Posted in Beach, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Gifts, Home, Life, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Play, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Water, WeekendCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee: Snippets edition

Dad's birthday sunrise.
Dad’s birthday sunrise.

The world is quiet here.

~ Lemony Snicket

Dad's birthday sunrise II.
Dad’s birthday sunrise II.

If we were having coffee, I’d be delighted to see you again.  Welcome back!  Big hugs if you’re accepting them.  Come on in, grab a cup of coffee or tea or whatever suits your mood (or the time of day), and let’s go out on the porch where we can sit and gab for a while.

How are you?  What have you been up to lately?  Have you gone on vacation/holiday?  Traveled anywhere for business or pleasure?  Spent time with family and/or friends?  Have you read any good books or seen any good films?  Gone on any good walks or hikes?

First morning.
First morning.

If we were having coffee, you would probably notice how quiet it is around here.  The M&M’s, along with Bo & Jake the Dogs, left early this morning to make their way back to Breezy Acres in northeast Ohio.  I have the usual mixed feelings about seeing them leave.  I love them dearly and I often wish we lived closer so we could visit more often, but it is also nice to have the house to ourselves again and get things back to their normal state of being (although with all the renovations, those done and those that still need to be done, “normal” is hard to define).  Izzy & Bella the cats second that (e)motion.  Bo & Jake are used to cats, and Izzy & Bella started life with dogs, so the animals all manage to get along in a watchful (suspicious) truce.  Izzy, our fraidy-cat, always surprises me with how well she gets along with Bo.  She was walking around here bellowing out a loud meow after Bo left, as if she’d lost her best friend.

Then again, she’s a cat.  Perhaps she was celebrating the departure of the canines.  One never knows with cats.

A happy birthday.
A happy birthday.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I am glad I took time to send postcards out to you this week.  Otherwise, we could be here for hours if I started rambling on about all the things we did with the M&M’s during their visit.  Bike rides, beach excursions, walks on the boardwalk, watching movies, playing games (Bananagrams!), reading books (we are all book lovers), and hanging out at the ranch sums it all up well.  M the Elder had M the Younger help out with a little heavy lifting (to hang a basketball hoop and backboard).  Mostly it was a time of fun, laughter, and relaxation.  I hope the M&M’s enjoyed their visit as much as M and I did.

Higher than usual tide at the Point on Monday (during a coastal flood advisory).
Higher than usual tide at the Point on Monday (during a coastal flood advisory).

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that our last day with the M&M’s was an easy-breezy kind of day.  We went for a morning bike ride, swam in the pool, went to the Hide Away Grill for lunch, and watched a movie after a light dinner here at the ranch.  We watched Into The Woods, a movie none of us had seen.  I mention that none of us have seen it because it can be difficult to find such a thing when it comes to M the Younger who tends to see films (he wants to see) shortly after they are released.  Many years ago, M and I saw the stage version of Into The Woods as part of the Artist’s Series at Marshall University, but the theater we saw it in had a poor sound system and when we left, I had no idea what it was about.  I couldn’t hear any of the lyrics or the dialogue.

On the beach (Monday evening).
On the beach (Monday evening).

I enjoyed the film and the music.  I’m a sucker for musicals and, as we all know, for fairy tales as well.  Combine the two, and I’m almost in heaven.  Judging from the reviews, the movie is missing some of the more explicitly sexual and violent aspects of the original musical, but there is still a dark tone to it (Johnny Depp’s wolf is creepy in a pedophilia way).  Be careful what you wish for seems to be the moral of the story.  Or maybe it’s that happily ever after isn’t what you think it will be.

Monday evening on the beach at Ocean City.
Monday evening on the beach at Ocean City.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that M and I spent the morning cleaning up (“retting up” as M puts it in his Pennsylvania Dutch way).  Between the pets and the sand, the place really needed it.

Globally famous!
Globally famous!

It’s a beautiful day so we will probably do a little yard work and then hang out at the pool.  The grass has been growing, as grass tends to do during the summer, and the gardens probably need some weeding after all the rain we had on Tuesday.

Home of the superheros!
Home of the superheros!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that we have a few days to rest up before our next visitors check in at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  Friends will be arriving on Thursday and Sunday, and all are departing on Monday (I think… I will have to check schedules).  This is the time of year when it starts to feel as if I’m running a bed and breakfast.  I think that might have been a good business for me to go into.  I like making people feel comfortable and at home.  I also like cooking for others, so it’s a win-win.  Actually, it’s a win-win-win because I particularly enjoy those things when it comes to family and friends.

Look! Up on the roof! It's one of the superheros! (Yes, I know it should be "superheroes." I was copying one of the signs on the building. See previous image.)
Look! Up on the roof! It’s one of the superheros! (Yes, I know it should be “superheroes.” I was copying one of the signs on the building. See previous image.)

If we were having coffee, I would suggest we take a walk.  It really is rather pleasant outside.  We can walk out to the dock and see what’s going on out there.  There have been a lot of fish, eels, crabs, and turtles swimming by lately.  If you’re interested in fresh crab, we can take some bait and drop the crab pot in.  I’ll steam them for you, but you’ll have to pick them yourself.  I’m not a fan of crab meat, although I’m starting to like it a little more than I used to.

Lights on the roof-top deck at Tony's Pizza pie joint. (Ocean City)
Lights on the roof-top deck at Tony’s Pizza pie joint. (Ocean City)

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that the weather will be heating up again after today.  We’ll be back in the 90’s by tomorrow.  It looks like it is going to stay hot for a while.  I see quite a few beach days in our near future.  Going to the beach, even if it’s just for the evening, is one of the best ways to cool off.

Ferris wheel.
Ferris wheel.

If we were having coffee, I would thank you for visiting.  Hang out a little longer if you like.  We can head out to the Point at sunset which is at 7:56 PM.  I hadn’t realized just how much shorter the days have grown.  Stay until after dark and you will get a look at the Milky Way and maybe a meteor or two.  The night sky has been gorgeous.  I tried to take some pictures the other night, but they didn’t turn out well.  I’m going to wait for cooler weather to try again.

A few from my seat on the ferris wheel.
A few from my seat on the ferris wheel.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Tuesday's storm clouds. (Do you see the heart?)
Tuesday’s storm clouds. (Do you see the heart?)

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

coffee2

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

31 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Snippets edition

  1. Your coffee shares always leave me wanting to pack a bag and jump on a plane to come visit you! This was no different. I’m glad your visit with the M&Ms was so good. I’m sure they enjoyed it too. Crab. Yum. I like it but not enough to have it more than once or twice a year. It’s very light a and non fishy.

    Have a super week prepping and enjoying your next visitors!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Corina! I hope that someday you will find yourself out this way so we can visit here at the ranch. 🙂 It’s funny you mention how crab is light and non fishy. Prior to moving here, most of the crab I’ve eaten was from a can and it was terribly fishy tasting. Canned crab is as bad a canned asparagus. Both are better fresh.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the coffee, and the visit. I would love to stay and chat some more, but since my week has been very lazy and very quiet, I really have nothing more to say. I’m glad you were able to visit with M&M, it’s always so nice to be near loved ones.

    Like

  3. I agree with Corina. I want to be one of your house guests. I also agree with you, I love having family and friends visit, and I like cooking for them, making the guest room special with flowers, sprucing up the guest bath. I am always sad when people leave. I love the ferris wheel photo. Enjoy the next guests!

    Like

  4. You’ve been busy! Over my lovely iced coffee I would tell you we have been traveling this past week. We’ve been to the ocean and in to the mountains. We’ve laughed with family and rode bikes in the blazing glorious sun. So, basically, I have been fantastic. 🙂

    Like

  5. What a busy, packed month you are having! I understand the mixed emotions, I feel that way when I entertain and it goes by in such a whirl, you feel like you barely had time to absorb the visit.
    We, too, are heading into some steamy weather, not my favorite and luckily not common here. No worries as cool weather will be coming in spades soon enough so I will love the heat while we have it! 😉

    Like

    1. “Whirl” is the right word for it, Eliza. Time is going by so quickly all of a sudden! I’m trying to love the heat, but I just don’t think I’ve got it in me. My daughter-in-law asked me what my spirit animal would be if I had a spirit animal and I immediately replied, “An Emperor penguin!” She asked why and I told her it’s because they live in a cold environment, they are happy on land and water, they are birds, and they don’t fly (I don’t like to fly). They also like to eat fish, and seem pretty social and playful. I really should move to a cold place. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you for the link, Eliza. Quite an interesting read. 🙂 I think you may be right about wanting to be comfortable outside. That’s what makes summer so difficult for me. It’s too hot and buggy to be out there for long.

          Liked by 1 person

  6. What wonderful pictures, just like stepping into another world. I’m glad the M&M’s had a good stay. I’m never sure I like crab, I used to work in a crab picking factory, (quite proud I lasted 3 weeks!) and have never been able to think of crab meat in the same way again. It has left me fairly good at picking crab though!
    Have a great week and look forward to seeing more of you beautiful photos.

    Like

  7. Love the photos! It sounds like you guys have had a good time but a busy one recently. It’s super hot around here, so we’ve been hiding indoors for the most part. I’m definitely ready for the fall.

    Like

  8. Thanks once again, Robin, for the coffee and the visit. It sounds like you had a great visit with the M&Ms; it’s always great to have summer fun with the family. It sounds like even the pets had a good time. I’ve mainly been settling in and getting my son settled in Richmond, where he’ll attend VCU this fall. I’m really hopeful and excited for this new and long overdue phase in his life.

    I attended a wonderful musical at Arena Stage Theater in D.C., Dear Evan Hansen. It was about how technology has created an isolated and lonely existence for teenagers, and how easy it is to create false personas online. It was quite moving and wonderfully done. I also attended a retreat this past weekend in Monterey, VA about women transitioning in midlife. It’s been great to be back, except for Virginia’s heat and humidity. I’m looking forward to the crisp days of fall! 🙂

    Like

  9. Hi Robin. No vacation this summer. We have been going to our camp every second morning to clear the power line in preparation for getting power to our camp. I love the time spent there … Lots of birds and bird sounds. I like your idea of a bed and breakfast … Your home always sounds welcoming! Happy hot days! Jane

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

