memorial Day Weekend, is a seasonal cue, so to speak.  Memorial Day, which falls near the end of May, marks the unofficial start of summer (or beach season if you live in a beach area, as I do) and Labor Day, the first Monday in September, is the unofficial end (the last big beach weekend).  When I was a child, Labor Day was the end of summer because it meant going back to school sometime soon thereafter (a prospect I never looked forward to, but that’s a long story for another time).

A rough day on the bay. (Taken from the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel visitors area in Virginia on Saturday.)
A rough day on the bay. (Taken from the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel visitors area in Virginia on Saturday.)

How are you?  What have you been up to lately?  Have you traveled anywhere or taken a vacation/holiday?  Gone on any big or small adventures?  Have you met anyone new and/or interesting or visited with family or friends?  Seen any good films or read any good books?

Since we last got together, I finished a couple of books: The Samurai’s Garden and Jumping the Queue.  I enjoyed both books, and recommend both.  I picked up Jumping the Queue at the library, and it was my first encounter with author Mary Wesley.  Lisa mentioned her in a comment so I went looking to see what I could find.  I’d like to read more of her books.  Her dark sense of humor appeals to me.

A gull gathering. Perhaps they're having their own coffee share.
A gull gathering. Perhaps they’re having their own coffee share.

As for films, M and I have watched a few since our last coffee chat.  Guardians of the Galaxy was entertaining in the Marvel comics kind of way.  Last night we watched Katy Perry: Part of Me.  I was balancing out our weekend.  You see, we went to Virginia to listen to “old people’s music” so I felt we should counter that with something younger.  (It’s a joke I will explain in a few minutes.)

The Bier Garden in historic Olde Towne section of Portsmouth, Virginia.
The Bier Garden in historic Olde Towne section of Portsmouth, Virginia.

M and I have had a fun weekend.  Friday evening we relaxed and swam in the pool.  Saturday after lunch we hopped in the car and made our way to Portsmouth, Virginia, where we would be staying the night.  We were there for a concert in Virginia Beach and it was cheaper to stay in Portsmouth, less than a half hour from Virginia Beach.  I think I’d go again just to spend more time visiting Portsmouth.  We did spend a couple of hours there on Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning, doing a little exploring.

Inside The Bier Garden.
Inside The Bier Garden.

Early dinner was our first priority on Saturday.  We decided on The Bier Garden, thinking we might sit outside, but it was terribly hot and humid so we ended up inside (which, as you can see in the image above, was also quite nice) enjoying the air conditioning.  The food was delicious (and filling!), and the beer was good.

Somewhere on High Street in Olde Towne Portsmouth.
Somewhere on High Street in Olde Towne Portsmouth.

We took a little stroll on High Street after lunch.  We didn’t have time to do much exploring, but enjoyed our walk and talked about going back on Sunday morning to look around some more.

A Confederate memorial.
A Confederate memorial.

Wikipedia describes Olde Towne as featuring “one of the largest collections of historically significant homes between Alexandria, Virginia and Charleston, South Carolina.”  Portsmouth is a port town on the western side of the Elizabeth River, and it is home to the Norfolk Naval Shipyard which is still an active facility and one of the few in the world that can accommodate dry docking an aircraft carrier.

Close-up of the memorial.
Close-up of the memorial.

I will show and tell you more about Portsmouth soon.  For now, let’s move on to the concert of “old people’s music.”  I get annoyed, sometimes, with classic rock radio stations.  Here in the Middle of Nowhere, that’s about all we can pick up over the air, and they tend to play the same songs over and over and over again, as if all the bands of a certain era (60’s and 70’s) were one-hit wonders rather than musicians with a full range of music, songs, and albums.  I started referring to it as “old people’s music” several years back because it seems to appeal to people, well, my age and up.  That makes sense because people my age and up are, well, classic.  Right?  Right.

It’s not that I don’t like classic rock music.  I like it very much.  I also like funk and soul and Motown and other music from the good old days when I was growing up.  But I also like new music, or at least like to keep up with new music.  The classic rock radio stations, to me, feel stuck in a certain genre and age.  Of course that’s what they are supposed to be, and in a world with more radio station choices, classic rock stations wouldn’t get on my nerves at all because I could switch around, listening to classic rock when I’m in the mood for it.  (It should be noted that, yes, I could listen to other radio stations via the internet, and sometimes I do.  Because satellite internet limits our bytes per month, I don’t do it too much or too often.)

Farm Bureau Live Amphitheater in Virginia Beach. (On our way into the concert.)
Farm Bureau Live Amphitheater in Virginia Beach. (On our way into the concert.)

Anyhow.  I kid around with M when he’s listening to the only rock station we can pick up, and accuse him of listening to old people’s music.  And this is my long way of telling you that we went to see some classic musicians in Virginia Beach on Saturday night.

Earth, Wind & Fire
Earth, Wind & Fire

And oh my, was it ever fun!  Earth, Wind & Fire and Chicago are touring together.  Since Virginia Beach is only two hours away from us, and since the price was right (not the usual exorbitant fees), we decided to go.  It was a blast.

Chicago
Chicago

We sang, we danced, we had a great time.  Earth, Wind & Fire and Chicago played together for the opening and closing numbers, and played separately in between.  I enjoyed Earth, Wind & Fire the most.  Their music spans all kinds of genres including funk, rock, R&B, jazz, disco, and pop.  Chicago was pretty damn good, too.

One more look at Earth, Wind & Fire.
One more look at Earth, Wind & Fire.

It was a late night for us.  We didn’t get to bed until after midnight.  Now who sounds like an old person?  Yikes.  I’m kidding.  I was never much of a night owl — I’m more of an early bird — so I doubt age plays much of a role in what time I prefer to go to bed.

The old courthouse. Portsmouth, VA.
The old courthouse. Portsmouth, VA.

We did get to walk around Portsmouth for a little while on Sunday morning.  In the rain and mist.  The rain (and mist) unfortunately did not follow us home where we are still in need of it.  This week is going to be hot and humid, and there is a chance of rain on Thursday or Friday, but our weather prognosticators say that every week and have been wrong for a while so we’ll just have to wait and see.

Walking around Portsmouth.
Walking around Portsmouth.

If we were having coffee, it would probably be time for me to stop monopolizing the conversation and let you get a word or two in.  Thanks so much for visiting, and if you’re feeling so inclined, leave a comment letting me know what you’ve been doing over the past week or so.  If you wish to stay for sunset, it is at 7:23 this evening.  We can go down to the Point and watch.  There’s a nice breeze that should help keep the biting bugs away from us.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

coffee2

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

28 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Holiday weekend edition

  1. If we were having coffee, I would have to admit that this has been another uneventful week, which is fine, really. I did a tiny little bit of yard work and a tiny few things in the house. I did finish one book, “The Promise of Home” by Darcie Chan, third in the Mill River Series. I enjoyed it, but am thinking perhaps 3 is enough. Then I read “Summer of Good Intentions” by Wendy Francis, and enjoyed it more. I tend toward books about family/people relationships these days. Yesterday afternoon I went with a friend to see the Meryl Streep movie “Ricki and The Flash” – we enjoyed it, but how could you not like anything with Meryl Streep? Afterwards, we went to Applebee’s for a late lunch/early dinner. Last night I started watching a new-to-me series on Netflix, “Chasing Life”. It hooked me. I am glad you shared Portsmouth with me – although I have seen a good part of this country, the eastern coast south of Baltimore is an area I have not been to. Yet. Perhaps someday.
    And now, I really must go – my hummingbirds need more nectar and my furniture needs dusting. I shall not labor a lot on this Labor Day, but some things have to be done, holiday or not.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you do make it out this way, Carol, let me know. Perhaps we can really have coffee (or tea or whatever) and chat for a while.
      A couple people have mentioned “Ricki and The Flash,” and all seemed to like it. I have added it to my Netflix list.
      Sounds like life has been going well for you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. If we were having coffee, I’d probably tell you it’s been a hectic week because my son suddenly decided he wanted to take a few classes at the local college so we hastened to get that together both financially and academically. As you might recall , he decided 18 months ago that college was not for him but he had a change if heart. Perhaps he just needed time to mature. Anyhow he is taking three classes in the late afternoon/evenings three days a week as he continues to work with my dad. Since we are on the subject of schooling, I will also mention that my daughter just started grad school, working towards her masters at Hunter College

    As I accept the second cup of coffee that you offer me, I will mention how this seems to be a weekend of Bbqs and food and drink. At some point soon, I need to regroup and make healthier choices but that can be a coffee conversation for another time. Right now, I’m taking a little rest before going to a former coworker’s house for a Labor Day BBQ

    Have a good week Robin.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your weekend sounds like a lot of fun, Deb. 🙂 As for regrouping, I’m in the midst of doing the same.
      I still find it hard to believe that your daughter and son are all grown up. Time flies, that’s for sure.

      Like

  3. Well, we might not be having coffee….as I don’t like coffee…but if we were having tea…or water…I’d tell you that I’m home (last night) from my 2 weeks in the south. Nice drive north. Missing the peaches down there though. I think I like Portsmouth very much..historic houses, buildings…it’s all beautiful. And I’ve LOVED that concert. Guess that makes me classic. Love the bird gathering photo. Love your shoes too. Got to get me some of those new colored shoes. Yes I do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dawn. 🙂 Your two weeks in the south sound wonderful. I don’t like coffee, either, so you and I can find something else to drink. Portsmouth is a place I would love to explore some more. I didn’t get more than a glimpse of some of the neighborhoods where there are some beautiful old homes.

      Like

  4. I have been thinking about your love of music and dancing. I admire folks who like and do this, but have never been too inspired to enjoy music “out”. Except every once in a while. It makes me smile to think of you having so much fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Ms. Kathy. 🙂 To be honest, I probably would not enjoy my music “out” if it were not for M. I’m just as happy listening to a CD as I am attending a concert. But there is something about live music that I just can’t get from a recording. Perhaps it’s the energy of the crowd.

      Like

  5. It is lovely to be visiting with you again Robin. I’m just finishing my morning coffee and the sun is shining, the sky is cloudless and we are hopeful that the second coming of winter has evaporated at last! Your Labor Day coincides with my birthday week when my daughters traditionally abandon their lives and move in with me for a week long pyjama party. We love this time together every year. This year we planned nothing as both of them have been super stressed and busy with events in their own lives so this was all about rest and relaxation and no running frantically about ‘doing’ things. The weather cooperated with sleet, hail and snow to keep us happily inside except for brief forays on puppy walking duty. We cooked, talked, ate and drank various beverages and talked some more. I taught my eldest to knit again. It is a bit like riding a bike as she quickly got back into the swing of the thing. I made a new beaded ‘chandelier’ light fitting 🙂 Your concert duo is due here soonish, I saw an advert recently for them. They must be doing a world tour. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think your pyjama party sounds like a marvelous way to spend time with people you love, Pauline. Restful, relaxing, and relearning how to knit. Who could ask for more? 🙂

      Like

  6. If we were having coffee Robin it would most definitely be in Olde Town Portsmouth because it’s where I first discovered that gorgeous part of Virginia. My sister lived in one of those beautifully restored old houses. The whole region impressed me so much I used it as the area where my new novel is set…small world!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think it’s great that you went to a rock concert – sounds like you had a blast. It’s fun to go out on the town once in a while, something we rarely do, we are such homebodies. 😉 Although, I’m itching to go to Maine for a couple days now that the beach crowds have thinned…
    Love your snazzy sneakers!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Eliza. 🙂 I specialize in finding snazzy sneakers. lol! I wish I could go to Maine for a couple of days. Or weeks. Or even months. I haven’t spent much time there, but enough to know I like it.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. After my busy week, it’s great to sit back and relax, listening to you chat, and not having to dash off to get something done. I gained a daughter-in-law on Saturday! My son married his beautiful Mary in our back garden, and as much as I thought we were well prepared, when it came down to those last few days, getting everything in place became frantic. I’ve started to share a few photos on my blog now ~ I think it will take a post a day for the next week though, to get through everything, but do drop by if you have a moment. 🙂

    The concert sounds fabulous. I enjoy your kind of old people’s music too, but definitely like to hear some new music as well, not that I like all of today’s music, but some is definitely to my liking. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. If we were having coffee right now, Robin, that wouldn’t be such a good thing because I need to get a good night’s sleep to fight off this cold that has been deviling me all week. Could I have a glass of wine instead please, or even a cold glass of water? Then I will just sit back and relax and let you do the talking because my cold has kept me at home for five days, and I don’t have much to report 🙂 I would love to hear more about the Eastern Shore. I visited there once, and would be thrilled to come back for another, longer visit.

    Have a good week, Kathy. I think I should say goodnight now. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wine for you, Skip. I hope you’re feeling better now. The Eastern Shore is a beautiful place, and so different from northeast Ohio. The best part about living here is the beach. 🙂

      Like

  10. It seems you had a good holiday weekend. A toast to you and M! Hooray for fun concert!

    As you know, it’s hot in the eastern US, so we stayed in during the heat of the day. But, the weekend included an evening of ballroom, a college football game, a movie, shopping, and a neighborhood picnic. Have a good week ahead.Dance: The Musical (Act 2) starts Tuesday evening …. Dancing or Dancin’ in the song title.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. If we were having coffee I’d tell you it’s been too long since we’ve been to a concert – live music is very near and dear to my heart. So happy you had such a great time seeing Earth, Wind & Fire AND Chicago!

    We had a mellow weekend since Tim is still recovering… A couple of quiet evenings at the beach, a day trip to Massachusetts to a family reunion, and a night at the movies. We saw “A Walk in the Woods” with Robert Redford and loved it. The critics didn’t think much of it but since we’re “old people” now we appreciated the dry humor and found ourselves laughing out loud with the rest of the audience. It actually made us laugh at ourselves and our recent health problems. Good therapy!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Thanks for the holiday coffee and the visit, Robin. It’s nice to catch up with you. I know what you mean about old people’s classic rock. Mike seems to only listen to classic rock stations, while I listen to a mix of modern, rock, folk, Arabic, French, Turkish and even Chinese music! But there is nothing better than going to a concert where you can sing along and dance to the old classics. That concert in Virginia Beach sounded fun. Virginia Beach is a place I went to frequently as a teenager, as we lived in Yorktown, just across the Norfolk bridge-tunnel. You know, I’ve never been to Portsmouth except to drive through; I didn’t even know it had an old town! Even though I grew up in that area, I’ve never thought it worthy of a visit! Shows what I know.

    You can see my cocktail hour to see what I’ve been up to, but I did go to a jazz fest at Lake Anne Center in Reston with friends, and we also danced and had a great time, but it was a much more intimate affair than your concert was. I also saw Mistress America last week. We watched Wild on DVD, and we’re really enjoying the Danish political series, Borgen. Mike and I met after his work one day at Mon Ami Gabi at Reston Town Center for drinks and appetizers. We’re starting to meet with contractors now as we have a big renovation (kitchen/laundry room/screened-in porch) ahead of us. Other than that, I’m just preparing for my CELTA course, which starts in a little over a week. I’m not looking forward to the commute on Washington metro into D.C.

    Here’s to fall weather, hopefully coming soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sounds like a wonderful weekend! The classic rock stations around here are starting to make me feel old – they have been playing music from the late 80’s (my preferred era) and early 90’s, my time in high school and college, oh no!
    I’m taking my baby steps and did my best with my first holiday weekend on my own. Maybe I’ll write a post about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Well, I’m having coffee right now, so come join me. Your weekend sounds great. We did not do much over the holiday weekend, although we did go out to dinner with friends we had not seen in a while, so that was fun. We watched a movie “I’ll See You in My Dreams,”–which I guess is an old folks film. It wasn’t a great movie, and sadder than I thought it would be, but Blythe Danner is wonderful. I’m reading a horror book, Bird Box, right now.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

