Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, WeekendCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee: Storms and blooms edition

Senescence.
Senescence.

My life story is the story of everyone I’ve ever met.

~ Jonathan Safran Foer, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

I guess I could have straightened out the seat cushion before I took this pic.
On the porch.  I guess I could have straightened out the seat cushion before I took this pic.

If we were having coffee, I would be delighted to see you again.  Big hugs (if you’re amenable), and come on in.  Let’s grab our beverages and a few snacks, and have a seat on the porch.  You can have the rocking chair.  It’s a comfy place to sit and rock while we chat.

How are you?  What have you been up to lately?  Have you traveled anywhere?  Gone on vacation/holiday?  Maybe taken a staycation?  Have you taken any good walks or hikes?  Read any good books?  Watched any good films?  Experienced any magic?

A lightning show on Tuesday night.
A lightning show on Tuesday night.

We had some amazing storms on Tuesday night.  There were two tornado warnings (no tornado here, thank goodness, but I hear there was one a short distance south of us), and the sky put on quite a lightning show.  You might have seen one of the photos I took if you stopped by for my Wordless Wednesday post this week.  It was pretty wild, but most of the lightning was quite a distance from us so M and I were able to sit on the porch for a while and watch as it zigzagged and streaked from cloud to cloud.

A streak of lightning.
A streak of lightning.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I gave up on Amy Tan’s book, The Valley of Amazement, and picked up Stephen King’s Finders Keepers instead.  After reading a few slow-to-get-started books, I needed a fast read.  I’ll probably go back to The Valley of Amazement in another book or two.  I read Mr. Mercedes last year.  Finders Keepers is the second in what I hear is going to be a trilogy.  From what I’ve read so far, I expect Finders Keepers to be as entertaining as Mr. Mercedes.

I used to read horror novels a lot when I was younger.  I stopped reading Stephen King’s novels sometime around Needful Things: The Last Castle Rock Story.  I expected to like Needful Things, especially since I was more than familiar with the Castle Rock stories and characters, but it was flat for me, as if someone had forced the author to write the story.  So, I gave up on Stephen King for a while.  I can’t remember which book brought me back.  I think it was one of his collections of short stories.

On the garden fence.
On the garden fence.

As for films, we recently watched But I’m a Cheerleader.  It is a bizarre and entertaining film from 1999.  I have no idea how it got on my Netflix queue.  Well, that’s not true.  I must have put it there.  Obviously.  But I’m not sure why or where I might have heard of it.  At first I thought it might be a John Waters film.  It’s not.  The critics didn’t like it, comparing it to John Waters films and finding it wanting.  I thought it was funny in a cult classic kind of way.  Would I recommend it?  I’m not sure.  It’s satire, but some might find it offensive.

Morning after.
Morning after.

If we were having coffee, I would introduce you to the M&M’s.  No, not the candy, silly.  My youngest son and his wife.  They are here for a visit this week, something I have been looking forward to.  I should introduce you to Bo and Jake, the dogs, too.  You may have already met them when you came in.  I suspect you didn’t see Izzy and Bella (our cats).  They’re probably hiding from our doggy guests.

It was nice of the sky to water the plants for us this week.
It was nice of the sky to water the plants for us this week.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that it’s been an easy week.  Oh, there was work to do to get ready for the M&M’s visit, but it was the normal sort of stuff.  Mowing, laundering, weeding, sweeping, vacuuming, dusting, and all the rest of the usual chore suspects.  There were no appointments to keep, no interactions with the medical community, and basically, no worries.

Bright.
Bright.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that my health has improved drastically since I took matters into my own hands, heart, and mind.  I only mention it all because I’ve whined complained let you know when I wasn’t feeling well.  It seems only right to let you know that things are better.  I am still slowly adding foods back to my diet, and have found some interesting correlations with certain types of food and problems with my digestive system.  I really didn’t want to jump on the gluten-free bandwagon, but I might have to.  We’ll see as I continue to experiment with food.

I think it is possible that the probiotics I started taking are giving me grief, too, so I’ve stopped them for now and will try to get the good bacteria from the foods I eat and hope that’s enough.

In the shadows.
In the shadows.

If we were having coffee, it would be time for me to go see what the M&M’s are up to and spend some time with them.  You’re welcome to stay if you like.  Maybe we’ll go out to the Point for sunset.  Sunset these days happens just after 8:00 PM (8:06, to be exact).

The shadows are growing longer.
The shadows are growing longer.

Thank you so much for visiting and joining me for another coffee chat.  I don’t think you’ll see much of me this week.  Wishing you a good week ahead, and I’ll see you next week, if not before.

Waiting to bloom.
Waiting to bloom.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

A moment.
A moment.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Put the kettle on, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

coffee2

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

35 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Storms and blooms edition

  1. Love morning glories and don’t know why I haven’t planted them in 15 or 20years. Loved the ‘waiting to bloom’ shot…my favorite in this batch. Have fun with the family, that’s always special.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad you’re feeling better. Interesting what you’ve mentioned as this week I drove my daughter for diagnostic tests for stomach problems. They have ruled out ulcers, which is what she thought the problem might be. However, they did mention it may be a gluten problem and now she is thinking back on when she has had problems and what she has eaten just before. She’s seeing gluten as the culprit now, too. And probiotics. I recently put myself on them because everyone says they are great. But I am finding that they make me very uncomfortable so I think I might give the bottle away and just use something like yogurt or?

    I hope you enjoy your visit with the M&Ms. (Love the title you’ve given them.) I like having my kids here. Even if we aren’t doing anything in particular. Even if they are out and about on their own, just coming here as their base. I still like having them here. It makes me feels some kind of peace and normalcy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Corina. 🙂 I know what you mean about feeling peace and normalcy when the kids are around. It just feels right.

      I cut back on the probiotics (taking half the recommended dose) and that seems to be working for me so far. I’m keeping my fingers crossed because it was cheaper in the end to order a ridiculous amount (240 count) and it would be good if I could continue to take them not only to use up what I bought but because it does seem to be helping with the original problem.

      Like

  3. I’m actually drinking coffee right now–an afternoon pot to go with my homemade cookies. 🙂
    I love you flower photos–and the storm photos, too. Really stunning. We had tornados here in June. They actually skirted our town, but other nearby areas were heavily damaged. Very scary!
    Busy work week (I do extra test writing during the summer)–but I work from home so I don’t actually have to get dressed or travel. Hope you had a great visit with the M&Ms.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Merril. They’re here now and it should be a fun visit/week. 🙂 Tornadoes are very scary indeed. I’ve experienced one up close and personal, and hoping I can get through the rest of my life without another experience like it. It’s taken me quite a few years to be able to watch storms again. When we had a basement, I’d usually hide there if there was a chance of strong storms. We don’t have a basement here. That’s typical of most houses on the Eastern Shore since we’re pretty close to sea level.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lisa. 🙂 We’re getting into an afternoon siesta habit around here, and while the others nap, I can hang out here for a little while. I take power naps (about 15-20 minutes) because anything longer makes me grumpy, but the kids like to nap for an hour or two. That gives M and I time to catch up with other things.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Amazing storm shots – how lucky can you get? Sorry to hear the probiotics are upsetting you, maybe try them again a bit later in the healing process, possibly lowering the dose? (I take half what the label suggests.) So nice to hear you are feeling better overall. I heard recently that it may not be gluten, but GMO wheat that is causing digestive upset. Why must life be so complicated? 😦
    Enjoy your son’s visit – and all the fun things I’m sure you have planned! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What an enchanting post to come back to, I’ve been gone so long. I hope to get back into the swing of things and keep of with folks, but no promises.

    If we were having coffee, I’d be having tea. And that messed up cushion on the chair, looks like I was sitting there and just got up.

    I’m glad you’re beginning to feel better even though I wasn’t around for the whining. Do you ever miss your lake in Ohio?

    Like

    1. Thank you, Christine. It’s great to “see” you again! I do miss our place in Ohio, but at least we can go back from time to time. Our youngest son and his wife are renting the place from us, and taking very good care of everything. 🙂

      Like

  6. Morning Just in before I drive to my new son in law’s family reunion second celebration of their week old marriage! Note, I just read a something or other that stated some probiotics contain gluten. I am not a doctor and I cannot diagnose you, however you might wish to check. Also FODMAPS.

    Like

  7. If we were having coffee this morning, I would probably be content to sit quietly as you tell me about your week. Our smokey air has stirred up my sinus and that makes me sleepy and lazier than normal. I would, however, tell you how much I enjoyed your photos this morning, as I always do, and how lovely it is to sit in the rocker on the porch and enjoy the sounds of nature and your company. I would also tell you how happy I am that you are feeling better – sometimes I think we try those things that are supposed to make us feel better, when perhaps we should just stay as close to natural as we can and make healthy food choices. I would thank you for the coffee, but tell you we should cut our visit short this morning so you can spend time with loved ones and I can get back to things that I need to do, despite my lack of interest in doing them.

    Like

    1. I am so sorry about the sinus troubles and the smoky air, Carol. I haven’t been following the news much lately. What’s going on out your way? Are you getting smoke from the California fires or are there fires going on in your area?

      Like

      1. Robin, the smoke is primarily from a fire on the west side of the Cascades, probably about 100 miles or more from us, although we do get some from the Northern California fires occasionally.

        Like

  8. So good to hear you’re feeling better. There is only so much the medical contingent can do and there are times we need to take charge and figure out what works for us or doesn’t. Not saying conventional med doesn’t have its place, but much of what they do best is critical care. They don’t seem to do too well with the more mundane quality of life issues.

    So nice to visit with you again.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Gunta. 🙂 I think you are right about the mundane issues. It helped, too, to take charge of myself instead of drifting around and being indecisive about what the docs were saying I should do.

      Like

  9. I always enjoy your chatty, “coffee” posts, perhaps I will join in some time, but not just now, there’s too much going on in my world and the back yard is a mess. We have lifted the whole paved area, replaced a sagging retaining wall, and now, (thank goodness,) we are up to replacing the pavers. It’s a huge job but will be worth it when the job is complete.

    When you mentioned horror novels it reminded me of a couple of books I read some years ago by Linda Howard. They weren’t horror stories, but always had a strange twist to the story line, such as supernatural happenings. You might enjoy her books.

    I’m so pleased to hear that you are feeling well now. I thought of you the other day when I read this Abraham-Hicks quote, “If you could never again think about your body and, instead, just think pleasant thoughts — your body would reclaim its place of Well-being.” Something to ponder perhaps? I know that I have been. 🙂

    Like

    1. Something to ponder indeed, Joanne. Thank you. 🙂 And thank you for the book suggestion. I’ll look into Linda Howard. Sounds like you have a lot going on. I hope things settle down for you soon. Hugs

      Like

  10. The cushion is fine. Makes the chair look welcoming instead of one that is unused.
    (Glad you are feeling better. Coming from a family with a mom and brother with health issues that could be triggered by foods, slowly adding in one then another and taking notes is the best way to go. No need to go wild and throw the baby out with the bathwater)

    Like

  11. Hi Robin. I always enjoy your photos of blue flowers. In answer to your question ‘what am I reading’ … An enjoyable book from Breakwater Publishers, about a retired inn-keeper in PEI … Keeper of Tides by Beatrice MacNeil. I love her use of metaphor. Jane

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

