Posted in Assateague Island, Beach, Critters, Cycling, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Gifts, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Play, Postcards, Spirit, Summer

A postcard from Assateague Island

August 2015L 019ab

AssateaguePC(Reminder:  Click on the image to see a slightly larger version.)

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

10 thoughts on “A postcard from Assateague Island

  1. Love your postcard series. Can’t wait to see the islands. Will be there in a few weeks.
    P.S. Love Bananagrams but don’t think I can’t fit it into my limited carry-on luggage…like to travel light but this is the downside!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a very beautiful place, Joanne, and I think Assateague Island is the main reason I was willing to leave the snows of Ohio and come live in the heat of Maryland. I had only been there once in my life, but it left such a lasting impression of beauty that I thought the heat would be worth it if I could spend a lot of time on Assateague. I may have been right, but the jury is still out on that one. 😉

      Unfortunately, the horses do get a lot of practice with bags of food. The park rangers have been posting on Facebook about how bad it is for the horses. Sometimes they eat the plastic bags with the food and that can cause intestinal blockages which could kill the horse. The food often gives the horses diarrhea. Food needs to be packed in coolers that the horses can’t access or left in the car, but some folks are clearly unaware (or uncaring, but I prefer to think they are unaware) of this.

      Like

  2. I’ve only been briefly to Assateague, Robin, but I’ve never spent a lot of time there. I should do that, as it’s not so far from me. It sounds like you’re having a wonderfully relaxing holiday. 🙂

    Like

    1. I think you would like it, Cathy. I prefer to go on the off-season when it’s not so hot, not so buggy, and not filled with tourists. There are some lovely trails for hiking and biking, and the horses have beautiful winter coats if you go during the colder months (although it IS brutally cold out there sometimes during the winter). In the autumn the marsh grasses change from green to an amazing shade of red. In the spring, the snow geese and other migratory birds are gathered there.

      Like

        1. I think that would be a wonderful birthday treat! I missed the fall change of color last year, and really hope to catch it this year. If/when I notice any changes, I’ll let you know. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

